• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Who has settle down in Malaysia and Thailand?

NanoSpeed

How's the cost of living in Chiangmai compared with Bangkok ?

As a tourist, I find Chiangmai a tad expensive. Perhaps it's the difference between how taxis are being run in the two cities.

To adapt to living in other country like Thai or Malaysia. U have to adapt to their living.
1. If in urban internet speed will be slow if you are internet phyco than have to choose live in city.
2. But car and bike(for short distance very convenient)>> is cheap not a issue.
3. Not many shopping center or only small shopping center.e
4. Less choice of food if in urban>> in city u will have choice
5. Stressless if you driver like to tailgate/drive like moron is not you place>> every one will slow down or give way in urban

If you choose to live in other country city. Then not much different then just stay in Sin City. City live is almost same around the world.
If you want be stressless or carefree then choose urban live. If miss city live can go to city/town every 2 week or one a month.

To adapt to living in other country like Thai or Malaysia. U have to adapt to their living.
1. If in urban internet speed will be slow if you are internet phyco than have to choose live in city.
5. Stressless if you driver like to tailgate/drive like moron is not you place>> every one will slow down or give way in urban

If you choose to live in other country city. Then not much different then just stay in Sin City. City live is almost same around the world.
If you want be stressless or carefree then choose urban live. If miss city live can go to city/town every 2 week or one a month.

sometime it is not about city or urban, it is about staying away from stupid sinkies and the useless PAP whom they stupidly vote in..

to stay away from sinkieland is to see those stupid sinkies having the instant karma of being ass screw by their own stupid govt they voted in.. it is a pleasure to see that while you are staying in another country.

Moreover, you can use this whole experience to teach others about stupid and ball-less sinkies and their useless govt.

pros and cons to buying property in malaysia:

http://blog.moneysmart.sg/property/the-pros-and-cons-of-buying-property-in-malaysia/

Singapore houses comes in two price ranges: Expensive, and too expensive. So when it comes to investment properties, our options are pretty limited. We’re either buying property overseas (preferably Malaysia), or planning a budget that involves boiled toenails for dinner. I vote the former. So in this article, we’ll look at the pros and cons of buying property over the causeway:

The Pros of Malaysian Property

The driving factors for Malaysian property are the Iskandar project, and the overheated local market.

Iskandar is a special economic development zone. Simply put, businesses are incentivized to set up there via government policies. This is expected to result in a demand surge, for both Iskandar’s residential and commercial properties. Right now that’s attracting investors like a Hello Kitty store does 12 year old girls.

The other factor is the current lack of affordability, in Singapore’s property market. Local prices have been rising since 2008, and were barely slowed by seven rounds of cooling measures. That leads to several upsides in buying across the causeway:

Escape Home Loan Restrictions in Singapore
More Land for Less Money
Lower Stamp Duty

Escape Home Loan Restrictions in Singapore

Ambulance parking lot
And when I saw the bank’s parking lot, I knew the new cooling measures were out.

The last cooling measure introduced new loan restrictions. In brief, these capped loan-to-value (LTV) ratios at 60% – 40%, if the buyer has an outstanding home loan.

In Singapore, most private housing in the $1.3 million – $2 million range. Wannabe landlords (who haven’t paid off their last home loan) are thus faced with down payments of $650,000+. That should be pretty affordable, if you work and save for 107 years.

Meanwhile in Malaysia, the LTV for housing loans remains at 70% – 80%. This, coupled with the lower property costs, results in something you could feasibly buy now.

(Or you can also try free sites like MoneySmart. Maybe one of the mortgage specialists can find you a better loan).

More Land for Less Money

Have you noticed how much open space there is in Singapore?

Me neither. The Iskandar region is about three times the size of Singapore, let alone places like Penang. According to Singaporean Aileen Mah, who recently bought property in Malaysia:

“I got a place in Nusajaya (In Johor Bahru – Ed.). It was a choice between that or a four room flat in Singapore (Resale flat – Ed.).

Our place there was only SGD $110 per square foot, so obviously we got way more room than the flat. I actually have a back yard to grow my plants. That would have been impossible in Singapore.

I think most people buy property in Johor to rent it out. But my personal opinion is that it’s good for retirees like myself, or like my daughter-in-law, because her job doesn’t require her to visit the Singapore office all the time. It’s better quality of life.”

Lower Stamp Duty

Tax calculation
How come every time a Minister mentions low taxes, we seem to get poorer?

Singaporeans pay 7% Additional Buyers Stamp Duty (ABSD) on their second property, and 10% on the third. For foreigners and Permanent Residents, the rates are even higher.

But property stamp duty in Malaysia ranges from just 1% – 4%, depending on property value:

RM100,000 (Approx. SGD $40,000) – 1% stamp duty
RM 100,000.01 to RM 500,000 (Approx. SGD $40,000 – $201,00) - 2% stamp duty
RM 500,000.01 to RM 2,000,000 (Approx. SGD $201,000 – SGD $803,000) – 3% stamp duty
Anything higher – 4% stamp duty

The Cons

The downsides really depend on how you’re investing. I spoke to Alex (not his real name), who’s company handles marketing for several Malaysian and Singaporean developers.

“Malaysian property is not good for house flippers, those looking for fast and high resale gains. From what I see, it’s better for landlords, because of historically high rental yields in Kuala Lumpur, Penang, and Johor Bahru.

So if you ask me what the drawbacks are, I can only say it depends on your expectations. You expect it to be like overseas properties in the west, where you can buy at low cost, do it up, sell it high the next year…you are headed for a fall.”

Besides that, Alex, highlighted some other problems:

Higher Home Loan Interest
Possible Oversupply (Specific to Iskandar)
Currency Fluctuation
Untested Resale Market (Specific to Iskandar)

Higher Home Loan Interest

Mortgage loan statement

I leave my home loan statements on the table. It makes burglars leave out of sheer pity.

Singapore’s home loan interest rates have been around 1.7% for the past 10 years. In Malaysia, the average rate is between 4% – 5%.

Depending on the loan quantum, we could be looking at a difference of several thousand dollars a month. It also frames the whole “not good for resale” argument. At 4% – 5% interest, capital gains die faster than dignity on Stomp.

The more interest you pay, the less you ultimately make.

Possible Oversupply (Specific to Iskandar)

With everyone rushing towards Iskandar, is there a threat of oversupply? Alex drops a veiled hint:

“It hasn’t happened yet, and I don’t want to make any direct statements in that regard. But I will point out that Iskandar is much bigger than Singapore, yet the projected population is only 1.3 million people in 2025.”

Since I don’t work with developers, let me rephrase that (minus plausible deniability): Oversupply is unlikely for now. But give it around 10 years, and it could happen.

At present, investors are banking on the proposed high-speed rail project. Supposedly, this will cause a population boom, and generate demand to match the supply. But it’s all speculative, and we’ll have to see again in 2025. Follow us on Facebook, and we’ll keep you updated.

Currency Fluctuation

Different currencies
Bank (Noun): A loanshark who accepts more than one currency.

This one’s pretty obvious: The exchange rate between the ringgit and Singapore dollar fluctuates daily.

By the time you sell in 10 or 15 years, currency fluctuations could result in you making a lot less. It could also mean making more, but pessimists survive longer in this game.

Untested Resale Market (Specific to Iskandar)

Are you a risk taker? Because right now, no one’s sure what the resale market will be like in Iskandar. Sure, there’s some market history, but Alex says:

“The whole situation in Iskandar is different now. It’s almost as if there’s no market history to track, when it comes to resale. Everything is so new, and is just happening.

It’s very different from Singapore, where you can look at any district and say ‘Oh, historically, the median COV here is so-and-so’. In Iskandar, you want to talk about resale, it’s a guessing game. There’s no way around that.”

Alex also points out that Malaysia has a counterpart to Singapore’s Seller’s Stamp Duty (SSD). The Real Property Gain Tax (RGBT) is 10% on any property sold in the first two years, and 5% on the third to fifth year. So forget about house flipping.

I asked if Alex had any parting advice:

“If you are going to buy property in Malaysia, always compare it to other property in that same area. Don’t compare to property in Singapore.”

(1) move your work to Internet so that you become a digital nomad

(2) maintain your HDB flat in Singapore for passive income (rental)

(3) move to Thailand but not Bangkok

The choice between Thailand or Malaysia depends on your preference for condo or landed. You are not permitted to own landed property in Thailand, and if you die die must own and live in a landed property to compensate for being deprived of one in Singapore, then Malaysia is your choice.

What you should not do is to marry a Thai girl and use her name to buy a landed property in Thailand.

your points are valid.

If you do not have a HDB flat yet or you have a huge amount in your CPF like 500k. i would suggest not to get a HDB flat and just move out of sinkieland.

with the amount in your CPF, the sinkie govt is liable to you and it is a good position to be in to make the govt owe you money. It can be used to get back to the govt in the near future.

Bangkok is a nice vibrant city and there are people who preferred city life due to their lifestyle.

yinyang

2. Hua Hin - if you talk about mafia in Pattaya you should know the the biggest Thai mafia has his resident there. 3. Agree with you about Chiang Rai but I'd prefer Chiangmai.
Hua Hin has seen plenty (quite well heeled) angmohs retiring there (good quality condos, or gated estates). Unhurried pace.
Nice resorts and gold course in Khao Tak Kiap area (6kms from town). With easy 2 hours access to Swampy airport. My ex ang moh boss has settled there past few years, with bird migration during winter months Europe.

Agree on CNX (vs Chiangrai). CNX has an international airport, quite vibrant northern city yet with northern Lana culture and country.

..along the BTS line at Thonburi side is ok also.
Interesting expansion of BTS line on Thonburi side. Beyond last station BangWa. But blxxdy pace is sloooooow, seen past 1.5 years concrete work in progress along the long Petkasem road.

Real estate in neighborhood will inevitably rise, with shoe box condo (30sqm) now circa thb1.2mil near BTS

sometime it is not about city or urban, it is about staying away from stupid sinkies and the useless PAP whom they stupidly vote in..

to stay away from sinkieland is to see those stupid sinkies having the instant karma of being ass screw by their own stupid govt they voted in.. it is a pleasure to see that while you are staying in another country.

Moreover, you can use this whole experience to teach others about stupid and ball-less sinkies and their useless govt.

Don't talk about politic here. Because is about living outside SG.
Malaysian also vote in idiot BN same as Thailand military take over by force. So all have their bad news.

Don't talk about politic here. Because is about living outside SG.
Malaysian also vote in idiot BN same as Thailand military take over by force. So all have their bad news.

It is because of politics that cause the surge of Sinkies moving out..

When sinkies are in another country, they live their own life and fucked care politics in other countries.. They are guests there so politics got nothing to do with them there.

Based on my experience, it is a real pleasure to see sinkies screwed themselves in their own land by the govt while you are in a nice foreign land watching the show.. No words can describe it.

If you want to debate about politic open another room for politic. If you want to debate any country eg. Thai/Malaysia/Sg.
Please stick to the topic as started. Not diverted.
I glad to discuss about what is good and bad each gov.

If you want to retire in mudland, try Ipoh. The weather there is nice, lots of Chinese folks, and the place looks like a better version of JB, but without the tourist crowd and less crime.

In Pattaya it is probably a renters/buyers market. Many condo projects were targeting the foreigners. With the Russian ruble having problems & the chinese rich are also having problems. Business must be down. The coup in Thailand didn't help because it created uncertainty.

Many Sporeans see property as an asset. However they have to look at it differently when overseas because land is not limited & the porperty laws are different.

Yes alot of land, property laws keep changing and currency keeps dropping, what a sure lose formula!

If you want to debate about politic litic open another room for politic. If you want to debate any country eg. Thai/Malaysia/Sg.

This is my thread and I like to discuss anything I wish to.

I already explained that the reason most sinkies wanna leave sinkieland is due to the PAP bullshit politics. And this is the reason this thread started.

And i like to tag this reason to all the emigration process of sinkies.. Particularly Malaysia and Thailand. Nearby and easy to move to.

And due to this bullshit PAP lowlife politics, I wishsinkies to be in aa position to move out of sinkieland anytime if they have a residence status of Malaysia and Thailand. This is my sg50 present to all the shit ass PAPib here. Let them squeeze their balls and suck PAP dick while the rest move to better life.

If you want to debate about politic open another room for politic. If you want to debate any country eg. Thai/Malaysia/Sg.

Why you bother to argue with KL kia Tonychat? Just reply him that UMNO and MIC fuck his mother's old smelly loose crumpled chee bye. He argue with you some more, you show him this photo...

hisham-krishamuddin02.jpg

KL Kia Tonychat left Malaysia and seek refuge in Singapore. Now he complaining about Singapore and ask you to quit Singapore and buy house in matland woh!!

UMNO dog very hardworking hor?

??????

Do you know the meaning of urban?

Urban = city living.

Suburbs is outside the city but the western definition is different from other countries. In western countries like the US suburbs are nice neighbourhoods with nice houses and in contrast the city area especially the inner city areas are ghettos with many blacks or hispanics living there. This is different from countries like say thailand where the cities are better off in terms of infrastructure, technology and convinence of shopping malls. In fact the outside countryside areas should be called boondocks.