• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

where is your favourite mc donald outlet?

hotbot

mine is the one at springleaf tower and another, drive-in at robin road.:o

King Albert Park. Gotta love those MGS girls.

Also, KAP is a somewhat 'posh' outlet frequented by many expats, so you'll seldom get rude/flippant service. That also means no cold burgers, no burnt fries, no skimping of ingredients.

My first McDonald's burger was from the old Plaza Singapura. It was BIG and came in a styrofoam box.

Another fond memory came from the outlet at Liat Towers - the first McDonald's restaurant in Singapore.

the mats at mac got ask you to cook your own burger?

haha..mgs girls...man...you are one hell of a fella!:D

yes, my first burger from mc was a filet 'o fish at people's park, i think that was the 1st mc's restaurant. yes, now i remember those styrofoam boxes, sibeh retro hor...:o

Also, KAP is a somewhat 'posh' outlet frequented by many expats, so you'll seldom get rude/flippant service. That also means no cold burgers, no burnt fries, no skimping of ingredients.

My first McDonald's burger was from the old Plaza Singapura. It was BIG and came in a styrofoam box.

Another fond memory came from the outlet at Liat Towers - the first McDonald's restaurant in Singapore.

MacD boss lives next door and HQ is there so KAP is flagship store.

I think there are more than 100 stores now....from that first one in Liat towers in the 80s.
They were forced to go because Liat towers belonged to Bonfood which owned local franchise for BK.

I'm surprise that till now there's still no McDonald outlet at Changi Village...

I think there are more than 100 stores now....from that first one in Liat towers in the 80s.
They were forced to go because Liat towers belonged to Bonfood which owned local franchise for BK.

I think they opened their first branch at Liat Towers in 1978.

My favourite outlet is at Kallang. Coz after takeaway my coffee and a soft drink for the FL, it would be bonking time at the nearby carpark.

memories :D

4496761174_d7a7af4895.jpg

yes, my first burger from mc was a filet 'o fish at people's park, i think that was the 1st mc's restaurant. yes, now i remember those styrofoam boxes, sibeh retro hor...:o

I think they opened their first branch at Liat Towers in 1978.

My favourite outlet is at Kallang. Coz after takeaway my coffee and a soft drink for the FL, it would be bonking time at the nearby carpark.
I googled and it was in Oct 79....I was a MacDonald kid back then :D

I like all the drive thru....not common in Singapore

i think you should visit the one at robin road.
it's quite spacious and the seats are very comfortable. the ambience also quite good and nice wall paper.
there are many students there. sometimes, i see the acs boys anxiously wanting to sian the scgs girls. sibeh ticklish...somehow remind me of my teenage years...haha...:D:o

I googled and it was in Oct 79....I was a MacDonald kid back then :D

I like all the drive thru....not common in Singapore

A teacher of the McDonald boss (can't recall his name now) once told me he was so excited when they made arrangements to have lunch. They lost touch with each other for a long time. He was expecting fine dining or somewhere posh. It turned out to be makan at McDonalds!

The Talk Of The Devil

41573_31129012016_7517_n.jpg

I had heard about a strange account in one of 93.3 FM's 周公讲鬼 programs. It was a Mc Don outlet near a Bukit Timah Rd. Two guys drove a car into a Mc Don drive-in outlet after a late visit at a friend's place. They saw a tree swaying violently while the rest of the trees beside it were not moving at all. Well, they thought it couldn't be the wind. They alighted to take a closer look at the strange spectacle above and they saw a monkey-like goblin with green eyes looking down at them. With a blink of an eye, it disappeared. They left the place with their supper quickly. Since then, they did come back to the same spot again especially at night.

I heard from my mom that the Bukit Timah stretch used to be a cemetery. Remember the Holland View or Hill apartment encounter in Incredible Tales hosted by Utt.

Late Sunday Night Drama

I recorded a late night SBC drama "Happy Trio" and I actually saw a girl passing a burger in a thin styrofoam box to a fat girl. I can't remember the colour. The crew were dressed in blue and red uniforms, I think. The only styrofoam box we get nowadays is that breakfast meal.

McDonalds did this for burger packaging:

Styrofoam -> Paper wrapper -> Brief return of styrofoam -> Paper wrapper -> Paper box (today).

The takeaway bags were originally white paper, then brown paper, then finally the transparent plastic bags you see today.

McDonalds did this for burger packaging:

Styrofoam -> Paper wrapper -> Brief return of styrofoam -> Paper wrapper -> Paper box (today).

The takeaway bags were originally white paper, then brown paper, then finally the transparent plastic bags you see today.
I remembered the paper napkins were from dispensers....now discontinued.
There were no breakfast....only started serving breakfast much later.
They had a truce with KFC that Mac won't sell fried chicken provided KFC won't sell burgers...later KFC broke the truce and Mac started selling nuggets and fried chicken.

Mai siao lah. Never eat fast food or western food or Malay food or Indian food. Chinese food is best. All the cancer and obese and disease come from eating non-Chinese food. I only take two types of western food. Beer and ciggie LOL. Also bad but boh pian. Kana stuck since army daze KNN

Mac franchise for Singapore was bought by Robert Kwan whose father Kwan Sai Keong was highly respected as the former Vice Chancellor of University of Singapore. Robert however never went to University. The first store at Liat Towers broke the world record for sales. Liat Tower Management believed it the location and booted out Mac and brought in BK and it never came close.

Mac philosphy is not food but property and its long term appreciation. Mac is also the first vendor to price according to location in SIngapore.

Robert became fabulously rich, owning a huge Yacht with a full time crew. His yacht would sail to places like the Andaman Islands and he would fly over and then heli on to the Yacht for diving, fishing and entertaining.

It was gold mine and Mac eventully bought back after Robert and his HK partner had enough.

His is indeed an unusual success story. He is a living witness on how materialistic Singaporeans are with hello kitty etc. At their prime, Mac continued to be the top advertiser in the media for many years. The advertising budget each year ran into millions.