• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Where got time to make babies?

Making more babies is hard to do
Insight Down South
By SEAH CHIANG NEE

Despite the government’s worry over poor birthrate, few Singaporeans are moved by the sense of urgency to go forth and multiply.

SINGAPORE is starting 2013 with another attempt to produce what the nation’s rising wealth cannot give – more babies.

The fundamental dilemma, which has led to a much-disliked era of mass immigration, is beginning to split the country.

The current poor birthrate, one of the world’s lowest, is worrying the government a lot more than the bulk of the citizenry.

For the public, the prospect of losing jobs to new arrivals is far more threatening than the prospective population decline in the coming decades.

Together with an ageing population, the poor procreation is very real and threatens Singapore’s future prosperity, if nothing is done.

So why are so few Singaporeans moved by the government’s sense of urgency?

There may be a rationale for it.

Firstly, the general lethargy towards the issue could be due to the frequent government explanation that employers badly need foreign workers.

To many, it gives the impression that the population issue is less important than economic targets.

Secondly, many people seem to perceive it as government propaganda to justify bringing in more foreign workers – rather than as prevention of long-term decline of Singapore.

All this dates back to the tough-minded Lee Kuan Yew regime, which had always believed in fast action and damned public consultation.

True to tradition, the People’s Action Party (PAP) government has been largely following this do-first-talk-later tradition in resolving the population dilemma.

It could be due to a confidence that today – like decades ago – the government would always have the ability to talk its people into accepting unpopular decisions.

On immigration as with a few other matters, it has been proven wrong – something Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong may be trying to put right.

In his New Year message, Lee admitted that it is necessary to seek consensus on the population issue – after his government had already admitted two million foreigners into Singapore.

It is possible that had the PAP government consulted first with its people on the magnitude of the population problem and gained their understanding before acting, the dilemma would be less serious.

The understanding could not possibly have involved a floodgate opening, but a controlled immigration just enough to resolve a babies shortfall – not a big population hike.

After all, the rationale for replacement was quite urgent; but instead of persuading first, it began mass importation of foreigners.

Instead of replacement, it went for a large population expansion.

This had the effect of making subsequent action seem a little irrelevant.

It appears that the Prime Minister, by calling for a national consensus on population, is playing catch-up on something the government ought to have done much earlier.

Singaporeans, it had been proven many times, are a pragmatic people, who – if given a clear rationale of a national problem – would, I believe, have joined the government in finding a solution.

I want to give the problem a new airing later this month.

The Prime Minister will unveil a new help package in Parliament to boost Singapore’s birthrate that will cover housing and childcare.

At the same time, the government will issue a White Paper on population.

In his National Day Rally last year, Lee outlined some of the possible measures to encourage parenthood.

They included giving couples with young children higher priority for Housing Board flats, a Medisave (for healthcare) account for each newborn and allowing fathers to take paternity leave.

Low- and middle-income families could get more help for infant care and childcare.

There have already been a series of pro-marriage and procreation measures in the past decade.

Previous attempts have failed to reverse the trend, with handouts of as much as S$18,000 per child, extended maternity leave and tax breaks not very successful to get Singaporeans to produce more babies.

Singapore’s birth rate dropped last year to 1.26 babies per woman of childbearing age, a record low – compared with a rate of 5.8 in the 1960s.

The problem facing the country is that more people are staying single or marrying late.

Those who are married are having their first child later and have fewer babies.

Older Singaporeans say the low fertility rate is evident on Singapore’s streets.

A 72-year-old retiree recalled seeing pregnant women “everywhere he went in Singapore” in the late 60s. “As a pre-teen, I would see them in Chinatown, in Queenstown, at marketplaces and so on.

“Today, as I bicycle all over the island, it would be rare to see a single one,” he added.

That was before the launch of the Stop at Two campaign by the then Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew in 1970 to slow down the post-war baby boom.

Parents of third babies and large families were financially penalised.

Top priority in top-tier primary schools would be given only to children whose parents had been sterilised before the age of 40.

Today, an average of only 40,000 babies are born a year. Reversing the trend is proving to be a lot tougher than raising the country’s gross domestic product.

A public survey by Channel News Asia showed some 94% of people believed the impending measures would not encourage more Singaporeans to have babies.

Critics say there need to be a dramatic change from the “rat race” environment – cheaper cost of living, especially housing, better job security, more living space – before more babies appear.

But there was the other side of the story.

The Economist ranked Singapore as the sixth best country for a baby to be born in, a creditworthy achievement – if only parents truly believe it.

Another LKY's fiasco - Stop at Two. Stop at Two led to the Opening of floodgate for immigration. That contributed to expensive housing, higher inflation, strained infrastructure and the replacement of local workers by foreigners.

We thank LKY for our current problems.

Stop at 2 was the best policy every implemented unfortunately the PAP become corrupt and mass imported foreigners,,,,and there is nothing wrong with a shrinking population

Another LKY's fiasco - Stop at Two. Stop at Two led to the Opening of floodgate for immigration. That contributed to expensive housing, higher inflation, strained infrastructure and the replacement of local workers by foreigners.

His "social engineering" possibly offset his achievements.
Due to his "Two is Enough", Singaporeans are in the present predicament.

He actually started another trend back then, elitism, 'people with no balls too' , quote "Parents of third babies and large families were financially penalised.

Top priority in top-tier primary schools would be given only to children whose parents had been sterilised before the age of 40"

First, we have those can afford put their children in good schools, for they can afford to pay the penalty & the second it explains why the 60% keep repeating the same every election, for the have been STERILIZED..wonder if homogenized too??:D

Seah Chiang Nee again? The same chump who wrote in the Malaysian media that a rice of chicken rice in our foodcourt cost S$7-S$10?

Making more babies is hard to do
Insight Down South
By SEAH CHIANG NEE

TS actually most of the time its now about time, its about "NO MOOD". Very sian.

policies changed with time , with changes in the socio-economic landscape, with changes in the political and demographic scene....why keep on harping on STOP AT TWO and putting the present predicament to the STOP AT TWO....very short-sighted. many were worried Singapore could not survive when the STOP AT TWO was implemented..it was appropriate to curb the population then lest we could not feed the people...

but it was a MIRACLE Singapore pulled through and prospered.....and we have to encourage our people to produce more - with changing time. STOP AT TWO is NOT TO BE BLAMED for the present shortage...there are multiple factors and it is not unique to Singapore alone. sub-fertility is global...

If you look at the results of the recent survey, cost of living and long working hours are the key reasons for women not to have babies or to delay pregnancy. The solutions to our problem are quite obvious, isn't it?

Another reason is the individualisation of societies which is commonly happening in economic well off societies.

Young people prefers to be single and enjoy life instead of getting married and have kids.

Or married couples prefer to get married and divorce and marry again bring their kids along and join another family.

Gay couples prefers to live together.

Couples prefers to have fewer kids because they are draining your financial resources. Especially in a country with poor social welfare.

People are departing from traditional thinking of go forth and multiply. thanks to secularism.

People are becoming hedonistic instead of sacrifice and commitment. Which secular thinking frowns on which prefers to enjoy materialism.

How does that affect the society in general?

Pretty bad considering the strong family entity provides an anchor for a stable societies which has been removed and broken up into pockets or clusters of groupings.

That is why you can see a lot of seeking for next of kins annoucements.

Either they have no family or they dun want bear the financial costs of dealing with their next of kins. Pretty sad really.

The silent majority r not giving birth to spite the MIW. It is a silent protest and so far its working very well!

The solutions to our problem are quite obvious, isn't it?

one full year of maternity leave! one full year of paternity leave! coupled with housing grants, tax rebates and baby bonus! back date all these benefits to 1965! bwahahahahahahaa...

good mornng bro zhihau, u got strike system 9966?

my tip for you today is 4455....good luck!!!

No time, no money, no mood, no energy..............

Last time still can get parents or siblings to help take care of kids, now can only depend on maids (if you can afford it). With smaller families and ageing population, the situation will only worsen.

good mornng bro zhihau, u got strike system 9966?

my tip for you today is 4455....good luck!!!

wah!!! so good ah? confirm must blanjah you makan liao, when you free?

If the government can afford that, that will be very good. But most people are not that hopeful and the little that they hope for may not come about.

wah!!! so good ah? confirm must blanjah you makan liao, when you free?

my permanent home IMH...just ask for Kopi at the chronic ward...ask Dreamer , he sees me often..haha:)

good luck!!!

The reasons for encouraging citizens to have babies are obvious.

1. It will not work no matter what as it is a personal decision

2. When that happens the government uses that excuse to cheapen the country and allow new citizens to migrate here.

3. New citizens will not produce babies as now they are Singaporeans and life here is very stressful.

4. So the government will replace old citizens with new ones and the cycle continues.

I don't want babies. I want sex. And contraception and/or abortions and/or miscarriages.

Also, why would you want to bring a kid to this world and let him/her grow up in Singapore? This overcrowded shithole afflicted by rampant inflation and swamped with too many foreigners? The pressure cooker education system which focuses on indoctrination and rote learning instead of developing and increasing the knowledge of those kids? Let them become future taxpayers and CPF contributors to feed the parasites in the PAP govt?

Another thing: the boys have to do NS when they're 18, and there is no guarantee they'll reach their ORD date alive.

You want 2.1 kids? You'll get a grand total of big fat zero from me. :cool:

No Citizenship For Future Kids ?

why would you want to bring a kid to this world and let him/her grow up in Singapore? This overcrowded shithole afflicted by rampant inflation and swamped with too many foreigners? The pressure cooker education system which focuses on indoctrination and rote learning instead of developing and increasing the knowledge of those kids? Let them become future taxpayers and CPF contributors to feed the parasites in the PAP govt?

Another thing: the boys have to do NS when they're 18, and there is no guarantee they'll reach their ORD date alive.

That's true. There's just too many considerations here. Even if you are rich, you shouldn't take the risk of being a 'citizen' here. A PR status at most. Your CPF money is to fund those who are receiving their payouts and those who have critical illness. If you are the last one out, you will be sure that you will receive nothing while LHL and cronies were already long gone.