• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Where are the carrots in Fried carrot cakes nowadays !!

Fishypie

From having a decent pLate of fried carrot cake, many hawkers have degenerated them into
fried eggs' cakes.:(Gone are the days when an optimaL ratio of 75% carrot cake+25% eggs wouLd
make one cLamour for more.Now it's Like the other way.Fried carrot cakes have become too eggy.
Same goes for fried oyster omelette.There was more of the speciaL starchy hoon than eggs then..
Why?. The reason is, cost of raw eggs are far cheaper than the carrot cakes as suppLied by the manufacturers..knn. :rolleyes:

Same goes for fried oyster omelette.There was more of the speciaL starchy hoon than eggs then..
As for oyster omelette thing, also got 2 types -oh nengg (fluffy omelete style) or or luak (more crispy, starchy type).

As for carrot cake, rare do we see ot get self made by hawkers now. Now sourced off site kitchen

From having a decent pLate of fried carrot cake, many hawkers have degenerated them into
fried eggs' cakes.:(Gone are the days when an optimaL ratio of 75% carrot cake+25% eggs wouLd
make one cLamour for more.Now it's Like the other way.Fried carrot cakes have become too eggy.
Why?. The reason is, cost of raw eggs are far cheaper than the carrot cakes as suppLied by the manufacturers..knn. :rolleyes:

theres a kopi tiam along upper bukit timah road that still whip up decent chai tao kway.

It seems the black type of fried carrot cake lost favour liao......now all wants to eat only the white type.

As for oyster omelette thing, also got 2 types -oh nengg (fluffy omelete style) or or luak (more crispy, starchy type).

As for carrot cake, rare do we see ot get self made by hawkers now. Now sourced off site kitchen
i remembered oh nengg onLy came into the picture recentLy.EarLier days was or Luak aLL the way..:)

If 老婆饼 inside don't have 老婆, how can carrot cake inside have carrot ?

i know where you are coming from bro, but everyone knows that carrot cake comes from mixture of fLour and
shredded radish..but apparentLy eggs have taken over as the main Lead. :eek:

Actually no diff lah..can TP and go back and add black sauce then become black cc lor.
big difference in taste and texture....black one is soft and white is crispy.....they not only add black sauce but the sweet sauce as well.

How come only you peasants have this problem?

Kee Chiew doesn't have his problem?

I tell you all why lah.

Kee Chiew one is $10 a plate. Yours is $3 a plate.

Typical sinkie peasants, ai pee ai chee ai tua liap nee.

Pay peanuts you get monkee.

Understand!