• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What's the big deal about raising retirement age?

pillowtalk

The Government is looking to review the retirement age for Home Affairs Uniformed Services (HUS) officers so that they can serve longer in the Home Team, said Second Minister for Home Affairs S Iswaran.

The current retirement age for HUS Junior Officers is 50. Senior Officers retire at 55.

The Home Team includes the Singapore Police Force and the Singapore Civil Defence Force.

http://www.todayonline.com/singapor...retirement-age-home-team-uniformed-officers-0

Leckmichamarsch

The Government is looking to review the retirement age for Home Affairs Uniformed Services (HUS) officers so that they can serve longer in the Home Team, said Second Minister for Home Affairs S Iswaran.

The current retirement age for HUS Junior Officers is 50. Senior Officers retire at 55.

The Home Team includes the Singapore Police Force and the Singapore Civil Defence Force.

http://www.todayonline.com/singapor...retirement-age-home-team-uniformed-officers-0

Wayang again

The current RRA re-hires but cut compensation n benefits by 30% or more while doing same job as before reaching age 62.......... what has changed? Is the person doing less or has lesser experince once the 62 date line is crossed?
Hell no! But gahmen wayang wayang to show they care n are concerned when they are really NOT.
Proof? Private sectors re-hire with NO pay cut but all gahmen offices cut re-hired pay mercilessly! Why the disparity?
Tripartite alliance is a con job set up by the gahmen n does fuckall.
Many stat boards like Singapore Poly was glad to dump old faithful employees for FTs...... who is there to check such treasonus act?
This gahmen is by the People but NOT for the people so they shud be voted out in 2016. Look ard you n you will find how much mess are created by them.........WKS n MBT plus others are still enjoying golden car parks jobs for fucking us up!!!!!!! Gahmen knows we hate them but is challgenging us with their actions in re-hiring them for cosy n do nothing jobs. Were we not told some time back that they are worth a lot of money if they opted for private sector? The myth is uncovered noW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

enterprise2

They sacred they retire and shake leg at home when they could put back to work to fill their coffers! Nobody allowed to retire in Sinkapore except the MIWs

LOL. They want to make sure nobody depends on the state and everyone is meekly employed until they are really too old to do anything.
In other words, you work till you (almost) die, only the elites are allowed to enjoy life and do what they want, including collecting rent.
If you have not understood this government's intentions and objectives by now, you probably never will.

Agoraphobic

WTF. Again allowing the government to tell you blokes when to retire. If there are no health/fitness issues involved, then you work to whatever age you can or wish to retire depending on your ability to carry out the function(s) of the work. If you enjoy the work/environment, then don't even think about retirement. If you've saved enough to retire at 35 and wish to quit, then what's stopping you?

Leckmichamarsch

Gahmen toking cock

You can opt for retirement only when you have a job............ how many PMETs are jobless???
So isnt it absurd to spout retirement when they are jobless???????????

Bloody gahmen hypocrisy............. cannot even provide meaningful jobs to the jobless PMETs for so many years and want to tok about raising retirement age... WTF

batman1

When there are no jobs for sinkees,raise retirement age for fark ???
Close down MOM !!!
Close down NTUC !!!
Close down TAFEP !!!
KNNCCB to the MIW !!!

escher

When there are no jobs for sinkees,raise retirement age for fark ???
Close down MOM !!!
Close down NTUC !!!
Close down TAFEP !!!
KNNCCB to the MIW !!!

Vote all those maggots in white out out out in 2016
Then what you ask for above will come about naturally.

You can retire any time you want according to your means and lifestyle.

However, officially and publicly raising the retirement age lets the government have the 'mandate' to raise the minimum sum, and keep the CPF money locked up longer.

It's quite similar to the Population White Paper really. The PAP government could have clandestinely increased the population to 6.9 million, and most people would not have noticed. But it needed the public debate/outcry/controversy and that thing passed in Parliament, so it could say that there was a mandate and approval from the majority.

Excellent

no big deal if u are in the private sector.

Tuayapeh

no big deal if u are in the private sector.

if you are typical no fucking lifer sinkie whose life had revolved around your work and office then raising this is a welcome move ....

so maybe it is a good thing since you will have a lot of aimless old people who dunno wtf to do and might end up in the casino losing their savings/or getting conned by some shyster/or fucking some cheating ATB...... and going out to sell tissue....(there are only so many times we can buy tissues at a hawker centre)

wtf you clowns expecting anyway? you mean they repect the old people in sinkieland? if they had a fucking choice and you are unable to work, they sent you to the incinerators.... Arbeit Mach Frei is the PAP motto understand?

bryanlim1972

LOL. They want to make sure nobody depends on the state and everyone is meekly employed until they are really too old to do anything.
In other words, you work till you (almost) die, only the elites are allowed to enjoy life and do what they want, including collecting rent.
If you have not understood this government's intentions and objectives by now, you probably never will.

is there any alternative to your cynical outlook? a populist government perhaps?

No need populist, simply one which understands that the main objective of government is to make the lives of ordinary citizens better.