What's happening to cleaners at the Chinatown hawker centre?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=avkoVmIiRH0&feature=youtu.be
kopiuncle got a big tongue.Why must this cleaning business be a government's business?
I listen to those sinkies talk about their ideas, I wanna faint. Luckily I stay away from sinkies. Their thinking level is so limited.
Why must this cleaning business be a government's business?
A hawker centre is a public place, and the govt is responsible for providing public goods and services. It is no different from unclogging drains or repairing faulty traffic lights.
Please do not let that asshole Vivian Balakrishnan change the narrative.
kopiuncle took kopison pen, holding it up to the class.The stall owners can always organise themselves just like they organise the Seventh Month Ghost Festival .
A hawker centre is a public place, and the govt is responsible for providing public goods and services. It is no different from unclogging drains or repairing faulty traffic lights.
Please do not let that asshole Vivian Balakrishnan change the narrative.
kopiuncle got a big tongue.
It is for licking boots & other places...too polite to mention... ha ha ha
Why must this cleaning business be a government's business?
The stall-holders themselves should come together and organise a cleaning campaign and educate the stall-holders and perhaps the customers and patrons should chip to help clean up the place.
The situatio is getting really out of hand. I was eating at the AMK Hawker centre in the town central and the tables were mostly cluttered with plates,cups,used utensils and plastic cups...and the tables were all littered with tissue papers and the left-overs.Singaporeans can't even learn how to eat properly and cleanly and to dispose their wastes in a proper manner. We should learn from the Japanese on how to eat cleanly and without dirtying the tables and chairs.
There are several places where it is a joy to eat. The canteen at the Khoo Teck Phuat General Hospital. The return your tray is a success. The tables and chairs are always clean. The canteen at the ITE Central is another good example of Return Your Own Tray campaign. The place is clean , tidy and spacious. I was at the North Point food-court and the return your own tray is another success. I believe slowly and surely, we will be a more cultured and well-behaved people with more responsibility and taking good care of our environment, especially our hawker centres and food-courts. There are many areas where we can improve upon and I am quite sure we will be a more gracious people.
The shortage of cleaners is very obvious as foreign workers are reduced and those cleaners are usually quite elderly and quite weak and feeble. We should help these elderly Singaporeans by returning the trays and by keeping our tables clean. If every customer and every patron practise this good habit, I am sure we will continue to be a clean and green city which we can be proud of.
The Hong Lim hawker centre is very popular and the cleaners really have a tough time. The cleaners cannot do their work fast enough and many of the tables are cluttered and dirty. Perhaps, soon the old hawker centres will be replaced by a more user-friendly food centre. I think the ITE Central canteen and the KTP canteen are good models. Good Luck.
We are slowly on the way. We are NOT sinkies. We are proud and patriotic Singaporeans. Majulah Singapura!!!
woman: help, help!!!!! i am robbed.Bro,pls dont be lidat lah.
The stall owners can always organise themselves just like they organise the Seventh Month Ghost Festival .Maybe they will have to learn how to do it. Clean up the place, co-operate and help themselves to make their hawker centre the best in Singapore. Everyone will lose when the hawker centre is the centre of dispute and where you can find rats running all over the place and where tables are dirty and the floor is filled with debris.
All of them will eventually lose business. They should come together and make their hawker centre a better place for everyone.
It boils down to self-centreness and selfishness. To each his own. In the end, everyone suffers!!!
it show how inefficient and incompetence our million $ gahmen really is. it also shows they are grossly overpaid and can't even fix a small problem. i beg they don't even know how to change a light bulb or fry an egg.