• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

what would really happen if PE were to go to the pap:

1. prices especially the public transport is sure to increase.

2. they would think of more ways to restrict withdrawal of our cpfs when due by giving all sort of undebatable lame reasons.

3. most probable GST shall definitely be increased to 10%
singapore has a enterprising business dealing and investing long term gov. they even have 2 IRs to pump in money 24/7. why aren't citizens benefit enough? by right, there shouldn't be any poor and needies. the gov brag about making lots and tonnes from their so called investment. yet they keep on increasing all the vital things.

why?

matland might not be so business liked yet they could afford to subsidised their citizens in vital groceries such as cooking oil, sugar, flour and etc. even petrol is subsidised.

for us, the subsidy is this very hypocritical way. the gov raises all the prices then they "subsidise" and brag about their generosity.

as long as i can't get back my cpf life-saving, whatever they claim n brag is just a load of fart!

if PE were to go to the pap, newton's law of gravity shall be defied! it would be everything that goes up for the pap never comes back down. it stays up and upper and upperest!

they will take this as mandate to loosen more foreign trash to flood into sinkipore.:mad:

everyone has to be reminded about the aftermath of a pap's victory. things go up and up.

when u vote for dr analman, everyone shall have a car. he said one hor.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/ty8qo0uvBxE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Seven million people.

Well, the increase of the population to 7 million is going to happen WHETHER OR NOT the PAP wins in Punggol East, don't you think?

It's just one seat out of 87.

Whether it's 81-6 or 80-7 doesn't really make any difference.

Well, the increase of the population to 7 million is going to happen WHETHER OR NOT the PAP wins in Punggol East, don't you think?

You still don't get it. You are still talking about being voted out in Parliament. Of course you will get voted out as long as you don't have at least a simple majority in parliament. But that does not mean that you do nothing.

If you cannot beat them in parliament, you have to beat them some other way. By psychology. Create fear by achieving a truly astonishing result like a 14% vote swing against the PAP. A fear in realising that what is so certain like a 4CF can fail so dramatically. A fear that points to even more
fearful things to come. This is the only way that can bring about change today. The PAP must be forced to initiate the change.

You still don't get it. You are still talking about being voted out in Parliament. Of course you will get voted out as long as you don't have at least a simple majority in parliament. But that does not mean that you do nothing.

If you cannot beat them in parliament, you have to beat them some other way. By psychology. Create fear by achieving a truly astonishing result like a 14% vote swing against the PAP. A fear in realising that what is so certain like a 4CF can fail so dramatically. A fear that points to even more
fearful things to come. This is the only way that can bring about change today. The PAP must be forced to initiate the change.

Fear? Even if they lose 14% votes, why would they be fearful?

Even in the most extreme case (which is Dr Koh losing his deposit and getting less votes than even SDA), the PAP will still lose only one seat.

That is just like in a league game in football. Whether you win 1-0 or 8-0, it's still 3 points. Likewise, if you lose 8-0, you are no worse off than losing 1-0. A loss is a loss. They will only be fearful if they lose two more GRCs. In fact, if I were PAP, I would not even be afraid if I lost two GRCs to the WP. What they would REALLY fear is losing some seats to another party, for instance SDP -- to create a multi-party Parliament with a huge array of voices shooting them from all sides.

And if that happens, mark my words, some funny stunts will come out. Do not forget what happened to Barisan Socialis when they had 25 out of 51 seats in Parliament. From a one-seat majority, the PAP suddenly had 100% control of Parliament for almost 20 years.

Fear? Even if they lose 14% votes, why would they be fearful?

Even in the most extreme case (which is Dr Koh losing his deposit and getting less votes than even SDA), the PAP will still lose only one seat.

That is just like in a league game in football. Whether you win 1-0 or 8-0, it's still 3 points. Likewise, if you lose 8-0, you are no worse off than losing 1-0. A loss is a loss. They will only be fearful if they lose two more GRCs. In fact, if I were PAP, I would not even be afraid if I lost two GRCs to the WP. What they would REALLY fear is losing some seats to another party, for instance SDP -- to create a multi-party Parliament with a huge array of voices shooting them from all sides.

And if that happens, mark my words, some funny stunts will come out. Do not forget what happened to Barisan Socialis when they had 25 out of 51 seats in Parliament. From a one-seat majority, the PAP suddenly had 100% control of Parliament for almost 20 years.

As a whole, the party needs not fear even after losing a couple more GRCs etc. But the individual pappies will certainly be unsettled and be a 'nicer lot' :D
For a start, we will stop seeing kailan pappies suka suka belittling us. And more good years will follow.. you will feel it in your bone :p

if this BE PE goes to pap. i will zap all the pro pap members here, maybe will use my Golden Army to zap them into moderation mode.

That is just like in a league game in football. Whether you win 1-0 or 8-0, it's still 3 points. Likewise, if you lose 8-0, you are no worse off than losing 1-0. A loss is a loss.

One GRC loss was what it took for the PM to give an apology speech, in fact only an indication of a loss was required to demand that from him.

The loss itself was enough to throw out two ministers - national development and transportation. It was enough to reverse a 10-year trend of under providing HDB flats pushing people to move to private properties, not cheaper but relatively better value for money. Now they are building like crazy to make up for lost time. Only fear of losing can make a party like the PAP to make such changes. The power of the vote was what did it, not big arguments, not academic qualifications, not Oxford English.

But any drastic big change even if it is a correction of a situation has undesirable effects.

A WP win here would do several things. First, it would establish a momentum of WP wins that started from GE 2011. Next, it would be a net gain for WP (as opposed to status quo during the Hougang BE.) Third, because the population issue has been crystallized online and by WP as an election issue, a WP victory would signal the displeasure of Punggol East voters and, by extension, Singaporeans.

It is also important to note that under LTK, the WP has not lost any seat it has held, even when the general trend did not favour the opposition.

Have from 6 to 7 is a 16% increase. So there will be greater impact felt.

From 81 to 80 is a 1.23% drop. Doesn't matter to them of course.

So vote for Lee Li Lian

this is a watershed BE wiith the blessing from palmergate affair.

just look at punggol east. it's like not very much was done during palmer's time. they promised then, didn't they? now they are promising again. u believe huh??

many years ago, they promised us a "swiss standard of living" . now, not only we aren't close, it's getting from bad to worst. more people are now feeling the heat. it's really choking!

if they hadn't lost a GRC, u think the pap r so generous like now?

think again. do not be fooled by them. make this the last one and VOTE THE PAP OUT!!

From the nightly crowds turnout, it looks certain that WP will win this BE. However, WP will have to work doubly hard if they will win this BE, especially with all the problems and neglect left behind by the PAPies MP, just like what Obama had to do from the shit left behind by the junior Bush.

by the way, would desmond lim lose his deposit again this time?