• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

what PAP rubbish is this? only 800 peoples in Spore qualify as president candidates

†††††

A presidential contest will be good for S'pore
It would give presidency moral authority and raise debate on key issues
By Elgin Toh

WITH all eyes trained on the upcoming parliamentary general election, few voters realise that another significant poll could, in theory, happen before it. Few voters did, that is, until Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong reminded them of that possibility over the weekend.

While the general election does not have to take place until February next year, the race to become Singapore's head of state must yield a winner in the three months leading up to Aug 31, the last day of Mr S R Nathan's current six-year term.

The prime minister has the power to decide the exact date of the presidential polls between June 1 and Aug 31. In 1993, the only occasion when Singapore had a contested presidential election, polling day was Aug 27. The two races since the first - 1999 and 2005 - have been one-horse races. No would-be challenger to the candidate sanctioned by the ruling party has made it past the Presidential Election Committee (PEC) since 1993.

Two prospective challengers applied to the PEC for eligibility certificates in 1999: private tutor Ooi Boon Ewe and opposition politician Tan Soo Phuan. The three-man PEC found neither qualified under constitutional requirements that a candidate have experience in high public office or helming a large corporation. The PEC found that Mr Ooi had been bankrupt twice and Mr Tan a prison record.

The 2005 election looked more promising initially. Many saw a contest in the offing when Mr Andrew Kuan, former chief financial officer (CFO) of JTC Corporation, announced his candidacy.

He did not meet the 'hard' criteria in the Constitution, since he had been CFO of a statutory board, not its chief executive officer or chairman. The PEC had the discretionary powers to give him the green light by declaring his experience 'comparable' to those stated in the law. In the event, though, the PEC turned him down on the grounds that his experience was not, in fact, 'comparable'.

The result is that the elected presidency has seen two walkovers since its creation in 1991. For the good of the presidency and of Singapore, that ought to change.

In the first presidential election in 1993, leaders from the ruling People's Action Party (PAP) supported a contest. So committed were they to a contest that former deputy prime minister Goh Keng Swee and then Finance Minister Richard Hu persuaded a non-PAP man, retired accountant-general Chua Kim Yeow, to stand against the PAP-sanctioned Mr Ong Teng Cheong.

Mr Ong, who eventually won, himself said that 'there should be a contest to give the elected presidency the moral authority'.

Similarly, in a post-election statement congratulating Mr Ong, then Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong said: 'This contest is better than if Mr Ong had been returned unopposed. Mr Ong now has a clear mandate to be Singapore's fifth president.'

The remarks by Mr Ong and Mr Goh coincide neatly with the logic behind the elected presidency when it was created in 1991 through constitutional amendment. The changes transformed a purely symbolic office into one with veto powers over the reserves and key public appointments.

Mooting these changes in 1984, then PM Lee Kuan Yew said: 'Of course the newly elected prime minister would be furious to be thwarted. Therefore, it may be better for the president to be elected by the electorate, instead of Parliament, so that he can have the moral authority to intervene.'

Seen in this context, having a string of uncontested presidential races is less than ideal, for two reasons.

First, if victory at the polls gives the elected president a 'mandate', then a walkover must represent a missed opportunity at receiving such a boost. Repeated walkovers would, furthermore, contribute to the impression that presidents are not generally chosen by the people, thus further weakening the presidency.

Former Nominated MP and Attorney-General Walter Woon hinted at this when he told this newspaper in 2005 that 'the reluctance of good people to stand is the greatest threat to the institution'.

Second, a contest is usually accompanied by a debate on important issues concerning the presidency - a debate highly desirable in a healthy democracy.

Opposing candidates would not be the only participants: An election would provide citizens with the opportunity to examine issues, express their views, and make a collective decision via their voting slips.

I, for one, would like to see more discussion on what would or would not warrant using the reserves. Any criterion for this would presumably change over time as societal values evolve, so it makes sense for every new set of presidential candidates to debate this afresh. That cannot happen without a contest.

Granted, it is not the Government's job to ensure a contest. However, it went out of the way to engineer one in 1993. And so, one natural question that arises is: Wouldn't the arguments for doing so in 1993 still apply in 2011?

That said, I am not in favour of the Government manufacturing a contest. After all, no self-respecting electorate in a democracy would require the ruling party to provide it with all its electoral candidates.

[COLOR="_______"]There are at least 800 Singaporeans who qualify unequivocally to run for the presidency, according to one estimate by the prime minister's press secretary in 2005.[/COLOR]

If Singaporeans really believe in the need for a presidential electoral contest, they need to start working harder to convince more than one of these Singaporeans to run. But if Singaporeans can live with the disadvantages of not having a contest, who am I to argue with them?

[email protected]

Re: what PAP rubbish is this? only 800 peoples in Spore qualify as president candidat

LKY ensures that only PAP cronies have a chance,in other words,our president has to be appointed by LKY!

Re: what PAP rubbish is this? only 800 peoples in Spore qualify as president candidat

800? How come the last round ended with no contest?

u must first convince this 800 out of 3000,000 to apply for presidential election first

All Sink need is a minority candidate with knowledge of making prata to take over...

seriously...anybody who qualifies and flies the anti-papee flag will be elected in a straight 1to1 fight.....
i can bet my last dollar on this....

If Singaporeans really believe in the need for a presidential electoral contest, they need to start working harder to convince more than one of these Singaporeans to run. But if Singaporeans can live with the disadvantages of not having a contest, who am I to argue with them?

[email protected]

This Elgin Toh is better off selling his ass. How can Singaporeans convince this stratified 800 people to contest? Is he mad? Does he even know one of these 800 people? So if none of these 800 eligibles step forward, it is OUR fault?

CHEEBYE understand! Infuriating fucking drivel that can only come out of the Bradell Brothel.

This Elgin Toh is better off selling his ass. How can Singaporeans convince this stratified 800 people to contest? Is he mad? Does he even know one of these 800 people? So if none of these 800 eligibles step forward, it is OUR fault?

CHEEBYE understand! Infuriating fucking drivel that can only come out of the Bradell Brothel.
Poor prostitute working beri hard,selling soul for several thousanda $ a month

WTF!.

800 out of 3 odd million. that's 0.02%.

Who gave who the power to dictate who can stand for Presidential election? The citizens or some small group of control (power) freaks? Are we the master of our land or the master are some small group (self-proclaim) elites? Think about it!

No doubt it is 800 but all are from the same mould, so effectively it is only one candidate.
This is the trouble with in breeding.

seriously...anybody who qualifies and flies the anti-papee flag will be elected in a straight 1to1 fight.....

*yawn* you're delusional.

We know who those 82 person are, and each of them can nominate another 9 of their relatives, so there you have your 800 people.

The first PE proved this. Sinkies are just sicken by pappies manipulation.

Now the old man is fuming mad as he cannot control this monster of his own making.

Look out for ex-CEO Tan Kin Lian contesting against the prataman Nathan if he were to stand.

We know who those 82 person are, and each of them can nominate another 9 of their relatives, so there you have your 800 people.

The 82 don't qualify. These do:

Ministers and Ex-Ministers (President Yeo Ning Hong? President Dhanabalan?)
Speakers and Ex-Speakers (President Tan Soo Koon?)
CJs and Ex-CJs (President Yong Pung How? President Chan Sek Keong?)
AGs and Ex-AGs (President Walter Woon?)
Auditor Generals and Ex-Auditor Generals
Accountant Generals and Ex-Accountant Generals
Perm Secs and Ex-Perm Secs (President Eddie Teo? President Ngiam Tong Dow?)
Chairman or CEOs of CPF Board, HDB and JTC (???)
CEO of >200M market capitalization companies (President Lee Hsien Yang? President Sim Wong Hoo?)

*yawn* you're delusional.

hahaha....your answer sometimes surprises me..
Let me give you the facts:

1993 - Ong TC 58.69% (well known ex-ministar)
Chua something 41.31% (unknown and did not campaign at all)
1999 - WO
2005 - WO

After 18 years, I am convinced that the anti-papee sentiments have increased. Also pple view the EP as "jiat liow bee" and will not hesitate to vote in non-papee.

Now I would like to hear your views why you think I am delusional.....

What's the diff?
All the same PAP so call elite.
What's so difficult to be the president of SG?
Attend charity shows, TCSS prepared by PAP, just keep the key in the pocket until master say give me the key.
Better still, can go tour on taxpayer's $$$ a few times a year and super good salary.
Any normal Singaporean also can do the job.

800 out of 3 odd million. that's 0.02%.

bro....not 3 million odd because candidate must be more than 45 yo.
anyway my own estimate is that actual figure eligible may be much less than 800.

No need all the wayang....it will be wooden GOH!!

sorry bro, wooden has announced publicly that he will stand in MP GRC again.