What our naturalised players say

[h=3]Jul 31, 2011[/h][h=1]What our naturalised players say[/h]<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar -->
ST_IMAGES_SPTDURIC.jpg
[h=4]Aleksandar Duric, his wife Natasha, daughter Isabella Nina, 9, son Alessandro Hugo, 7, and adopted son Massimo Luca Monty, 11 months old. His dream is to see his two sons wear the Lions jersey. -- ST PHOTO: NG SOR LUAN[/h]<!-- story content : start -->
MUSTAFIC Fahrudin, 30. The Serbia-born defensive midfielder arrived in Singapore in 2002 and made his debut for the national team in January 2006 in a friendly against Denmark.
'At the beginning, I would get a little upset and irritated when people said that we were not a real Singaporean team because of the foreign-born players.
Yes, I'm a foreigner but I've lived here for almost 10 years. When I step on to the pitch I am playing for this country. Nowhere, not on my forehead, does it say I'm Serbian.
There's no difference between me and everyone else here in Simei. I live in an HDB flat, I eat at the coffee shop, I read The Straits Times.
I might go back to Serbia to visit my family but each time I cannot wait to come back to Singapore.
Every time the plane reaches here and I hear it said 'and to all Singaporeans and residents of Singapore, a warm welcome home', I feel happy.
Read the full report in this week's edition of The Sunday Times.

[h=3]Jul 31, 2011[/h][h=1]What our naturalised players say[/h]<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar -->
ST_IMAGES_SPTDURIC.jpg
[h=4]Aleksandar Duric, his wife Natasha, daughter Isabella Nina, 9, son Alessandro Hugo, 7, and adopted son Massimo Luca Monty, 11 months old. His dream is to see his two sons wear the Lions jersey. -- ST PHOTO: NG SOR LUAN[/h]<!-- story content : start -->
MUSTAFIC Fahrudin, 30. The Serbia-born defensive midfielder arrived in Singapore in 2002 and made his debut for the national team in January 2006 in a friendly against Denmark.
'At the beginning, I would get a little upset and irritated when people said that we were not a real Singaporean team because of the foreign-born players.
Yes, I'm a foreigner but I've lived here for almost 10 years. When I step on to the pitch I am playing for this country. Nowhere, not on my forehead, does it say I'm Serbian.
There's no difference between me and everyone else here in Simei. I live in an HDB flat, I eat at the coffee shop, I read The Straits Times.
I might go back to Serbia to visit my family but each time I cannot wait to come back to Singapore.
Every time the plane reaches here and I hear it said 'and to all Singaporeans and residents of Singapore, a warm welcome home', I feel happy.
Read the full report in this week's edition of The Sunday Times.

aiyah...............if they good enough to play for other countries, they will play for mickey-mouse team like S'pore meh.............

yeah get the ang moh one to speak and somehow everyone is more forgiving.

Let the prc ones get quoted and ppl won't do it. Double standards again?

>>There's no difference between me and everyone else here in Simei. I live in an HDB flat, I eat at the coffee shop, I read The Straits Times.<<

Live in HDB and eat at coffeeshop means Singaporean meh? Lanjiao ok!

Home is where the heart is.

I know of chaps that has been stationed overseas in the same country for more than ten years through different employment contracts, obtained PR status, and also cannot wait to get back to their jobs overseas whenever they are back here for holidays. But still their heart is far away from their current overseas abode.

Gotten familiar or used to the overseas culture and way of life is not the same. For those who has personal experiences will just take the FT's comments with a very very large pinch of salt.

Good chap. Naturalised Singaporeans are Singaporeans, period.

Well, national day is approaching so FAS nds them to spread the love! Hahaha...words will b definitely different if their footballing careers are "expired"! Wat is patriotism if u can't put food on the table?