• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious What Kind Of Retards Live In Jurong West? Take 1.5 Hours To Travel To Tampines Safra By MRT

31597693.JPG

SINGAPORE — A weekly journey on the MRT train from Pioneer at the western side of the island to Tampines at the other end, for a game of badminton with their relatives, turned into a taxing affair on Sunday (Dec 10) morning for Mr Chan Si Yong and his parents.

The family, who lives in Jurong West, got up about 45 minutes earlier to try and get to Tampines Safra for their 11am game. The MRT station that they live closest to — Pioneer — is one of 19 stations along the East-West Line (EWL) and North-South Line which will be closed this and next Sunday, to allow for track maintenance and renewal work.

With the stretch of EWL stations between Tuas Link and Tiong Bahru shuttered, Mr Chan, 25, and his parents found themselves having to take an alternative route.

From their home, they took SBS Transit service 179 to Boon Lay bus interchange. There, they transferred to service 174 to Beauty World, and took the Downtown Line to Bugis. From there, they got on the EWL to travel to Bedok, where they hopped onto service 28 to reach Tampines Safra. In all, they took around two hours.

This was in contrast to their normal route, which takes about 1.5 hours: Taking service 179 to Pioneer MRT station, and then a straight train on the EWL to Bedok, before switching to service 28 to Tampines Safra.

The longer, more complicated journey on Sunday took a slight toll on Mr Chan’s parents, Mdm Ho Lay Teen, 51, and retiree Chan Meng Fa, 57.

“The journey has become more troublesome because we had to change so many times... and we didn’t get to sit down much. We normally get a seat on the train at Pioneer,” said Mdm Ho, an accounts executive.

The Chan family has played badminton at Tampines for almost two decades, despite living on the other end of the island. The younger Mr Chan’s uncle, aunt and cousins live just 10 minutes away by car in Bedok, and the badminton courts at Tampines Safra are “better and cheaper”, he said.

“We were already considered pretty lucky with our bus arrival timings. When we got off the bus, the next bus came almost immediately and we barely had to wait five minutes,” added Mr Chan, an executive at Sport Singapore. “If we had to wait for the bus or the train to come, it would have been an additional 15 to 20 minutes.”

After their two-hour game, the group took Mr Chan’s uncle’s car to have lunch at Bedok North, then headed to their grandmother’s house at Tanjong Pagar till about 7.30pm. From there, they would usually take the MRT back to Pioneer.

However, because of the full-day closure, the family had to take the MRT from Tanjong Pagar to Bugis. There, Mr Chan switched to the Downtown Line to get to Bukit Panjang where his girlfriend lives. Mr Chan spent some time at his girlfriend's place while his parents took the Downtown Line to Beauty World, switched to bus service 174 to Boon Lay, then went on service 179 to reach home.

On why they did not consider taking a taxi or private-hire car, Mr Chan said his parents are thrifty. Besides, a ride from one end of the island to the other could be quite costly, he added.

Despite the additional hassle, they will again make the same two-hour journey involving multiple transfers next Sunday. The badminton courts have already been booked, and Mdm Ho said she would “just have to tahan (malay for bear with it) one more time”. “It’s the best alternative,” she added.

http://www.todayonline.com/singapor...eer-tampines-how-one-family-was-affected-full

Wunderfool

If they have more money from the government , they would have called grab or Uber to get to Tampines.

I am wondering why these morons didn't move to the east years ago. They have been spending around 2 hours every sunday travelling to tampines to play badminton with their relatives for the past 20 years. What's so alluring about a secluded area like Jurong West?

Sideswipe

Sinkies are really lazy people. In China, peasants from rural areas walk for 2 days just to get to the city to buy basic necessities.

rectmobile

I am wondering why these morons didn't move to the east years ago. They have been spending around 2 hours every sunday travelling to tampines to play badminton with their relatives for the past 20 years. What's so alluring about a secluded area like Jurong West?
These same morons are being educated by SG schools and universities.

Kotekbengkok

Many of the people who live in Jurong tend to be either Malaysians on work passes, Malaysian PRs, new citizens Malaysians or are kids of Malaysians. Just like how the East Coast area has become a Little India, West coast /Jurong is basically Little Malaysia. Malaysian Chinese are known to be the the most selfish, stingiest penny pinching people (worse than Indians) because they mentally convert everything to ringgit and say "so expensive" to everything ; reverse of the way how sinkies go around say "Chip, Chip" when they travel. So the Malaysian mentality of taking the cheapest transport to the other end of the island, never mind the time it takes. If there were a rickshaw service which costs less, they will take it! Malaysian don't value time. They will never want to move out of their little enclave, 10 minutes to Malaysia second link. They worship the PAP ( why do you think PAP keep getting over 70% votes consistently ). Check with your grass looters there. I'm sure they will confirm all say.

rectmobile

Most of the replies in this thread is made by people with very questionable educational standards and questionable IQ.

They are thrifty.

Titchy little Island and it takes 2 hours to get from one place to another??? :rolleyes:

In NZ I can cover more than 150km in two hours and that's at a leisurely pace.

greedy and cunning

why got secluded area in tiny sillypoore ??