What is $3.2billion surplus doing in Tote Board, when more can be used to help poor?

At a parliamentary sitting last month (13 May), NCMP Lina Chiam asked the Govt whether the Tote Board publishes an annual report detailing its donations made and, if not, why.

Minister of State for Finance, Josephine Teo, then replied on behalf of the Govt that Tote Board’s annual report, which contains a summary of donations made, is tabled in Parliament.

Ms Teo said, “Members were notified of this when the last Annual Report was tabled in September last year.”

“Besides being available at the National Library, the annual report can now also be viewed on Tote Board’s website.”

Prominent blogger Leong Sze Hian told TR Emeritus (TRE), “In this regard, before NCMP Lina Chiam had asked this question, I could not find any annual reports on the Tote Board’s website. So, I went to the National Library at NEX and discovered that it was only available at the National Library headquarters at Bugis.”

“So, I went to the National Library headquarters and also could not find them, until I approached the librarian at the reference section on level 7. The librarian helped me find hard copies of the annual reports (available only in the reference section) from FY2006 to FY2010. Apparently, she also could not find the annual reports for FY2011 or FY2012, or the annual reports before FY2006.”

Mr Leong added, “So, if not for NCMP LIna Chiam’s question – maybe the Tote Board’s annual report may never appear on its website!”

“In today’s digital age, why weren’t its annual reports made available online on its website, until now?”

In any case, Mr Leong is looking through the Tote Board’s FY2011 and FY2012 annual reports [Link] and will inform netizens accordingly of his findings.

Already, looking through the latest FY2012 annual report, Mr Leong said he has found the surplus for the year was $348 million after making donations of $375 million.

Mr Leong said, “The surplus was almost as much as the total amount donated in the year!”

“Why is it that it needs to have so much surplus for the year (practically every year if you look at the past annual reports) – $348 million?”

Also, Mr Leong noted that the Tote Board’s accumulated surpluses increased last year by 11.5% from $2.9 billion to $3.2 billion!

Mr Leong further asked, “Why is there a need to accumulate so much surpluses – $3.2 billion, when its annual revenues have been and seem to be able to meet all its funding commitments into the future?”

TRE readers are encouraged to read the annual reports and send in your observations on how the gaming funds are managed and disbursed. Supposedly, the gaming revenue collected by Tote Board is mostly used for social services such as supporting the needy.

TR Emeritus

*Article first appeared on www.TREmeritus.com

Re: What is $3.2billion surplus doing in Tote Board, when more can be used to help po

Where do you think the salaries and bonuses of the Tote Board board members come from? :rolleyes:

http://app.toteboard.gov.sg/web/Contents/Contents.aspx?ContId=18

Our Board Members

Chairman
Mr Moses Lee

Members
Mr Chan Heng Kee
Permanent Secretary
Ministry of Social and Family Development

Mr Patrick Lee Kwok Kie
Executive Chairman
Sing Lun Holdings Ltd

Ms Chew Gek Khim
Deputy Chairman
Tan Chin Tuan Foundation

Mr Ng Wai Choong
Deputy Secretary (Policy)
Ministry of Finance

BG Chia Choon Hoong
Chief Infantry Officer/
Commander 9th Division
Singapore Armed Forces,
Ministry of Defence

[Alternate: Mr Kevin Shum
Director (Social Programmes)
Ministry of Finance]

Mr Linus Goh Ti Liang
Head, Global Commercial Banking
OCBC Bank

Mrs Tan Ching Yee
Permanent Secretary
Ministry of Health

Mr Kon Yin Tong
Partner
Foo Kon Tan Grant Thornton LLP

Ms Yeoh Chee Yan
Permanent Secretary
Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth

Re: What is $3.2billion surplus doing in Tote Board, when more can be used to help po

'Help the Poor' is a dirty phrase in sinkieland.

Unless its too raise the GST,,...

Why waste money helping poor useless meat eating singkies?

Poor? What poor?

That word has never been in LEEgime's vocabulary. Old Fart, Wooden Goh, Pinky et. al. will tell you there are no poor people in Sinkieland, only those who "have fallen through the cracks".

If the money goes into the Tote members pockets is it corruption or Lee-gal:confused:

Or is it another case of funny bizness e.g. aimgate,....

Screw sinkies till they are all poor.
And screw them beyond that as well

May billions more roll into LKY Stinkapore sovereign funds
Who will then divert glorious money into their PAP stinking corrupt pay
That they the PAP can continue to kick and grind sinkies faces deeper into the m&d

A substantial amount of $ is from my pocket :(

Giving money to the poor will simply make them poorer and lazier.

The poor don't need money. They need a kick in the ass and spurs stuck in their hides

The word POOR is so"Dangerous and Contagious" here in Singapore that for it to be used by Highly-Paid top politicians (MPs included) is uncalled for.

"Where do we have POVERTY in Singapore"?

We are RICH, aren't we???????????????????????/

The word POOR is so"Dangerous and Contagious" here in Singapore that for it to be used by Highly-Paid top politicians (MPs included) is uncalled for.

"Where do we have POVERTY in Singapore"?

We are RICH, aren't we???????????????????????/

There are no genuine poor in Sinkiepoor.

However, there are many who spend money on things they shouldn't and run out of $$$ before the next pay cheque.

The poor don't need money. They need a kick in the ass and spurs stuck in their hides
So the question should be why is tote board making any donations at all, to the tune of more than $300 mil per year?

... “Why is there a need to accumulate so much surpluses – $3.2 billion, when its annual revenues have been and seem to be able to meet all its funding commitments into the future?” ...
tote bord is ah loonz cash cow ...

ah loon uses it 2 feed himself n his jingang ...

There are no genuine poor in Sinkiepoor.

However, there are many who spend money on things they shouldn't and run out of $$$ before the next pay cheque.

My Respected, Learned and Esteem Kiwi Friend,

First and foremost, I would urge you to please define the meaning of "Genuine Poor".

Your statement appears to conjure that there are more then one type of "poor species" in Singapore.

I am also at a loss as to the second part of your statement..........

Are PUB Bills, HDB repayments, fines, late payment penalties, GST, etc... areas considered "unneccessary payments".

At least in Kiwiland, you people have the luxury of indulging in "Hungees" (meat baked / cooked underneath sand with coals on the top) and sing songs like "Uranga Pakiya" with painted faces (like Red Indians on a warpath) and your your longue tongues sticking out, having a Leopard Beer and still getting help from the State, whereas here everyone is left on their own.

I do not wish to highlight what Tan Chuan Jin said recently about "welfare" for the whole world would continue to laugh at the stupidity of our system here while they are on the way to the nearest ATM to collect their dole, with you being one of them probably.

Please enlighten me or the whole Forum would be laughing at you and fellow Moaris for signing The Treaty of Waitangi.

Those who are labelled as "poor" in Singapore are just stupid and lazy. If they worked harder and exercised their grey matter more often, they'd have more than enough money to get by.

the so call surplus could be nothing but a number appearing in somebody's book. the question shd be is the money physically available.:rolleyes:

From Jesus Christ Superstar, "Everything's Alright" abridged.

"Jesus"
Surely you're not saying, We have the resources,To save the poor from their lot?
There will be poor always, Pathetically struggling,Look at the good things you've got!
Think while you still have me, Move while you still see me
You'll be lost,You'll be so sorry, When I'm gone

There will always be poor, pathetically struggling, but who are the "POOR"?? there are pathetic poor, out of luck people, there are those who made themselves poor.."self-inflicted"...who is poor? you maybe? me maybe, sometimes maybe??