What are you thoughts about serving NS?

In those early NS days....it was just a torture programme for young men.

If you served NS in the 70s...you will understand what I am talking about.

Even duing ICT reservist, they issue you with used smelly personal SBO & helmets and expect you to return the respect & service to them.

Daily it is just a waiting game and you go to the firing range the entire day just to fire 9 rounds of bullets.

That was one of the reasons, to hate Lee Kuan Yew. The reason to love to hate him, hate to love him.

to be honest , NS was quite fun where you can befriend fellow clowns from all walks of life .... but that was 40 years back for me....wonder if its the same nowadays or everyone sabo everyone like the fucked up everyday life in spore nowadays, and fuck, the fucking wimp who let the maid carry his bag should be court martialled, disgraceful!.....anyway who the fuck are we fighting for if got war? i will go draw arms and shoot fucking pinky in the toe, let the useless ah qua suffer a bit

Even duing ICT reservist, they issue you with used smelly personal SBO & helmets and expect you to return the respect & service to them.

Daily it is just a waiting game and you go to the firing range the entire day just to fire 9 rounds of bullets.

I served my NS in the 70s. There was a bit of pressure applied when on course but all you had to do is just take it in your stride. Nothing that was asked of us was challenging or difficult. If they said "clean" you made it clean. If they said "jump" just ask "how far".

A poor and young nation of ruled by the 华侨中国人 Chinese community, whom just get kicked out by Malai, was trying to build a good future for the Chinese community, a little bit of suffering 是算不了什么 ....

Look at whats been achieved today to glorify the past. At lease u can be proud to tell yr sons of soil u grow good fruits for them to take over.

Unlike some m&ds here betrayed the Chinese community kpkb high cost in Singapore already run roads to CAM country.... bragging his quantity bestowed to him... leaving Chinese community to join angmoh community and steal uni places from angmoh kia...

Look at no NSF jiuhu kia hav to pretend NSF Sinkie caused animosity in Singapore speaking their jiuhu broken hokkien and say son of NSF sinkie speak like them....

Dont hate LKY when it comes to NSF... looking for huge amount of money to fund the army is a big job for him when it was a poor but young country for him.... He was 36 y.o at that time and who wld trust lend big money to this young bully Sinkie.... see his face want to beat him type tua pia kia face...

When a man died he leaves behind his name.... a good fruits Singapore today is yr sacrifice and when LKY left his good name after he has passed away with 五福临门 attribute shd honor him a Statue of Achievement....

Good name bears good fruits and He and you hv come together bear good fruits for yr son of soil Sinkies to take over next.... 发啊.....

Tio boh.... hope this help....

The bottom line is a conscripted army never performs well. N never fights well. Bcos there is never an incentive to treat soldiers better n soldiers dont want to be there. Often when a professional army vs conscripted army. Conscripted army will loose. Italy in WW2, defeated by the poms which were outnumbered. Argentina in the Falklands...where the Argentine had a bigger army. Battle of Thermopylae . Spartans lost but against a huge Persian army. History is flooded with such examples. The only time conscripts might do well is battle against foreign aggressors like vietnam war. Tat is if they dislike the foreigners more than their own. In singkieland the opposite is true. Bcos ns is an abused n a means of an iron price bowl for the scholar generals.

to be honest , NS was quite fun where you can befriend fellow clowns from all walks of life .... but that was 40 years back for me....wonder if its the same nowadays or everyone sabo everyone like the fucked up everyday life in spore nowadays, and fuck, the fucking wimp who let the maid carry his bag should be court martialled, disgraceful!.....anyway who the fuck are we fighting for if got war? i will go draw arms and shoot fucking pinky in the toe, let the useless ah qua suffer a bit

I thoroughly enjoyed NS. :tongue:

No need to respect regulars or appointment holders as most of them beh kan. My company was once deployed as training troops for school of armour both OCS cadets and occifers vocation conversion course to led. Being troops that waited for 2nd year Atec, we were experienced troopers. Most of us were dismayed by the orders given by the cadets who supposed to be on their final field exercise before pass out as occifers. Our section 2ICs has to hint the sect comd(cadet) or the PC (cadet) what to do as all of us don’t want to kenna sumulah in the field. Those occifers in armour conversion course are no better than the cadets. Minimum rank at least kapitan with a few majors. If not well verse in armour tactics still no big deal but kanna sai in infantry tactics really no cure. Dunno how they were trained in OCS what to do when platoon encounter enemy MG with section minor. The major leading my platoon order 2up fire movement over open terrain and all 3 sect 2ICs protest while the 3 sect comd(captains) keep quiet. The correct way supposed to leave 2MGs and one sect with PLsgt to engage enemy with the rest of platoon attack from the flanks under cover by terrain. (Armour platoon dismount with 03xGPMG)
Being in same camp with school of armour and sharing same cookhouse with the trainees and experience training with them give me very low opinion on these commanders. There are exceptions but maybe one or two out of ten.
Sounds like the Italian army in WW2.

Actually have a armed force in Singapore is good for SEA.... though chao Malai m&d dare not bully this small Chinese community 华侨中国人口...

And CAM US wont come karchaio in SEA thinking of take over from stupig m&d like they did to Guam m&d take control of Malai Straits at the turning point part of this region....

Or else today Sinkieland will be hv a fight between 大陆 中国人 何红毛人 today.

At least pretend to hv armed force neither lean to both sides in this part of SEA, CAM US cannot do much as it is run by Chinese community will not allowed CAM bully China with gunboats stationed here... and vice versa.

Knowing shit opium addicts 华侨人 Chinese community here drugged by BE cant do much fighting but at least know how ro pretend got armed forced better than none....

NsS should be abolished...why must singkies men be allowed themselves to be tortured by the state?

'No-nonsense' training from 7.30am to 1am: New book reveals how Israel helped Singapore establish SAF
Beating The Odds Together was launched by (from left) Israel ambassador to Singapore Sagi Karni, former Foreign Affairs Minister George Yeo, Middle East Institute chairman Bilahari Kausikan and its acting director Michelle Teo. (Photo: Aqil Haziq Mahmud)Bookmark
SINGAPORE: Singapore's first batch of officer cadets had to wake up at 5.30am, begin training at 7.30am and end their day only at 1am.
This "no-nonsense" regimen, implemented by Israeli military advisors, ensured these pioneers had high standards when training future generations of conscripted soldiers for the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF).
When the cadets complained about the tough schedule, then-Minister for Defence and Security Goh Keng Swee told them during a visit to the training school to either strictly follow instructions, "otherwise you will do double".
This anecdote is from the book Beating The Odds Together, which commemorates 50 years of Singapore-Israel ties.
The book, jointly published by the Middle East Institute and World Scientific, was launched on Monday (Dec 9) by former Foreign Affairs Minister George Yeo.
The book details how Israel helped Singapore establish the SAF when other countries declined the latter's calls for help. It also shows how that relationship has developed beyond security to fields such as business and technology.
The depth of Singapore's relationship with Israel has rarely been publicised because of political sensitivities, wrote Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong in his foreword in the book, highlighting Singapore's neighbours' position towards Israel.
"Today, we can be open in telling the story of the extraordinary contribution by our Israeli friends to our security when few thought that Singapore could survive on its own," he said.
THE BROWN BOOK
While the book celebrates 50 years of diplomatic ties between Singapore and Israel, the relationship between the two countries actually dates back slightly earlier to 1965, when Singapore separated from Malaysia.
The split happened amid a communist insurgency and armed confrontations in the region, prompting Singapore to make defence capability an "existential priority", wrote the former Permanent Secretary (Defence) Peter Ho in one chapter of the book.
Dr Goh Keng Swee agreed to lead the effort to build an army from scratch and approached countries that had done the same.
While India and Egypt congratulated Singapore on its independence, they did not offer military aid. Then-Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew subsequently gave the green light to approach Israel for help, Mr Ho wrote.
In October that year, a general of the Israel Defense Forces was dispatched to Singapore under conditions of "great secrecy".
Singapore-Israel book launch George Yeo
Former Foreign Affairs Minister George Yeo, who wrote a chapter in the book, signs a copy. (Photo: Aqil Haziq Mahmud)
He travelled incognito around Singapore by taxi, studied the terrain and ground conditions, and together with a team developed The Brown Book, a master plan for the creation of the SAF.
"It covered strategy and doctrine," wrote Mr Ho. "But at its core was the fundamental assessment that the only viable solution for Singapore was to build a citizen army of conscripts, trained and led by a small regular force."
EARLY YEARS OF NS
The Brown Book also proposed the setting up of an officer training school to produce professional leaders that could train future soldiers.
In November, a group of seven different Israeli advisors arrived in Singapore and eventually selected Pasir Laba as the site for the training school.
One year later, the Singapore Armed Forces Training Institute - now known as the SAFTI Military Institute - was built.
The Israeli advisors "insisted from the very start that the Singaporean officers were to learn from them so that they could take over as instructors as soon as possible", wrote Mr Ho.
The book was edited by Mattia Tomba, an adjunct senior research fellow at the Middle East Institute. (Photo: Aqil Haziq Mahmud)
By the early 1970s, word started going around that Israeli training had been incorporated into the SAF syllabus, and that it was extremely tough and dangerous, with the use of live ammunition and the occasional serviceman injury or even death, said Mr Ho.
"Of course, this was all exaggeration and rumour-mongering in the hothouse of the early years of National Service," Mr Ho added.
"But I suspect such rumours served a useful purpose, because it persuaded us in those days that our military training was to be taken very seriously."
EAGER STUDENTS
In Singapore, the Israeli team also conducted a course for recruits and platoon commanders, and Israel soon became a key source of defence equipment and technology.
"We will always be a student to Israel in military affairs. We should always be eager students," said Mr Yeo at the book launch event on Monday.
"Our bilateral relationship now extends beyond defence to many other fields, and it has always been our fervent hope that Singapore can be a benefit to Israel to whom we owe a deep, eternal debt of gratitude."
The 143-page book retails at major bookstores for S$37.
Source: CNA/hz(aj)

I served my NS in the 70s. There was a bit of pressure applied when on course but all you had to do is just take it in your stride. Nothing that was asked of us was challenging or difficult. If they said "clean" you made it clean. If they said "jump" just ask "how far".

If you treat your conscripts with contempt eg provide them with used and soiled personal equipment etc, you still expect the morale of these forced soldiers to excel?

No need to respect regulars or appointment holders as most of them beh kan. My company was once deployed as training troops for school of armour both OCS cadets and occifers vocation conversion course to led. Being troops that waited for 2nd year Atec, we were experienced troopers. Most of us were dismayed by the orders given by the cadets who supposed to be on their final field exercise before pass out as occifers. Our section 2ICs has to hint the sect comd(cadet) or the PC (cadet) what to do as all of us don’t want to kenna sumulah in the field. Those occifers in armour conversion course are no better than the cadets. Minimum rank at least kapitan with a few majors. If not well verse in armour tactics still no big deal but kanna sai in infantry tactics really no cure. Dunno how they were trained in OCS what to do when platoon encounter enemy MG with section minor. The major leading my platoon order 2up fire movement over open terrain and all 3 sect 2ICs protest while the 3 sect comd(captains) keep quiet. The correct way supposed to leave 2MGs and one sect with PLsgt to engage enemy with the rest of platoon attack from the flanks under cover by terrain. (Armour platoon dismount with 03xGPMG)
Being in same camp with school of armour and sharing same cookhouse with the trainees and experience training with them give me very low opinion on these commanders. There are exceptions but maybe one or two out of ten.

Hahahhaha, that's nothing. I have been given direct order before from a scholar Battalion commander to dismount my entire tank crew and assault an OP on a hill that he had forgotten to allocate men to take. I refused to do it, and I explain to him, in a real war, if one of my crew was injured or killed, who the fuck will operate the tank? He was really adamant, until he saw the Observer looking at him like he was fucking crazy, then he stopped pushing me to take the OP. This kind of scholar officers will end up killing his whole battalion in a real shooting war. SAF is really just wayang. There is a core of professionals who know what they are doing, but when u are led by morons, how to win?

Dont hate LKY when it comes to NSF... looking for huge amount of money to fund the army is a big job for him when it was a poor but young country for him.... He was 36 y.o at that time and who wld trust lend big money to this young bully Sinkie.... see his face want to beat him type tua pia kia face...

When a man died he leaves behind his name.... a good fruits Singapore today is yr sacrifice and when LKY left his good name after he has passed away with 五福临门 attribute shd honor him a Statue of Achievement....

Good name bears good fruits and He and you hv come together bear good fruits for yr son of soil Sinkies to take over next.... 发啊.....

Tio boh.... hope this help....
Yeah, but why do u need NS now? NS should have been discontinued 20 years ago. MAny countries have eliminated or reduce their NS. WHo is the threat now?

Still need even more today.... CAM is aiming to control this Straits all the time... look at the numbers of camps in ME... that Suze Cs link to Europe must protect.

Yeah, but why do u need NS now? NS should have been discontinued 20 years ago. MAny countries have eliminated or reduce their NS. WHo is the threat now?

NsS should be abolished...why must singkies men be allowed themselves to be tortured by the state?

'No-nonsense' training from 7.30am to 1am: New book reveals how Israel helped Singapore establish SAF
Beating The Odds Together was launched by (from left) Israel ambassador to Singapore Sagi Karni, former Foreign Affairs Minister George Yeo, Middle East Institute chairman Bilahari Kausikan and its acting director Michelle Teo. (Photo: Aqil Haziq Mahmud)Bookmark
SINGAPORE: Singapore's first batch of officer cadets had to wake up at 5.30am, begin training at 7.30am and end their day only at 1am.
This "no-nonsense" regimen, implemented by Israeli military advisors, ensured these pioneers had high standards when training future generations of conscripted soldiers for the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF).
When the cadets complained about the tough schedule, then-Minister for Defence and Security Goh Keng Swee told them during a visit to the training school to either strictly follow instructions, "otherwise you will do double".
This anecdote is from the book Beating The Odds Together, which commemorates 50 years of Singapore-Israel ties.
The book, jointly published by the Middle East Institute and World Scientific, was launched on Monday (Dec 9) by former Foreign Affairs Minister George Yeo.
The book details how Israel helped Singapore establish the SAF when other countries declined the latter's calls for help. It also shows how that relationship has developed beyond security to fields such as business and technology.
The depth of Singapore's relationship with Israel has rarely been publicised because of political sensitivities, wrote Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong in his foreword in the book, highlighting Singapore's neighbours' position towards Israel.
"Today, we can be open in telling the story of the extraordinary contribution by our Israeli friends to our security when few thought that Singapore could survive on its own," he said.
THE BROWN BOOK
While the book celebrates 50 years of diplomatic ties between Singapore and Israel, the relationship between the two countries actually dates back slightly earlier to 1965, when Singapore separated from Malaysia.
The split happened amid a communist insurgency and armed confrontations in the region, prompting Singapore to make defence capability an "existential priority", wrote the former Permanent Secretary (Defence) Peter Ho in one chapter of the book.
Dr Goh Keng Swee agreed to lead the effort to build an army from scratch and approached countries that had done the same.
While India and Egypt congratulated Singapore on its independence, they did not offer military aid. Then-Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew subsequently gave the green light to approach Israel for help, Mr Ho wrote.
In October that year, a general of the Israel Defense Forces was dispatched to Singapore under conditions of "great secrecy".
Singapore-Israel book launch George Yeo
Former Foreign Affairs Minister George Yeo, who wrote a chapter in the book, signs a copy. (Photo: Aqil Haziq Mahmud)
He travelled incognito around Singapore by taxi, studied the terrain and ground conditions, and together with a team developed The Brown Book, a master plan for the creation of the SAF.
"It covered strategy and doctrine," wrote Mr Ho. "But at its core was the fundamental assessment that the only viable solution for Singapore was to build a citizen army of conscripts, trained and led by a small regular force."
EARLY YEARS OF NS
The Brown Book also proposed the setting up of an officer training school to produce professional leaders that could train future soldiers.
In November, a group of seven different Israeli advisors arrived in Singapore and eventually selected Pasir Laba as the site for the training school.
One year later, the Singapore Armed Forces Training Institute - now known as the SAFTI Military Institute - was built.
The Israeli advisors "insisted from the very start that the Singaporean officers were to learn from them so that they could take over as instructors as soon as possible", wrote Mr Ho.
The book was edited by Mattia Tomba, an adjunct senior research fellow at the Middle East Institute. (Photo: Aqil Haziq Mahmud)
By the early 1970s, word started going around that Israeli training had been incorporated into the SAF syllabus, and that it was extremely tough and dangerous, with the use of live ammunition and the occasional serviceman injury or even death, said Mr Ho.
"Of course, this was all exaggeration and rumour-mongering in the hothouse of the early years of National Service," Mr Ho added.
"But I suspect such rumours served a useful purpose, because it persuaded us in those days that our military training was to be taken very seriously."
EAGER STUDENTS
In Singapore, the Israeli team also conducted a course for recruits and platoon commanders, and Israel soon became a key source of defence equipment and technology.
"We will always be a student to Israel in military affairs. We should always be eager students," said Mr Yeo at the book launch event on Monday.
"Our bilateral relationship now extends beyond defence to many other fields, and it has always been our fervent hope that Singapore can be a benefit to Israel to whom we owe a deep, eternal debt of gratitude."
The 143-page book retails at major bookstores for S$37.
Source: CNA/hz(aj)

This book is the biggest load of propaganda and fake news. Its full of lies and misinformation and former Scholar Genital George Yeo should have known better then that. Some facts not mentioned in this book:

1) There was no need to build an army from scratch. The reason is that as part of the independence agreement with GB, GB agreed to a defence treaty with Singapore, whereby they will come to the aid of singapore in times of military conflict. This is the same agreement they sign with Brunei and Malaysia. Its still in place today as the 5 power defence arrangements. In fact, GB honoured this agreement during the Brunei civil war when they dispatch troops and Gurkhas to support the sultan. They would have done the same for Singapore. And in fact, even after singapore got its independence, the Brits left behind a Gurkha contingent for security. Which means that singapore had the best and most elite soldiers in the world stationed there.

2) The Jews do nothing for free. They only agree to help singapore because they saw singapore as a source for the sale of weapons they did not want or to purchase their weapons so they can make money from it. An example is the AMX-13. The IDF found this tank so unsafe against the Egyptian tanks in the 1967 war that they withdrew them from service completely. They then con the SAF into buying all their AMX-13 from them, hence making money from the sale of a tank that really has no market. Even today, the Jews make billions of $ from selling MINDEATH weapons and upgrading RSAF F-16s and F-15s, etc.

3) The jews know nothing about jungle warfare or fighting in this kind of tropical terrain and in dense cities. They don't have jungles in ISrael. And their specialty is desert warfare. Even in urban fighting, their main experience was the taking of jerusalem, which is a small town compared to KL and Singapore. To think they can come to Singapore and immediately develop tactics and defence strategy for the SAF is frankly laughable. If they had really seriously done a threat analysis, they will know that singapore has no natural military enemies and an invasion of singapore by a neighbouring country is next to impossible in those days , and even up till today.

Still need even more today.... CAM is aiming to control this Straits all the time... look at the numbers of camps in ME... that Suze Cs link to Europe must protect.

U are incoherent.

This book is the biggest load of propaganda and fake news. Its full of lies and misinformation and former Scholar Genital George Yeo should have known better then that. Some facts not mentioned in this book:

1) There was no need to build an army from scratch. The reason is that as part of the independence agreement with GB, GB agreed to a defence treaty with Singapore, whereby they will come to the aid of singapore in times of military conflict. This is the same agreement they sign with Brunei and Malaysia. Its still in place today as the 5 power defence arrangements. In fact, GB honoured this agreement during the Brunei civil war when they dispatch troops and Gurkhas to support the sultan. They would have done the same for Singapore. And in fact, even after singapore got its independence, the Brits left behind a Gurkha contingent for security. Which means that singapore had the best and most elite soldiers in the world stationed there.

2) The Jews do nothing for free. They only agree to help singapore because they saw singapore as a source for the sale of weapons they did not want or to purchase their weapons so they can make money from it. An example is the AMX-13. The IDF found this tank so unsafe against the Egyptian tanks in the 1967 war that they withdrew them from service completely. They then con the SAF into buying all their AMX-13 from them, hence making money from the sale of a tank that really has no market. Even today, the Jews make billions of $ from selling MINDEATH weapons and upgrading RSAF F-16s and F-15s, etc.

3) The jews know nothing about jungle warfare or fighting in this kind of tropical terrain and in dense cities. They don't have jungles in ISrael. And their specialty is desert warfare. Even in urban fighting, their main experience was the taking of jerusalem, which is a small town compared to KL and Singapore. To think they can come to Singapore and immediately develop tactics and defence strategy for the SAF is frankly laughable. If they had really seriously done a threat analysis, they will know that singapore has no natural military enemies and an invasion of singapore by a neighbouring country is next to impossible in those days , and even up till today.
No wonder I never like Jews with the exception of Jesus n gang