• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What a load of baloney...Coffeeshops bastards!!

[video=youtube_share;O0tTrTfcGyA]http://youtu.be/O0tTrTfcGyA[/video]

I see hawkers and coffeeshop owners all staying in bungalows, condos and gambling at MBS....also their children they can afford to send overseas for education.....

So, what crap they trying to report in the media?

Tuayapeh

Only PAP and their gang are allowed to live the lavish life.....

For the rest of you fucking slaves just stay in your overpriced pigeonholes......

If he up price, his shop will close down faster. The choice is his unless sinkies love to be squeezed and screwed by him.

Tuayapeh

Welcome to the "ERP" culture thats so uniquely singapore....suka suka adjust price as and when it feels like it with no Ccountability or questions asked.......

Dont drink kopi at these fuckin shops and see how long these bastards survive...... Most of the damm kopi these days are fuckng shit water that has little flavour or taste........

Fucking rubbish

Singapore is world class
soon the coffee shops will all be air cond
singaporeans will enjoy a swee standard of living
majulah singapura@@@

Tuayapeh

Singapore is world class
soon the coffee shops will all be air cond
singaporeans will enjoy a swee standard of living
majulah singapura@@@

Yeah more jutification to charge 2 bucks for a cup of kopi....

Wtf......

See how he dressed up, did he look like a beggar, a broke, a poor man so in need of more money to sustain his livings?

Yeah more jutification to charge 2 bucks for a cup of kopi....

Wtf......

very soon all the walkways will be air con like winter
so we are approaching the swee standard of living
hallelujah!! happy national day!!!

lianbeng

lianbeng replies: manipulating prices will increase inflation! :biggrin: pass the buck to consumers lor!

mei mei

Puzzled by this coffee pot. Almost all coffee shop I see uses a coffee pot that has a neck that is at least 12 inches long as seen in the video/screenshot below. Why does the coffee shop uses a pot with a 12 inch neck? Did the long neck bring out more flavor from the coffee? Maybe not, the coffee pot at mamak stores have shorter neck. Is the 12 inch neck intended to keep the coffee piping hot? Anyone knowledgeable knows why the coffee pot being used has such a long neck?

PnW7Eki.jpg

mei mei

The other point about the 12 inch neck coffee pot is it takes more elbow room to pour out the coffee, if they used a shorter neck, then less elbow space is needed. But why does the coffee shop wants to use a 12 inch neck coffee pot that take more elbow space and is clumsy and bigger than a coffee pot with shorter neck?

the long "sock" filter has something to do with it. due to the deep filter, pouring has to happen at the bottom of pot, otherwise top of filter will interfere with pouring through shorter spout at the top. brewed coffee would be obstructed by filter and had to go thru' it again, in reverse direction. because pouring happens at the bottom, spout is best to be long and cantilevered to allow easy handling and leverage of pot during pouring. they need to patent this with the u.s. patent office and get a design award. :biggrin:

lianbeng

Puzzled by this coffee pot. Almost all coffee shop I see uses a coffee pot that has a neck that is at least 12 inches long as seen in the video/screenshot below. Why does the coffee shop uses a pot with a 12 inch neck? Did the long neck bring out more flavor from the coffee? Maybe not, the coffee pot at mamak stores have shorter neck. Is the 12 inch neck intended to keep the coffee piping hot? Anyone knowledgeable knows why the coffee pot being used has such a long neck?

PnW7Eki.jpg

lianbeng says: there's a technique to talek that black kopiO inside the pot u know? :biggrin: it takes lots of practice n experience to master the skill u know?

High rentals are the real cause....not the price of coffee beans.
Say thank you to your fellow 60.1% and the white scum masters.

mei mei

the long "sock" filter has something to do with it. due to the deep filter, pouring has to happen at the bottom of pot, otherwise top of filter will interfere with pouring through shorter spout at the top. brewed coffee would be obstructed by filter and had to go thru' it again, in reverse direction. because pouring happens at the bottom, spout is best to be long and cantilevered to allow easy handling and leverage of pot during pouring. they need to patent this with the u.s. patent office and get a design award. :biggrin:

Thanks for the info, that makes sense. Talking about patent, seems like only in kopitiams in South East Asia uses this method of brewing coffee. I don't think the ang moh uses this kind of coffee pot so patent in USA pointless?

Kuailan

Bring your own plain water next time when u order food from Coffee shop that increase price of
coffee and tea!

Show your unhappiness to them!! I normally don't order coffee or tea when I eat at Coffee shop
I would go to the next provision shop and get a drink cheaper!

Thanks for the info, that makes sense. Talking about patent, seems like only in kopitiams in South East Asia uses this method of brewing coffee. I don't think the ang moh uses this kind of coffee pot so patent in USA pointless?

no invention is pointless until it suddenly becomes big. one just never know. for example, the turks have been brewing coffee with an inverse conical flask (with a cloth filter similar to the sinkie long "sock") for decades, perhaps a century, and when philz coffee in the u.s. (bay area coffee chain) started copying the same technique, the coffee was so beautifully brewed to near perfection that it took off big time. now philz has over a dozen joints in the bay area, and they are always packed with long lines. they filed their patents, and starbucks, peet's, tully's and seattle's best (competing chains) cannot use the same technique. those who have travelled to turkey obviously know they copied from the turks. starbucks are fighting back with the "clover", a vacuum technique of brewing with the high tech clover machine. they bought out the technology and intellectual property rights. the inventor made millions.