• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Web hosting Expert? anyone?

Do you really need US$50,00 for a year hosting?

TRE is on a donation drive. Yes again.

They need US$50,000 for a year hosting, got so expensive meh? Are they paying the editors and themselves from the money collected or not?

Donations: $1990 USD - (gross total since 12th May 2012)

If you prefer CASH ONLY donation or would like to discuss long-term sponsorship, please contact our Mr Richard Wan at [email protected].

If the “Donate” button above does not show correctly, manual donation can be made to [email protected] directly via PayPal.

Our site is fully funded by advertisements and our editorial team.

Please consider making a small donation if you believe in what we do. Alternatively, you may also consider sponsoring our site by advertising on our site.

Important

Please note that all donations are purely voluntary and unconditional. TRE gives no promises whether expressed or implied to any individual or organization of any return in kind or favour, other than the continued operation of our website.

Kindly do not make a donation if you are not comfortable with the above, for any reason whatsoever.

We refer to the splash screen that some readers have experienced when visiting our site, with the message “Sorry, we are closed for business till 2016″.

We wish to explain that this was the result of an “honest mistake” on the part of our in-house tech who was “trying to be funny” and had originally wanted to upload the splash screen to our “old” dedicated server that was being deactivated (part of our latest upgrading excercise), but instead accidentally uploaded it to the new server. He has since been severely “slapped on the wrist” by our editors.

“What happened was bad”, but it has been rectified and we would like to urge our readers to “move on”, with our assurance that we will be more careful in the future. We are sorry for the “shock and inconvenience” caused and will do everything we can to keep the “business” alive for as long as we possibly can.

With that out of the way, we wish to inform our readers that we have done everything within our capability to upgrade our existing hardware to cope with the increase in traffic, short of our planned clustering. All our servers are now on a new network with better throughput and accessibility to our site has improved, although it can still lag during peak hours.

There are also resolving issues with our website going missing-in-action in cyberspace, but that’s something beyond our control due to the relocation of our website to a new Data Centre, inevitably causing propogation issue (a need for our new IP to propogate). The propogation issue should normally be resolved within 72 hours.

Having said that, we wish to refer to our previous announcement titled “The Good, The Bad and The Ugly” dated 27th April.

In that announcement, we said that our existing lease with our dedicated server provider will expire come June 2012 and we are in the process of approaching individuals privately for funding.

Approach we did, but unfortunately, we weren’t able to find enough people with deep pockets. To date, we have only managed to secure commitment of about US$10,000 from well-wishers and our own editors, out of the approximated US$50,000 needed to proceed with our planned clustering of servers, payment of lease for another 12 months and ad hoc upgrading.

Although we had originally planned to source for funding privately as aforesaid, we have apparently failed to achieve our targeted amount of US$50,000. As such, as much as we would prefer not to (knowing that it is no longer easy to make a living in Singapore), we are now forced to openly appeal to our readers for funding (donations).

The team @ TR Emeritus is currently seeking funding (donations) in the amount of US$50,000 to keep the website going for another year. Should the collections from this donation drive falls short of the targeted amount, the team @ TR Emeritus will top-up the balance, if it is within our means.

If the stats on our sidebar is anything to go by, we would like to appeal to our readers (who are reading this) to please consider donating a few dollars each, if you believe in our cause. All donations received will be credited towards the lease of our dedicated servers for another year, including the planned clustering.

Readers willing to make a donation may do so with a credit/debit card via PayPal by clicking on the heart to the left. If you are more comfortable with cash or is intending to make a donation in excess of US$5000, please contact our Richard Wan via [email protected].

The donation drive will stop after the targeted amount of US$50,000 has been achieved or by 15th June 2012, whichever is earlier.

Thank you for your understanding and continued support.

Team @ TR Emeritus

saratogas

Since collecting $$$ might as well collect more... Who will heyum $ too much one!? Set a higher target.

The hosting for the site should not come up to more than USD1000 per month including bandwidth charges. There could be some initial set up costs to add if they need to customise the hardware... eg solid state drives... more memory etc.

If they need additional infrastructure such as DDoS protection, it can add USD250~USD500 per month in overheads.

Nice-Gook

The hosting for the site should not come up to more than USD1000 per month i

Tremeritus merely testing it's creditworthiness.It happens all the time when there is an election around the corner.

Why is tremeritus desperate for funding when it is backed by PAP?

Now,by this move.PAP would also know who are most likely dip into their pocket deep for future election campaign against it.

Richard Was had been crying wolf far too many times.

BusNo64

Walao...TRE need US$50k a yr to lease server..so expensive meh? Jiak Lui issit?

TRE is asking for donation of US$50k a year to lease a dedicated server....KNN so expensive meh?.....JIAK LUI issit?......I tot Richard Wan is MD of some international IT company, and staying in a luxurious condo in district 9...$50K also donch have meh? I smell a con job....:mad::oIo:

Sam, does your website cost you US$50K a year too? :confused:

http://www.tremeritus.com/2012/05/15/tr-emeritus-is-seeking-funding-to-continue-with-its-operation/

jimmyfallon

I pay SG$50 a year for a .com.sg domain name and less than US$100 a year for webhosting. COmes with : Unlimited bandwidth, 10 email boxes(unlimited storage), up to 5 gb webspace which is way more than I need.

TRE thought readers still believe in bandwidth charges izzit? only morons will sign those contracts with ISPs, LOL

A $50 a year package is not going to be able to handle anything more than a handful of visitors per day.

Thanks for the correction.

US$50,000 a year is approx SGD$65,000 per year, which is SGD$5,417 per month. :eek:

It shouldn't cost that much. If the site serves 1 million page views daily, hosting should not cost more than USD1000 per month for a 3 server set up with 2 load balanced http servers and one MySQL server.

HellAngel

By now everyone should know how TRE operates. The website is a money making machine for them and nothing more. The rest is just a facade.

Even cloud hosting also not so expensive

Don't be conned by all these claims of unlimited bandwidth and mega gigabytes of storage for a song. They're all marketing gimmicks. Hosting companies know that 99.5% of their customers will never come close to using even 5% of what they're paying for.

They'll give you a 10Mbps pipe and tell you that bandwidth is unlimited but once you have more than 30 simultaneous connections, your site will come to a standstill. It's like trying to put out a forest fire with a garden hose.

This forum is considered a small site but it can't run on anything less than a 100Mbps pipe and even then, it's very sluggish. It's now on a 1GB pipe.

Once all the switches are upgraded to 1GB, the hosting becomes a lot more expensive.