• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

warning from Goh Chok Tong - more foreigners coming

†††††

GE: Current leadership transition more crucial than previous ones, says SM Goh

SINGAPORE: Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong has outlined seven strategies to secure Singapore's future and preparing the fourth generation leadership team, is just one of them.

Mr Goh was speaking to a group of graduates and young Singaporeans at a dialogue at Singapore Polytechnic's Graduates Guild on Friday evening.

He said the current leadership transition is even more crucial than previous ones because Singapore's future depends on what Singaporeans themselves make of it.

The new leaders will lead a better educated and more questioning Singaporean population in a developed, prosperous city-nation and like the majority of the population, most of the leaders would not have experienced first-hand Singapore's struggles for survival.

Since the General Election is around the corner, Mr Goh urged voters to think about what it takes to secure both the country's and their own future. To achieve this, the most important strategy is to invest heavily in Singaporeans.

That is why Singapore will continue to improve its strong education system at all levels, from pre-school to universities. For example, the government will be expanding capacity at polytechnics and universities.

Mr Goh added that Singapore must also be positioned to take advantage of the many opportunities in growing Asia because this is where the global economic centre of gravity is shifting to.

As China and India develop, he believes these countries will invest outside their own countries. He stressed that Singapore must aim to be the natural destination for Foreign Direct Investment (FDI). Last year, Singapore had more than S$50 billion in FDI, which exceeded even the FDI into India.

Another strategy is to restructure Singapore's own economy and improve productivity.

Fourthly, the country will maintain high standards of leadership in politics, Civil Service, Armed Forces and Home Team departments.

Staying open to international talent is another critical advantage but this will be done judiciously to benefit Singaporeans. Mr Goh said the final strategy is to create an inclusive society, with a Singaporean core, even if the income gap widens.

Concluding, the Senior Minister Goh said Singapore's combination of strengths and strategies has enabled it to succeed.

He said: "Good governance brings about growth; growth brings about social and political stability; stability enables us to plan for political succession, think and act long term and avoid short term populist policies. This has been our strongest competitive advantage over other countries.

"To navigate this unpredictable world, we need to have the best crew we can get, the competencies, the strategies, the unity, and the will to overcome crises. How successful we will be depends on how we respond to challenges and how we seize opportunities. If we adopt a passive approach, we will be like a man lost in the wilderness without a compass - we will end up walking in circles, going nowhere."

-CNA/ac

soon we'll have not only dubbed pinoy crap on tv...we'll have ah neh dubbed shit...viet dubbed...thai dubbed...SMLJ crap also dubbed :oIo:

Well, you can always watch the undubbed version.
Your tv dun have dual sound meh?

The lower-tier Japanese, Caucasians and even their compatriots from East Europe would come here more. Maybe some same-same status types from Latin America would love this place too. Actually more foreigners here do liven up the place, but they should also be of some caliber because the coarse locals and heartlanders are already more than enough for anyone to handle.

Ah so! now you know why they are so generous in scrapping the TV Licence, soon, you will be provided with a box with a card slot at home connected to your TV & the OPEN net terminal, it come with a card reader that will read all the types of card from A to Z, that allows money to be deducted. You want to have undubbed, in orginal language like that crappy Pinoy TV or that "ai"...slot in the card. But, you still pay for junk.... ha ha ha ha

The lower-tier Japanese, Caucasians and even their compatriots from East Europe would come here more. Maybe some same-same status types from Latin America would love this place too. Actually more foreigners here do liven up the place, but they should also be of some caliber because the coarse locals and heartlanders are already more than enough for anyone to handle.

Are you saying that heartlanders sinkies are below lower tier? :p