• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Wanker Jamus Feeling Sore Against Grassroots Adviser That He's Not Allowed To Mingle With Little Sinkies During Edusave Awards!

1643421404202.png

Parents might remember Edusave awards as being one of the crowning glories of their child's formative years.

These awards are offered to students based on their character, leadership, conduct, learning dispositions and academic performance, and are typically given to students in the top 10 per cent and above of a school's cohort.

Ceremonies are then held where Members of Parliament (MPs) will hand out the awards to awardees in their group representation constituency (GRC).

A number of Sengkang GRC residents however, hoping to get a photo of their child posing with the MP, were disappointed when they were unable to do so.

Awards at Sengkang GRC were mailed out
Workers' Party's Jamus Lim shared in a Facebook post that Edusave awards at his GRC were mailed out, without the usual fanfare.

The Sengkang GRC MP shared that he has since received a number of email queries as to why his GRC did not hold an awards ceremony, despite Covid-19 restrictions being relaxed enough to do so.

One parent, he said, "expressed dismay", as their child had been looking forward to taking a photo and interacting with the MP.

Signed letter of encouragement
Lim explained that as an MP from the opposition party, he does not have the "pleasure" of distributing the Edusave awards personally.

This is done by the Grassroots Advisers (GRAs), which are appointed by the People's Association.

In wards occupied by the People's Action Party (PAP), the role of the GRAs are taken up by PAP MPs in the PAP wards they were elected at, or unelected PAP candidates in opposition wards where they contested.

Lim said he shared this with his residents, and is also willing to write them a signed letter of encouragement.

This, he can distribute to them in an "informal mini-ceremony" during his weekly Meet-the-People session.

He added:

"Most importantly, please don’t feel that the only way you can meet and take a selfie with your MP is by studying hard and doing well! I’m always available for my residents, Edusave season or not, whether virtually or physically. Just feel free to reach out and touch base."

You can read his full post here.

Lim previously held a mini ceremony
The topic of how GRAs are appointed and the difference this poses between PAP wards and opposition wards has been a long-running politically contentious issue.

This is not the first time Lim has brought it up on his social media.

In 2021, Lim similarly held a mini ceremony of his own to hand out letters to students who won the award.

The current arrangement of how GRAs are appointed is also seen as unfair by the opposition.

Leader of the Opposition Pritam Singh has repeatedly called attention to the fact that PAP MPs get to perform the following functions as GRAs:

Having a say in the dispensation of government funds for upgrading projects

Presiding over citizenship ceremonies for new voters, including presenting them with their pink ICs
Appointing GRLs in opposition wards

This, he said, constitutes "violation of fair play" when it comes to elections, since the PAP candidates are afforded visibility and opportunities to interact with residents.

https://mothership.sg/2022/01/jamus-lim-edusave-awards-write-letter/

Sad that the wankers instead of using their position in parleement to curtail the garbage quasi pappie organisation like the GRA...talks crap about foreign workers issues. Aren't these wankers supposed to represent their electorate n singkies?
https://mothership.sg/2021/10/workers-part-jalan-tukong/
Those wankers are lidat one lah. In stead of fighting over national issue, they fighting over who should give out bursary, who choose cleaning contractors. More and lighten folks all ready see thru their smoke screen. :rolleyes:

Hypocrite-The

Those wankers are lidat one lah. In stead of fighting over national issue, they fighting over who should give out bursary, who choose cleaning contractors. More and lighten folks all ready see thru their smoke screen. :rolleyes:
Why u think I stopped voting for these wankers?

I have seen the light. PAP all the way! God Wong is my new idol. Is he yours?

The closest I had to a human idol was the late Ah Gong.

There's no need to worship a human being. Otherwise, we end up like the moslems, screaming for blood and rioting every time someone criticizes their dead human idol.

Loofydralb

Not within the PAP government. If you know of corruption anywhere, please report it to your nearest RC or to CPIB.
Corruption takes many forms as practiced by PAP.
Here is a perfect example where a rightful people elected representative is not allowed to a public funded event for his electorate.
Corrupt? Absolutely.

no_faith

Bus stop cut ribbon
Rubbin bin cut ribbon
With thr grassroot members in public
Ok? :biggrin:
Rubbish bin cut ribbon sibei important:biggrin: