• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Vincent Wijeysingha going to be the new SDP Secretary General?

steffychun

PPE not easy lah, some more from Oxford hor...

To do well, one need to be philosophical, analytical, good in Maths and with the necessary writing skills.

PPE is nothing. Other universities teach better content.

PPE is only a bachelor's degree.

Fook Seng

Liquigas said:
PPE not easy lah, some more from Oxford hor...

To do well, one need to be philosophical, analytical, good in Maths and with the necessary writing skills.

Why good in Maths? They all don't seem to have it.

tanwahp

Chee is turning 50 this year and you bet he will be around for at least 5 more years. I feel that he has overstayed his time where voters' wants are concerned and should hand over the reigns after 2016 at the latest. By then, he will have been sec-gen for 24 years. Shorter than LKY (36 years) or JBJ (30 years) but the two brought their parties to greater heights. Even Low, I think, is likely to step down after 2016 and he collected less than 20 years leading WP.

As for VW, don't think he can achieve much as sec-gen. Nothing to do with his abilities. It's the same as putting Png or Yee as head of WP - nothing to do with their abilities.

kingrant

Yea, VW should take over CSJ and bring SDP to new heights, priorities, and electoral success.

He has a good head on his shoulders, a good mind. What's needed now is S'pore politics street-sense, and ability to connect with the ground. Kipling's legendary words "walk with kings nor yet lose the common touch".

If you can keep your head when all about you
Are losing theirs and blaming it on you;
If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you,
But make allowance for their doubting too:
If you can wait and not be tired by waiting,
Or being lied about, don’t deal in lies,
Or being hated don’t give way to hating,
And yet don’t look too good, nor talk too wise;

If you can dream—and not make dreams your master;
If you can think—and not make thoughts your aim,
If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster
And treat those two impostors just the same:
If you can bear to hear the truth you’ve spoken
Twisted by knaves to make a trap for fools,
Or watch the things you gave your life to, broken,
And stoop and build ’em up with worn-out tools;

If you can make one heap of all your winnings
And risk it on one turn of pitch-and-toss,
And lose, and start again at your beginnings
And never breathe a word about your loss:
If you can force your heart and nerve and sinew
To serve your turn long after they are gone,
And so hold on when there is nothing in you
Except the Will which says to them: ‘Hold on!’

If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,
Or walk with Kings—nor lose the common touch,
If neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you,
If all men count with you, but none too much:
If you can fill the unforgiving minute
With sixty seconds’ worth of distance run,
Yours is the Earth and everything that’s in it,
And—which is more—you’ll be a Man, my son!

kukubird58

hahaha.....csj has openly derided by lky in the msm as a "DUD"".
iwhat matyr....i have zero respect for him.

cheekenpie

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chee_Soon_Juan

In 1993, a few months after Chee joined the SDP, he was fired from his position at the National University of Singapore by the Head of the Psychology Department, Dr S Vasoo (who was an MP for the PAP at the time), for allegedly using research funds to send his wife's doctoral thesis to the United States. Chee denied that he had misused university funds and claimed that he was the victim of a political vendetta.[7] He staged a five-day hunger strike to protest his sacking (however he was later criticised for consuming glucose water during his hunger strike).[8] Vasoo and two other members of staff at NUS subsequently sued Chee for his claims that his sacking had been politically motivated, and the courts found against Chee and ordered him to pay damages.

VW kowtowing to Dr Vasoo must be a sore thing for Chee to bear.

Thick Face Black Heart

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chee_Soon_Juan
VW kowtowing to Dr Vasoo must be a sore thing for Chee to bear.

Don't think CSJ would mind. Alex Au did the same. TOC did the same. If his own party members must do the same, CSJ would have no issue at all.

VW must be a candidate in 2016. Nothing else matters. I hope VW can understand this point. The most impt thing is to be a candidate in 2016!!

Thick Face Black Heart

It has started. Vincent saved his own skin and disgraced his boss through the apology to Dr Vasoo.

VW disgraced no one. Everyone knows what an apology to the PAP means. If you are unarmed and step around a barking mongrel instead of confronting it, no one in his right mind would think you're a coward.

cheekenpie

Don't think CSJ would mind. Alex Au did the same. TOC did the same. If his own party members must do the same, CSJ would have no issue at all.

VW must be a candidate in 2016. Nothing else matters. I hope VW can understand this point. The most impt thing is to be a candidate in 2016!!

At the rate VW, TSL and CSJ are going, you think they can survive till 2016 meh?

cheekenpie

At the rate VW, TSL and CSJ are going, you think they can survive till 2016 meh?