• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Video clip urging Singaporeans to vote out PAP making waves in Singapore’s blogospher

yuelao

Re: Video clip urging Singaporeans to vote out PAP making waves in Singapore’s blogos

Does it matter who is the one commenting? If it strikes a chord with you, there must be some truth to it. If not, what is there to fear as the comments would just be ignored by most.

That Char lAtan character is a snake who is unworthy of getting a single word of reply.

littlefish

Re: Video clip urging Singaporeans to vote out PAP making waves in Singapore’s blogos

Isn't Dr Chee's Wife an FT(someone mentioned that she is/was Taiwanese)?

And assuming Wendy Neo isn't Chee's Wife and she is really taking up Aussie citizenship, that means she is also FT.

I don't get this part. I thought you guys hate FTs. Since when is it OK to have FTs mess with our domestic affairs.

No one disallowed FTs from praising PAP to the high heavens as long as they are prepared to get criticised for it.

It is the old man who said it is not ok for foreigners to interfere in domestic policies, the lesser mortals said no such thing. The old man said this because he is afraid he is unable to counter their arguments and continue hoodwinking the peasants.

Char_Azn

No one disallowed FTs from praising PAP to the high heavens as long as they are prepared to get criticised for it.

It is the old man who said it is not ok for foreigners to interfere in domestic policies, the lesser mortals said no such thing. The old man said this because he is afraid he is unable to counter their arguments and continue hoodwinking the peasants.

Therein lies my point, no one here believes in the BS when FT praise PAP but everyone believes in BS when FTs speak up against PAP. So if FTs(in SG) does not have the right to and should not be messing with our domestic affairs(which I totally agree with) what gives FTs(in this case, pple who have quit the country) the right to mess with our domestic affairs if they are outside SG. The fact is they have quit the country.

If they are really so "patriotic" in the first place, why did they leave in the first place. Fear of persecution isn't an excuse. TOC, Temasek Review are anti-PAP blogs which have thrived here. Famous personals like Catherine Lim and Alex Au have constantly criticized Government policy but are still up and about.

Therein lies my point, no one here believes in the BS when FT praise PAP but everyone believes in BS when FTs speak up against PAP. So if FTs(in SG) does not have the right to and should not be messing with our domestic affairs(which I totally agree with) what gives FTs(in this case, pple who have quit the country) the right to mess with our domestic affairs if they are outside SG. The fact is they have quit the country.

If they are really so "patriotic" in the first place, why did they leave in the first place. Fear of persecution isn't an excuse. TOC, Temasek Review are anti-PAP blogs which have thrived here. Famous personals like Catherine Lim and Alex Au have constantly criticized Government policy but are still up and about.

so this is the PAP modus operandi lah...

step 1 : if u not happy, u ff off lah..
step 2 : since u leave liao, u dun have the rite to comment on spore..

like that one huh..

littlefish

This is your own elite point of view. You seem to think that people can't differentiate between BS and something that has an ounce of truth. What exactly constitutes messing with domestic affairs? If a foreigner complains about crowded MRT trains, is that considered interference? Anyone is free to comment as long as they do not secretly fund operations to support their agenda (like what the CIA did in Iraq and other places). Anyone is also free to criticise the comments. Seems like you are very supportive of how LKY controlled the media when it was him who criticised media bias when he was not in power yet.

Not everyone is well-off or has the capacity not to look elsewhere for a better life for their families and themselves. Everyone is different, not everyone can be Nelson Mandela. Have you considered that these people may have moved out of PAP's reach so that they can speak without fear of prosecution? Just because they are no longer citizens does not mean they no longer empathise with SGreans.

potato29

i dun like PAP, but i look at singapore opposition, they cannot understand simple logic, like what you need to run a nation, what condition you need to change political landscape. If USA, EU, UN, Japan does not want to intervene with singapore politic, you have zero chances. you are just throwing the life of your family.

when PAP became gov, they know how to run a nation?

Char_Azn

This is your own elite point of view. You seem to think that people can't differentiate between BS and something that has an ounce of truth. What exactly constitutes messing with domestic affairs? If a foreigner complains about crowded MRT trains, is that considered interference? Anyone is free to comment as long as they do not secretly fund operations to support their agenda (like what the CIA did in Iraq and other places). Anyone is also free to criticise the comments. Seems like you are very supportive of how LKY controlled the media when it was him who criticised media bias when he was not in power yet.

Not everyone is well-off or has the capacity not to look elsewhere for a better life for their families and themselves. Everyone is different, not everyone can be Nelson Mandela. Have you considered that these people may have moved out of PAP's reach so that they can speak without fear of prosecution? Just because they are no longer citizens does not mean they no longer empathise with SGreans.

I actually type quite abit to say about this but decided not to post that since no one is going to really try to read and understand it anyway and I'm going to be accused of being PAP's dog or being out of point.

Just one last message on this: inconsistency. If FTs(in SG or otherwise) do not have the right to comment on domestic affairs(trival or otherwise, I can give you lots of example of either from this forum), I personally feel that former Singaporeans have also given up their rights to do that.

Excuses like being persecuted here for speaking up against the government is weak at best like I've pointed out earlier we have more then enough examples of pple who speaks out against the government but who have not been prosecuted.

FTs whether they are speaking well or ill of the country have no rights and should not muddle in our domestic affairs.

littlefish

I actually type quite abit to say about this but decided not to post that since no one is going to really try to read and understand it anyway and I'm going to be accused of being PAP's dog or being out of point.

Just one last message on this: inconsistency. If FTs(in SG or otherwise) do not have the right to comment on domestic affairs(trival or otherwise, I can give you lots of example of either from this forum), I personally feel that former Singaporeans have also given up their rights to do that.

Excuses like being persecuted here for speaking up against the government is weak at best like I've pointed out earlier we have more then enough examples of pple who speaks out against the government but who have not been prosecuted.

FTs whether they are speaking well or ill of the country have no rights and should not muddle in our domestic affairs.

You have a real tendency to go out of point. Please answer my questions first before you go off on a tangent again.

How many of those who spoke up are working in Govt, Stat Boards or GLCs?

As I have said, who is the one who said foreigners should not meddle in domestic affairs? Explain first what is meant by domestic affairs and what is meant by meddling? Is commenting on social issues meddling? The only person who said this is LKY, the common SGrean did not prohibit foreigners from commenting on SG issues. They are free to comment as long as they are prepared to be criticised.

So... we have someone trying to persuade us to make the vote for change, and then this person is going to bail out and become an Australian citizen?

Why do you need someone to persuade you to vote for your own self interests :confused:

Just look around & ask yourself "IF" your lifes is getting better or worse. Even PAP supporters are angry with Temasek losses, the influx of foreinners, casinos, increasing prices,...

SamuelStalin

So... we have someone trying to persuade us to make the vote for change, and then this person is going to bail out and become an Australian citizen?

Very good point. This is just so similar to that person we heard who called himself "thinkall" and suggested the local Sporn, fucks make up this Centerpoint Black Emo Parade idea he randomly pulled from out of his ass, but he would not appear in.

Who wants to stand on his own shit really.

phouse3

Like the guy and his party who stood in front of a huge crowd to garner votes but himself went on to vote for the PAP and exhort others to vote for the better man?

:eek:

when PAP became gov, they know how to run a nation?

that was a simpler time with a simple economic.
things are very different now. it is not i am afraid that opposition cannot run the economic, i am more worry about police, army and judge taking the opposition apart bit by bit.

remember thaksin, he won the election, look where is he now.

Let's support alternative parties on all front, give them as much resources as possible for the sake of ourselves and our future generations. Render them all the help they need in the coming election. Help them formed an intelligent squads in every possible sectors and divisons. We need them to glue the cracks of Singapore pillars.

longbow

Nothing to do with Wendy. It is the message. Does it ring a bell? Any truth?

To be fair one should also look at the good things the current Gov has given us. Must have a more balanced approach.

Watchman

Video clip urging Singaporeans to vote out PAP making waves in Singapore’s blogosphere

February 9, 2010 by admin01

A video clip exhorting Singaporeans to vote for change in the next general election by famous online film-maker Wendy Neo has garnered more than 8,000 views within a few days of publication.

Wendy Neo is famous for the production of videos critical of the PAP. She wrote on her Youtube profile that she is currently an undergraduate in Perth and will become an Australian citizen after she turned 21 years of age.

The title of her latest video is: “Singapore General Election 2010 新加坡大选: BERUBAH 改变 மாற்றம் CHANGE”:

The video began with a summary of proposed changes in policy such as a minimum wage system, first world salary for Singaporeans, increased healthcare subsidy and retirement for the elderly followed by snapshots of the main opposition leaders in Singapore.

The middle portion of the video clip showed an elderly lady picking cardboards for a living with a background voice saying in mandarin:

“For the past forty years, I have been voting for the Foreigner Action Party (PAP) and this is what I get in return. How did things turn out this way? What happened? Now they say I am old and useless and want to dump me at JB for me to die overseas. My fellow Singaporeans, please save me which is also saving yourselves. Please remember: what happened to me now will happen to you one day.”

The clip then showed photos of PAP MPs enjoying themselves and urged Singaporeans not to give up their opportunity for change.

Though the video clip lasted only less than 3 minutes, the message is clear and concise: vote for change and vote out the PAP!

The opposition should make use of such video clips as part of their electoral campaign to get their message out to Singaporeans. To ensure that they are influenced to vote against the PAP, they must play on their emotions – their fears, anxieties, worries, anger, frustration, resentment and angst.

Contrary to what the PAP would like us to believe, politics is all about emotions. The opposition must capitalize on the groundswell of dissatisfaction, unhappiness and disgruntlement against the PAP and utilize it to its benefit.

Netizens can help by:

1. Sharing the video clip with your relatives from the older generation who do not surf the internet.

2. Forward the video link to all your friends and colleagues or by embedding the video on your blogs.

3. Download and burn the video clip to CDs and distribute them to the residents living in your block.

If each of us were to do our part right now, our combined efforts will soon snowball into a massive grassroots movement to advocate for change in the coming election.​

aurvandil

I have speaking up against the government for a very long time. It is akin to living wiith a serial killer. The serial killer tells you he has not killed anyone recently. The heads of all his victims decorate his apartment and you wonder when your head will end up on the mantle piece.

On FTs having no rights ... well FTs are apponted to key positions. A good example is Paul Cheung, the former chief statistician who helped "fixed" CSJ many years ago. Or Khaw Boon Wan .... a former Penang boy made good who might become the next PM of Singapore.

In Singapore today, FTs favoured by the PAP have much more political power and influence than the average Singaporean. It is only FTs that speak against the government that have no rights.