• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Use windfall to pay off the mortgage

By Mary Holm

5:30 AM Saturday Aug 24, 2013 ✩Save

I'd appreciate some quick advice about what to do with a $4500 "windfall".

My house mortgage is down to $10,000 and the interest is $23 a fortnight. Should I put the windfall on my mortgage or add it to my savings (at 4 per cent)?

I am 64 and in full-time employment. I plan to retire in about 18 months.

------------------------

Mary Holm :

Get rid of that mortgage, not just using the $4500 but also your savings - assuming you have enough savings. Speed up the glorious Mortgage Free Day - at which point you can dance on the beach and splurge for a month, but then be a good girl and put your former mortgage payments into your savings.

Why do it that way around? Let's say your mortgage interest rate is 6 per cent. When you pay it down, you improve your wealth in the same way as if you had an investment earning 6 per cent after fees and taxes. Your savings are earning only 4 per cent - and that's probably before tax. So they can't compete.

It's good to have some savings for emergencies, even if you have a mortgage. But it's not financially smart to have much money earning 4 per cent while also paying a higher interest rate on a loan.

Oh, and I can't resist asking my "When I'm 64 Question": Are you in KiwiSaver? If not, join before you turn 65 and are no longer eligible.

KiwiSaver is a particularly good deal for people in their 60s. And everyone gets at least five years of KiwiSaver incentives, so you'll get them until you're 69.

You'll receive the $1000 kick-start and, while you're working, employer contributions and the tax credit. After you retire, I suggest you keep contributing $1043 a year - perhaps as $87 a month - and you'll get the $521 maximum tax credit each year.

The downside is that you tie up the money, but it's only for five years from your joining date. People close to retirement don't usually mind that. They can spend other savings in the meantime.

Why is KiwiSaver so good for older members? It's about the returns on your contributions - more specifically what happens to each year's contributions.

Let's look first at 20-year-old Jack. The money he puts into KiwiSaver this year is boosted by government and employer contributions. So in its first year in KiwiSaver, that money earns a fantastic return. However, Jack's 2013 contributions then sit in his account for decades, earning whatever his fund earns - which we might call an "ordinary" return.

Next year, Jack's 2014 contributions will get the big boost. But then that money will also earn just ordinary returns for decades. And so on. For Jack, a lot of money earns ordinary returns for a lot of years, watering down his total returns.

Meanwhile, Jill joins KiwiSaver over 60. Her contributions also get the first-year boost, but they then earn ordinary returns for just a few years.

I'm not saying KiwiSaver isn't a good deal for Jack. The incentives can mean he will end up with twice as much - or more - than if he had saved the same amount elsewhere. And anyone who saves over a long period benefits from powerful compounding.

But Jill does even better. Even if she has to dip into savings to make the contributions after retirement, it's well worth it.

Wrong and bad advice. Housing loan is most of the time the cheapest money an individual can have access to. A person has to maintain liquidity and ready cash for emergencies. You use your available cash to pay down mortgage, next time you need the cash what do you do? You re mortgage the home and pay all the fees? Borrow using credit card which has high interest rates?

Do not pay off mortgages for the sake of it...plan carefully to make sure you have sufficient liquidity before doing so.

do the maths! if interest yield is higher than the mortgage interest, invest!

any advice what to invest in ? thank you...I've $100K cash for investment....thank you sir.

Vietnamese dong or Indonesian rupiah?
Invest in a sex doll since you always kena fuck as fuckee and no woman would like you fuck even if you pay them.

Uncle, if STI falls further, invest in some defensive stocks like SPH, SMRT, STE etc...

Can use a small amount to buy Genting shares too.

1. kopi, if you are market savvy..
2. if the market continues to dip further.
3. it is good to look at some counters.
4. however, if I were you I shall spend the 100k with aunty mah:D

1. kopi, if you are market savvy..
2. if the market continues to dip further.
3. it is good to look at some counters.
4. however, if I were you I shall spend the 100k with aunty mah:D

thank u sir
100K will just disappear very fast
without any proper investments
the rising cost very rapid
money very small liao...thanks sir

Why would you want to use your spare cash to pay off your mortgage when interest rate is so low now - max 1.5%?

Cash is king and you need to use that spare cash into instruments that can give you higher returns and generate more liquidity. A property is not liquid and interest rate don't just shoot up overnight. Interest rate will remain low in the short term so you can always decide to pay off part of your mortgage when it starts to climb up to a point which is your threshold.

Put you money in the equities of these Asean countries - Singapore, Indonesia, Thailand, Malaysia for the mid term of upto 3 years. These economies are still structurally sound and will continue to strive esp when China, US and some Europe countries economies start to pick up again

the silvery moon went from USD$19.50 to USD$24.00 over the last couple of weeks. you game for it? :D:D:D

thank u sir
100K will just disappear very fast
without any proper investments
the rising cost very rapid
money very small liao...thanks sir

1. kopi, if that happens to you and family.
2. go and see your mp hoh:D

Why would you want to use your spare cash to pay off your mortgage when interest rate is so low now - max 1.5%?

bro,
always be prepared for an increase in mortgage rates is safer, cannot assume it will remain low all the time :o:o:o

Use the money and become ah long in stinking land. Afterall, stinkers poodles cannot do anything to ah longs.

Few months cover back capital. Use the interest earned to pay mortgage.