• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

USB 3.0 - I'm impressed

I decided to go with the WD 1TB because all I needed was something to use to transfer between a Mac and Win 7 . The funny thing is that when transferring data from a win 7.0 machine to the WD can be very, very slow, even though the WD is formatted for Win i.e NTFS. However once the data is in the WD drive, copying it to a Mac is very much faster

If in NTFS format can it be use by Mac? All my 1T disk are formatted with exFAT so that it can be use in both OS and Win. But this 2T for Mac had already been formatted with HFS+ and can be us only with Mac platform.

I actually bought this 1T too (for someone) and it costs only $119 . . . . damn now a days really cheap

South Asia Computer is my favourite IT store at Funan. I bought so many things from there (printer toner, internet security, accessories, GPS, etc). There used to be a chio Thai salesgirl (or ladyboy) serving in the camera section, dunno if still around.

Got meh? Knn I must knock my head for not spotting her cos like you I buy lots of stuff there too, cheaper than many shops. I go there almost every time I'm back here.

So what did you do with the extra time saved?

I could not tell you specifically what I did with the extra time, its just that if I could transfer file especially during backup with the Apple's Time Machine I could perhaps shutdown my Mac earlier and go sleep.

If in NTFS format can it be use by Mac? All my 1T disk are formatted with exFAT so that it can be use in both OS and Win. But this 2T for Mac had already been formatted with HFS+ and can be us only with Mac platform.

I actually bought this 1T too (for someone) and it costs only $119 . . . . damn now a days really cheap

The WD 1T was available for $109 at Sim Lim Sq. At that time it was just before a computer show & they used it as an excuse to offer the special price. Otherwise I would have to pay a little more.
The main reason I stuck to the 1T model was because the 2T drive is rather new & the reliability with new products are unknown.

I got the version for Windows & haven't reformatted for Mac OS. I can connect to both Windows & Mac. However I can only write to the HDD under Windows & not under Mac. I'm sure there is a way to do it but just haven't looked into it.

The only SW I've purchase is Parallel for my Mac. All the other SW I'm using are freebie SW: Open office, Firefox, Transmission,....

The WD 1T was available for $109 at Sim Lim Sq. At that time it was just before a computer show & they used it as an excuse to offer the special price. Otherwise I would have to pay a little more.
The main reason I stuck to the 1T model was because the 2T drive is rather new & the reliability with new products are unknown.

I got the version for Windows & haven't reformatted for Mac OS. I can connect to both Windows & Mac. However I can only write to the HDD under Windows & not under Mac. I'm sure there is a way to do it but just haven't looked into it.

The only SW I've purchase is Parallel for my Mac. All the other SW I'm using are freebie SW: Open office, Firefox, Transmission,....

Noted. Ah yes, the ones without the FOR MAC they are slightly cheaper in this shop.

Noted. Ah yes, the ones without the FOR MAC they are slightly cheaper in this shop.....

With the decline of the PC I think it's unfair to charge Mac users more $. Fortunately it's easy enough to reformat a HDD to the Mac's HFS.

I was planning to get something with multiple connectivity options like
http://www.amazon.com/MiniPro-FireW...20562&sr=8-180&keywords=external+2.5+hdd+case

but realised that I no longer need all the connectivity, especially when I plan to get a simpler iPad or iPad mini. They are so much lighter & easier to carry around & can fit in the hotel safe much easier than a laptop.