• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

UK or American English?

LITTLEREDDOT

Do you use UK or American English?

Singapore was under British colonial rule and adopted the UK English. However the dominant economic power is USA, and American English is also widely used.

Which do you use? And which should be used?

Singapore was under British colonial rule and adopted the UK English. However the dominant economic power is USA, and American English is also widely used.

Most people get use to America English.
Major reason is Holywood movie more than UK. So heard more use more.

Pure American English is not International English, nor pure British English, only native speakers can understand each other. Singlish is best, campur bits of AmE, BrE, Cantonese, Hokkien, Malay. Everyone understands you. Try saying "have you a pen?" instead of "borrow me pen can?". The Chinese elicated guy will happily lent his pen if you speak his language.

Aussie English can or not..

"ello there mate! VB?" :D

lianbeng noted most computers use US English so when u type 'colour' u will see a red dotted line under the word but if u type 'color' u dun see it. :D

Lianbeng pls be noted, upon computer or software set up ah, can select language one mah, got US or UK engrish but not Singlish, so tolong tolong pls help me campaign for Singlish to be entered into the ISO, gum sia gum sia..:D

Since when sinkie use english? Broken englisg more like it. Tats why service staff all replaced by pinoys.

prefer Singlish!! haha but use american, you know cos all the series and stuff...

Canada is in a dilemma when it comes to this; Brit because she is part of the Commonwealth, or Yankee, because its her biggest trading partner and just across the border. Spoken, it is Yankee, because most Canucks watch US TV. Written - it doesn't matter as long as one is consistent. For Peesai, it is definitely Singlish, because if you spoke grammatically correct English to a Sinkie, chances are that bloke liak boh kiu. As we go on, it it is bound to lean towards US English because of UK's diminishing influence. (Eg. My Ah Kong smoked Dunhill and B&H, when I was smoking, it was Marlboro, and I say Zee instead of Zed.)

As we go on, it it is bound to lean towards US English because of UK's diminishing influence.

don't give up on british english yet. american tv is going thru' a sea change. simon cowell dominates ratings on talent shows. piers morgan replaces larry king on cnn. nigel lythgoe rules fox reality tv. julie andrews and jane seymour appear regularly on commercials.

I am sure English spoken today in England is different from English used in England during the time of Shakespeare - it is evolving. So with the influence of Hollywood and other Yankee pop culture, England's English is sure to absorb some Yankee tones as we move along.

true. modern british tv drama has so much american cliches and slangs in the dialogue these days. even dressing and hairstyles are very southern californian. while america welcomes british culture, britain welcomes american culture. role reversal.