• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

tv vs spectacle prices - almost fainted!!

where can i get free eyesight test, the kind that can print out all your eye info. before making glasses. i don;t want to walk in to spectacle shop just to take the reading and run away...:o

For long time speckies I think a good optician is a must to ensure a proper prescription. In the past I've tried the cheaper places but I've had problems with getting the wrong prescription, poor workmanship causing the lens to fall off, etc I now go to Isaac. They are expensive but they have an optometrists versus some shops where they have less qualified people on staff.

A better solutions is to bite the bullet & spend $$$ getting a pair with the correct prescription & re-use the prescription to get a more affordable second pair of spectacles in Malaysia or Thailand.

For long time speckies I think a good optician is a must to ensure a proper prescription. In the past I've tried the cheaper places but I've had problems with getting the wrong prescription, poor workmanship causing the lens to fall off, etc I now go to Isaac. They are expensive but they have an optometrists versus some shops where they have less qualified people on staff.

Recall they used to be located at Specialist Centre in the late 70s. Yup, very expensive. Optics Premiere is another safe option.

high density lens. this make your lens thinner and lightly and your pocket bankrupter.

High index lenses make the lense thinner & make sure to get them multi coated(that gives a bluish tinge to glasses).
They have different kinds of high index lenses. If you have the budget you can pay for the thinnest high index lenses.

Recall they used to be located at Specialist Centre in the late 70s. Yup, very expensive. Optics Premiere is another safe option.

They have 2 locations, I go to the one at Clifford Centre. The one that was at Specialist centre moved to Camden Medical Centre & is being run by Stan Isaacs, the son.
Here is their address http://www.isaacs-optom.com/contact.html

I sometimes pop in to tighten my spectacles. I do this now because the last time my spectacles became loose they fell & I had to replace one of the cracked lenses & it was expensive.

High index lenses make the lense thinner & make sure to get them multi coated(that gives a bluish tinge to glasses).
They have different kinds of high index lenses. If you have the budget you can pay for the thinnest high index lenses.

i m considering CRIZAL transitional and pow ka liao lens that cums with warranty and proof certs. but ouch! my pockets gonna hurt!

They have 2 locations, I go to the one at Clifford Centre. The one that was at Specialist centre moved to Camden Medical Centre & is being run by Stan Isaacs, the son.
Here is their address http://www.isaacs-optom.com/contact.html

I sometimes pop in to tighten my spectacles. I do this now because the last time my spectacles became loose they fell & I had to replace one of the cracked lenses & it was expensive.

my lens fell out too when i was washing it with soap. my optician-cum-friend who butchered me twice couldn't even fix it back. finally i suggested superglue which surprisinly did the trick!

One thing I like about like Isaac is that they will will tighten the screws FOC. Old businesses understand that happy customers will be repeat customers. I have been going to them since they were at their original store at the arcade :smile:

I did try other cheaper places but have had problems with lenses falling out & incorrect prescription :(
That's why I have gone back to Isaacs.

I think that your friend is making a mistake. If he's not willing to stand behind his own product then he is going to lose plenty of repeat business.
For example the problem of lenses falling out is an example of poor workmanship. The lens have not been properly cut to fit in the frame. Suggest you look elsewhere for future spectacles

i m considering CRIZAL transitional and pow ka liao lens that cums with warranty and proof certs. but ouch! my pockets gonna hurt!

I was considering Crizal but I read many of the reviews that were mixed. If it was cheaper I might have paid the extra $ to try them. However since they are costly I decided to invest the $ in titanium frames & not in Crizal.

u see thro the lenses and not the frame. the frame is enhance your eyes when u shoot electricity to a chiobu.

I have been using my local optometrist in my hdb estate for decades,,and his customers are all repeat customers. Most of his customers in their 30s has their glasses done by him since they were in school. Price is fair and reasonable. So I dont have problem. However he could not get it right for one of my other school frens..as in the lens. So I guess its an individual thing...

geylangchickenloyangduck

Nah beh..sell ur maid part time at Geylang to cover some costs...but send photo first to ensure she do not affect the overall display of merchandise there.

kingrant

Yr specs not expensive, uncle. The TV is cheap due to discount.
Eyesight lagi more expensive.

Theory of relativity lor.

u see thro the lenses and not the frame. the frame is enhance your eyes when u shoot electricity to a chiobu.

That's a matter of opinion whether a frame is as important? I think having a good frame which is light & strong contributes to the a spectacle user's experience.
Don't forget that some Crizal owner's didn't think it was was worth the added investment & thought that the high price was due to the marketing cost.

My current glasses cost me $900+ so it quite an investment:smile: I may get a backup pair from Bangkok & may take a second look ar Crizal but my priority is to spend the $ on the more expensive higher refraction index lenses. My current pair uses a moderate high refractive index. There is an even more expensive one which is even thinner.

my goodness! so it's really that expensive then!

was chatting with a group of pals over hi-tea just. i asked them about the glasses they were wearing. well, most of them revealed that it cost them a bomb of 4 figures. when i told them that i enquired one with pow ka liao lens n frame, they asked me to recommend the shop and said it was very cheap! :(

singham

your pals either tua kang yao siu or keep up appearance kind...:p

my goodness! so it's really that expensive then!

was chatting with a group of pals over hi-tea just. i asked them about the glasses they were wearing. well, most of them revealed that it cost them a bomb of 4 figures. when i told them that i enquired one with pow ka liao lens n frame, they asked me to recommend the shop and said it was very cheap! :(