bro let me tell u the real reason,after albert wisemeus,dutch economist retired after working for singapore for nearly 20 years,the PAP starting engaging in this type of fuckaroo economics.....why the fark would they use the nation's savings to create such a crazy HDB ponzi bubble?what if one day the bubble were to burst due to mass hysteria say economic downturn and poor market sentiments.....the price of HDB flats will collapse and the hundreds of billions from CPF used to fuel this HDB bonanza will disappear into thin air like the housing crisis USA in 2008 because the "value" of HDB flats is essentially nothing but a few slabs of concrete and "land costs".
basically the government took the sinkies for a joyride took all ur money to play this game of lets see how high we can make the housing market go,lets make everyone a millionaire.....these fucker PAPees need to tried for treason and hang like those bankers in 2008.
Topsage, you have shown the numbers, but you have not exposed anything. Your theory is that once the old guards were replaced, than CPF interest was cut because these old guards were the champions of the people. This is cockameemee bullshit. The old guards were Lee Con You's henchmen and they stood shoulder to shoulder with that asshole to fuck sinkies with the ISD act, lawsuits and bankruptcy against opponents, suppress and terrorize sinkies with their laws, etc. Don't succumb to this type of sentimentalism because the PAP never did. If u think the old guards had the sinkie's best intentions at heart you are dreaming.
Let me tell you the real reason. It has to do with the HDB flat pricing. After 1993, the HDB decided that it will switch to a construction cost based and market land based pricing, even though the HDB never paid anywhere near market price for the land it acquired. Prior to this, the HDB had charged a construction cost based plus land cost (with no markup) when it priced the flats for sale. By using a market land cost, the flats immediately doubled in price from 1993 onwards. At the same time, CPF reduced the interest rate to 2.5% as per your diagram to discourage CPF plan holders from keeping the money in their account and instead use it to pay for their HDB down payments and monthly mortgage payments. CPF holders realized that if they left their money in the account, with the rate of inflation higher than 2.5% (some years it was 6% or more, and some years the inflation rate was double digit) they will have a negative return and it will result in less purchasing power when they retired. If the CPF interest was kept at 6.5%, people will be reluctant to take it out to buy a flat.
By allowing and encouraging the CPF to be used this way, the PAP has be able to charge a much higher price for the flats than could have be done otherwise. So, the question becomes why would the PAP want to raise the price of "affordable" HDB flats this high? The reason is that CPF money represents a liability to the govt. There is easily over several hundred billion $ and govt has to pay it all back upon retirement. To reduce this liability, they can allow things like HDB down payments and mortgage payments to siphon off as much money as possible, hence reducing their obligations.