• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Trouble-shooting my laptop

Bonut

My ASUS has encountered some hiccups which I have difficulties trying to understand.

The laptop is always plugged to adapter and power point. It worked fine for 3 years until not long ago. I could no longer turn on the power simply by the press of button. Slowly, I found a way out. I would need to turn off the adapter and remove the adapter plug from my laptop. I would then insert the adapter plug into my laptop again, turn on the adapter, and the laptop could start (by pressing the button).

I have tried many permutations, and it appears to me that unplugging the adapter plug from my laptop is crucial.

Apart from "switching to a Mac", is that a problem with the adapter or the laptop itself ?

My ASUS has encountered some hiccups which I have difficulties trying to understand.

The laptop is always plugged to adapter and power point. It worked fine for 3 years until not long ago. I could no longer turn on the power simply by the press of button. Slowly, I found a way out. I would need to turn off the adapter and remove the adapter plug from my laptop. I would then insert the adapter plug into my laptop again, turn on the adapter, and the laptop could start (by pressing the button).

I have tried many permutations, and it appears to me that unplugging the adapter plug from my laptop is crucial.

Apart from "switching to a Mac", is that a problem with the adapter or the laptop itself ?

I believe there is the Asus service center Hotline. They are presumed to be the best person to help you out on that.

your laptop has becum too attached to the adaptor. must yank them apart, otherwise too parasitic and symbiotic. :p

I no use battery one. Battery detached from laptop always.
what about your power light on laptop? on or off with adaptor plugged into power? if off, the unplugging and replugging of adaptor acts as a power reset.

Pretty sure no lights even when power turned on initially.

Every time must reset one meh ?

Pretty sure no lights even when power turned on initially.

Every time must reset one meh ?
the polyfuse may be blown. it resets itself after a while. that's what's good about a polyfuse.

I think you just nailed it !

Last time if laptop left idle for 10 minutes, the screen would go off. But if I hit the space bar, it would come back to life. The sleep mode also worked.

But now if screen goes off means must restart liao.

you may have a battery issue. try removing it and replug your anus, oops asus, with adaptor to power socket.

It is surely a power management issue which has 3 areas roughly.

• 1. Battery
  • 2. Power adapter from wall plug
  • 3. Power regulator circuit on laptop motherboard

1. Check by removal of battery, see if it swells, 3 yrs used very likely already dead. Change it
  2. Have multi-meter? measure power adapter check against stated voltage. There are replacement $60 or $80 depending on how much capacity (Watts), not very likely fault for you case - by symptoms said.
  3. Power circuits including charging circuits, protection circuits, voltage regulators to generate internal 12V,5V,3.3V, 2.XV(RAM) 1.XV(CPU), sensors, this is the 2nd likely faulty area, very hard to fix because it is on motherboard, most technician will say change the most expensive board, not worthwhile.
Your symptom is most likely a PROTECTION PHENOMENA, which protection sensed something wrong, and so refused to switch on. You meddled around it, changed the state of sensing and it begin to thing there is nothing wrong, so turned on. Sensors senses various currents, to protect short circuit or overload, senses fan speeds, senses temperatures at various spots, to protect over-heating. senses voltages to know if you are plugged in, to charge or not, to power up or not. A general servicing may remove some simple faults by cleaning up the board thoroughly, lubricate the fans. (USUALLY SLOW OR STOPPED AFTER YEARS), clear up blocked ventilations, align the deformed mechanicals etc.

Common fault with laptops are battery and fans and dirts and MECHANICAL DEFORM / DAMAGES, even there are thousands of different funny symptoms, can all be rooted to these 3 things.

1. Power circuits including charging circuits, protection circuits, voltage regulators to generate internal 12V,5V,3.3V, 2.XV(RAM) 1.XV(CPU), sensors, this is the 2nd likely faulty area, very hard to fix because it is on motherboard, most technician will say change the most expensive board, not worthwhile.
Yeah, this is what I fear. Kanna Robert.

btw, my battery is not attached to the laptop. It died long ago after being left idle on the shelf for a year.

Yeah, this is what I fear. Kanna Robert.

btw, my battery is not attached to the laptop. It died long ago after being left idle on the shelf for a year.

There are too few technicians who will be able to fix faults on the boards, usually they change entire board.

Your battery no inside then very likely the voltages are NOT STABLE enough, since after aging, beyond safety limits to start. Put battery inside is a stabilizer - it is like a big tank of liquid. Or spend $60 change charger box. Sim Lim Sq 3 floor (UF shop) got most models.

There are too few technicians who will be able to fix faults on the boards, usually they change entire board.

Your battery no inside then very likely the voltages are NOT STABLE enough, since after aging, beyond safety limits to start. Put battery inside is a stabilizer - it is like a big tank of liquid. Or spend $60 change charger box. Sim Lim Sq 3 floor (UF shop) got most models.
By "charger box" you mean the adapter, right ?

HTB1LoneGFXXXXX5XXXXq6xXFXXXT.jpg

your laptop has becum too attached to the adaptor. must yank them apart, otherwise too parasitic and symbiotic. :p

Coitus interruptus can do bad bad things and make entities attached very wonky and irritated.
You should have told them softly first before gently removing laptop from adaptor.

try to goto sim lim square level 4 or 5 seek out sinkie repair shop. dont trust the nehs to fix this. but i believe your issue is more with the board so it is unlikely to be worth repairing.