• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

To Sinkie: Free Bus to IR is NOT for you!

MarrickG

rwsbus.jpg

THE Government is investigating the provision of free bus rides in Singapore to the two integrated resorts by their operators.

The probe, announced on Wednesday by the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports (MCYS), is to establish that Singaporeans are not targetted and encouraged to go to the casinos at the integrated resorts (IRs).

It comes amid protests from MPs like Mr Liang Eng Hwa who, in an interview with The Straits Times, said the free rides encouraged Singaporeans in the heartland to gamble at the casinos.

Following queries from The Straits Times, the ministry said in an email reply: 'We are investigating the provision of free transport by the IR operators. The IR operators will not be allowed to target the local market or provide incentives in any form for Singaporeans to patronise the casinos.'

Both IRs provide free bus services. Marina Bay Sands free shuttle is between the resort and Changi Airport and hotels in the Marina Bay area. The free shuttle of RWS are available at two spots in the Central Business District as well as 12 HDB town centres, including Ang Mo Kio, Jurong East, Tampines and Bedok.

When contact, RWS said 'we do not provide special casino incentives to Singaporeans'. It also released its own survey of 2,500 users of the free shuttle and it shows 'more than 60 per cent' do not go to the casino.

Why don't the gahment let people to decide for themselves if they want to gamble.

In Penang, there is a city tour bus which is free. It is supposed to be for the use of tourists but Penangites also do not need to pay ....:)

Why don't the gahment let people to decide for themselves if they want to gamble.

Open your eyes. Casinos are to suck in other people's money, not your own people's money.

Some countries with casinos even ban their own citizens from gambling.

First of all, did Gov say the IRs are not allowed to have free shuttle bus to the heartlands? Giving free shuttle bus doesnt meant it encourage people to gamble leh....

It is just a charade, you think they really bother...how many millions have teh IR collected from SINgaporeans, since the were opened? millions..

Just like raising tobacco tax, have that decreases the number of smoker?, no the youngsters are smoking much more openly that my youngsters of my time; where we steal a cig from dad's pack etc..and mind you cigs were damn cheap then, and os forth.

It is a charade to make more money...like COE to control the car population...and so forth!!

IRs should provide free ride at Raffles Place and Shenton Way instead.

Didn't you read the article, there are already two free shuttles from CBD on weekdays. The stops are at IP, Lau Pa Sat (coach bay) near Wendy's, Tanjog Pagar Plaza bus-stop (opp. Amara Hotel), Buddha tooth temple (coach bay) and Duxton 50-storey busstop. Frequency is 20 mins after noon till about 8 pm I think. refer to RWS website for more details.

Wau lao eh... Want to build IR, still scare this, scare that... Control here, control there....
Might as well don't build in the first place....

Somemore didn't some of the ministers say before... IR is not just casino only... Got shopping, got eating, got meeting, got exhibition.... So take shutter service means go gambling meh...
Maybe those people take the shuttle service go RWS, but actually is want to go into sentosa leh..