• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Time to give traffic police right to tow away illegally parked vehicles

OverTheCounter

It is time to give the traffic police the right to tow away and destroy illegally parked vehicles without any recourse of appeal from the inconsiderate drivers.

illegally parked vehicles may be those that block a rubbish disposal site so that NEA cannot clear the rubbish on time, or those that park next to fire hydrants, or those that block critical entry and exit points. Imagine if there is an emergency -- fire for example -- and people cannot escape because your car is parked illegally at a critical road junction or in front of the only exit of a building. You can literally cause the death of hundreds of lives.

In cases where it is very critical to remove the illegally parked vehicle promptly to avoid endangering the lives of others, the traffic police should be allowed disperse the area and then destroy the vehicle on the spot.

• Pritam Singh

<a class="uiLinkSubtle" href="https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=612691978753119&set=a.355105071178479.84789.211352328887088&type=1"><abbr title="Tuesday, August 20, 2013 at 6:29pm" class="timestamp livetimestamp" data-utime="1376994551">5 hours ago</abbr>

Location: Blk 641/642, Jalan Tenaga. Every now and then I receive feedback from residents from house visits/email that the rubbish collection truck will be blowing its horn for a considerable period of time because a resident/visitor has in...considerately parked their vehicle such that it blocks access to the rubbish collection point. Sleep is broken, and the blissful serenity of the Tenaga cluster is disturbed....sometimes for a rather long period of time. Just a gentle note to all residents to please desist from doing so. Many thanks!

geylangchickenloyangduck

nah beh...u think mata stoopid? tow away all these vehicles put where? some more have to jaga these jaguars, mercs, beemers...sibeh high liability u noe...where got so much NSF lobos to do it?

geylang oso got alot of chickens illegally parking n working leh...how come mata no come n 'tow' away....?

very easily done if the law allows businesses, private owners or community managers such as home owners' association to tow away vehicles at vehicle owners' expense. don't rely on police to do it. towed vehicles take up space, incur cost of towing, storage and admin (as staff is needed to run the storage facility). towing businesses coupled with storage facilities can be created. to retrieve vehicle, owner must pay a huge amount of "nuisance" fee to get a discharge. plus the inconvenience of missing the vehicle for a few hours or days, hunting down the tow company's address, and getting a ride to the address to retrieve the vehicle. better still if towing company has no storage facility and they outsource storage to a junkyard. towed vehicle owner will have to go to tow company's place to do paperwork and pay, and then go to storage company to find car amidst piles of wrecks and retrieve. police facilities will not have enough parking spaces for towed vehicles on a national scale if such policies were to be enacted. too many sinkies with horrible parking habits. demand will outstrip supply. :rolleyes: :biggrin:

too many sinkies with horrible parking habits. demand will outstrip supply. :rolleyes: :biggrin:

When the MNC I was working for way back in the 70s started sending sinkies to the Bay area for training, almost EVERY SINGLE ONE ended up having his/her car towed because they had ignored no parking signs and thought the word "towaway zone" did not actually mean what it said.

Word soon spread amongst the sinkie community there and after about 6 months, every sinkie knew that "TOW" means what it says and they started parking like civilized human beings.

If the same measures were taken in Singapore, the problem would disappear overnight.

The police don't do the towing. It's all subcontracted to the towing companies. It's bread and butter for many.

that's one good thing sg can learn from the bay area, although the bay area has learned many good things from sg.... such as erp. we call it fastrack around here. :biggrin:

anything that pinches the pocketbook and causes personal inconvenience to the perpetrator will help modify bad habits/behavior and enforce compliance. sticking spurs to the sinkie hide is a great lky metaphor. :biggrin:

rushifa666

uncle, carpark under hdb lah. wat traffic police? they should tow it to changi. then the bastards must collect there. shiok

OverTheCounter

Sam Leong, eatshit, et al, you are all too soft.

I did not say "tow away". I said "tow away and destroy".

Those who park vehicles illegally, causing disruption, or endangerment to others, automatically relinquish their property rights to their vehicle permanently.

Sam Leong, eatshit, et al, you are all too soft.

I did not say "tow away". I said "tow away and destroy".

Those who park vehicles illegally, causing disruption, or endangerment to others, automatically relinquish their property rights to their vehicle permanently.

if towed away vehicle goes into heap pile, agree. or it gets impounded and auctioned on the open market, creating an incentive for towing companies to do the hauling. you're da man! :biggrin:

When the MNC I was working for way back in the 70s started sending sinkies to the Bay area for training, almost EVERY SINGLE ONE ended up having his/her car towed because they had ignored no parking signs and thought the word "towaway zone" did not actually mean what it said.

Word soon spread amongst the sinkie community there and after about 6 months, every sinkie knew that "TOW" means what it says and they started parking like civilized human beings.

If the same measures were taken in Singapore, the problem would disappear overnight.

Which BAY? Marina Bay, Gardens By the BAY, Bay of the PIGS?? One of my favorite lunch time entertainment in the past, was to watch motorists parking their cars, outside No 9 Battery Rd or Opposite near Straits Trading building SINgapore. There are huge sign on alternative lamp post that says TOW AWAY ZONE FINE$$$, yet daily you see cars getting TOWED away.

Jalan Tenaga is at Bedok Reservoir Rd....the road had been redirected due to contsruction of a MRT Station...maybe shortage of parking spaces..