Chitchat Time to boycott no straw f&b chains?

FOR FUCK'S SAKE, i am about to go full on berserk mode if another cunt restaurant laughs when they tell me they no longer provides straws. Pls la, u want to save environment? Try walking to work la, sell your fucking car! Oh another way is to be a vegan, cos raising livestock contributes to greenhouse gas emissions. Fuck u if u carry a personal metal straw too!

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/270-fb-outlets-phasing-out-plastic-straws-by-july-1

Twenty-four PastaMania outlets and eight Nando's restaurants, as well as 15 F&B outlets of Spa Esprit Group, including Tiong Bahru Bakery, will also stop giving out straws.

The move is part of a WWF initiative called Plastic Action (Pact), supported by the National Environment Agency and Zero Waste SG.

Mr Kim Stengert, WWF Singapore's chief of strategic communication and external relations, said this is "a strong signal that businesses are starting to take responsibility for the plastics that they use... and we encourage more brands to join".

An estimated 2.2 million straws are used every day in Singapore, according to a 2018 report by consultancy AlphaBeta and social enterprises The Final Straw and the Cyan Project.

sl_palstic_020219_03.jpg

Related Story
How environmentally effective the growing push to forgo plastic bags and straws is
Related Story
No more plastic straws to go with Yakult drinks
Related Story
All 84 KFC outlets to stop providing plastic straws and lids for drinks

The WWF said that by 2050, there could be more plastic in the ocean than fish by weight. Micro plastics have been found in the gut of one out of four fish and in tap water samples. This could have potential implications on human health.

Mr Michael Issenberg, chairman and chief executive officer of Accor Asia-Pacific, said: "Our planet is literally drowning in plastic, with plastic particles now even being found in the water we drink. The time for action is now."

Last June, fast-food chain KFC stopped providing plastic straws and lids for drinks across its 84 outlets in Singapore.

Dining establishments at Resorts World Sentosa have also stopped giving out plastic straws since last October.

WWF Singapore plans to continue working with companies to find solutions on reducing plastic usage.

It's a shame Lee Hsien Loong allowed the environmental justice warriors ('green eco-communists') to dictate national policies. :rolleyes:

All because some 'celebrities' and activists campaigned for it on social media, and therefore it must be true. :roflmao:

McDonald's paper straws cannot be recycled (05 August 2019)
https://www.bbc.com/news/amp/business-49234054

xctvk3dvgmj31.jpg

KNN no plastic bags is worse than no straws campaign especially if the shopper was not aware of it and endup holding the items home KNN

These days everything is penalize u by making u pay more.

U want plastic bag pay for it la! Really a cheebye practise.

already boycott yakult for no straw, now buy vitagen instead

agreed with the thread starter, ban cars lah for personal use this is more bad

Mr Kim Stengert, WWF Singapore's chief of strategic communication and external relations, said this is "a strong signal that businesses are starting to take responsibility for the plastics that they use... and we encourage more brands to join".

If it were up to me, I would immediately abolish the ban on plastic straws and arrest Kim Stengert on charges of corruption. :cool:

Quite frankly, the WWF has no business operating in Singapore: no endangered wildlife. And no sea turtles which they claim the plastic straws harm in the ocean.

Take your petty environmental crusades elsewhere. :rolleyes:

The Earth doesnt need "saving".

It is just that mankind may not be able to live on Earth eventually.

I was at Yellowstone National Park. The whole park was actually a massive volcano that erupted 640,000 years ago!

It pushed ash up into the sky that fertilized the soil all across USA.

What makes us think that Man being around for about 1000 years can affect Earth to kill it? Please. The amount of energy stored in the core is massive.

And if the Earth needed to cool down it would just erupt another massive volcano and the dust will block out the sun for a few hundred years.

This whole save the planet is rubbish.

already boycott yakult for no straw, now buy vitagen instead

Vitagen give 10 straws I still won't buy. Yakult taste nicer leh. Ya but this straw thing is nonsense in Singapore, we generally don't litter into the sea.

Businesses are just using things like this and carbon tax to screw over the consumers.

WWF tcss
So many chemcial plants produce tons of chemical waste how ah?:biggrin:

i've stopped drinking with straws and gone full retard with baby bottles.
1567747230234.png

Want save the world all become freegans and live that lifestyle. Like that life got no meaning already.

The world can't be saved by human efforts, and the planet does not need 'saving'... that is the height of human conceit.

Freegans and hippie tree huggers are more than welcome to have their alternative lifestyle and indulge in their Gaia-worshipping religion, but imposing that as a national policy to inconvenience and impoverish the rest of us and they are instantly our enemies.

Bonus video of hippies in Sinkieland.

Most taxis will leave engine running to let aircon cool taxi while they go makan.

Same for tourist coaches when tourists goes sightseeing or shopping. Because driver sleep inside during that 2 to 3 hrs.

How much CO2 emitted to burn a hole in atmosphere?

going after straws when there are worst pollutions happening. Anyway it only wayang. if the makan establishments dont give out straw for it beverages then dont buy lor.