• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Tiger Airways - Prelude to SMRT Debacle

Credit to forummer SNABlog who pointed in the right direction.

Not many Singaporeans would be aware but all the signs does indicate the Temasek Model is flawed and the symptons in both cases were near identical in nature. The only difference with Tiger was that the impact was limited locally so it did not strike the Singapore psyche as badly as SMRT did.

Tiger Going Down in Flames

Those who have followed Tiger's journey steered by another domineering nutcase by the name of Tony Davis. Here are the similarities
  • Majority stake held by Temasek
  • CEO appointed by Temasek
  • complete disdain for service including ignoring lot of the disabled. Recorded the worse service performance of any airline in Australian history. Reaching a record of 49% satisfaction rating
  • Crew and pilots poorly trained and lack of control. Pilots flew twice below minimum height, twice flew too close to large aircrafts, wrong programme loaded on onboard PC
  • Hired people who have no background in the industry with aviation responsibilities
  • Unprecedented suspension of operator's licence supported by High Court Ruling
  • Pilots required to undergo re-rating (Windsor, please explain complexity and importance)
  • Known industry wide as a rude bastard with a keen nose for the bottom line.
What was the final outcome?
  • Chairman Gerard Ee (yes the same PAP sucker) demoted and replaced by father of SIA JYM Pillay
  • Group CEO Tiger airways Tony Davis demoted to CEO Tiger Airways Australia with incumbent Rix sacked.
  • Tony Davis was finally packaged out
  • 39 year SIA Executive appointed as CEO.
I remember complaining to SIA acquaintances on many occasions about the bad reputation of Tiger as they had a stake in it. They told me that was not a marriage they were part of but dragged into it by Madam from Temasek.

Same framework and model as SMRT with profit crazy nutcase who had no time for service, customers, followed by questionable technical competency. Imagine incurring repeated failures despite warnings. Disgraceful.

And they are both FTs who have no regard for this country but to make money.

You got that right bro. The most powerful person in Singapore and she controls most if not all the government-linked companies. All roads lead to Rome. Her chosen favorites all nicely placed and they have to play the tune she sings. Cross her and you will be a dead duck.

Screw up? No sweat if you are loyal, you will be placed in another position safe and dry. How many had screwed up and now safely ensconced in similar positions but out of the limelight? I know of a few that I had dealings with in the past.

Scroo, Windsor,

Thanks for these valuable insights. People should know this is not the 1st time its happened. Imagine it took so much arm twisting to get public assistance from $330 to $400, and look at how they concurrently milk the system for all the dough.

Precisely, I was baffled how Tiger screwed up so badly with SIA backing it? Almost everything an airline should not be doing they did it. The slew of problems and service-related complaints were ridiculous. I find their service unbearable. I have a feeling SIA has given up hope on Tiger. Scoot is in to put Tiger to sleep forever.

If you check my past posting, I whinged about Tiger for the bad rep that it gave this country. His number 2 at one time was colourful lady from an advertising agency from London and she handled restuarants accounts. How she became a no. 2 in aviation was beyond me. These will not answer the phone. Real arseholes.

Precisely, I was baffled how Tiger screwed up so badly with SIA backing it? Almost everything an airline should not be doing they did it. The slew of problems and service-related complaints were ridiculous. I find their service unbearable. I have a feeling SIA has given up hope on Tiger. Scoot is in to put Tiger to sleep forever.

Singapore's reputation as being the best, no 1 in the world is gone. In a world where china is rising and a country with 1.3billion people hungry for success. Businesses like Tiger, SMRT is going down the drain. When I was in GuangZhou the train system there is highly developed and really reminded me of the SMRT system in its heydays. Can we expect the decline, sinking, crumbling of Singapore's reputation as a first class, well developed country in the future? As others have pointed out, I believe its the political, social, cultural situation in Singapore that needs to be addressed before these problems could be solved. As the late chinese premier said, "It takes 50 years to develop China". He doesn't mean the infrastructure, buildings or physical wealth creation but the social, cultural aspects of the country as well. Can Singapore still do that now that its "infrastructure" seems to be crumbling all over the place.

Well, sinkieland has its 50 years development too.

It takes sinkieland 50 years to made its sinkie citizens to bend down and let them screwed willingly and some even turn back and smile and ask them if they are screwing them comfortably, if not, they can open it wider for them.

To me, that is an amazing feat. I dun think any countries can be its equal, even north korea has to step back a few steps in awe and respect.

SMRT biz how to go down the rain? reputation down the rain yes lah. their biz is monopoly, how to down the rain? anyhow hamtum.

Aother good illustration that its Politics that decide the Economics.
Its the politicans who make policies that ultimately decide the economic/financial outcome of the country.

Silliporeans are now paying for the biggest mistake they ever made-to allow a political party to stay in power for too long and entrench itself .
You can put in the best and brightest in the civil service but ultimately its the political leaders that decide and when you have a 87 year old as the brains of the country with no accountability-it only spells trouble.

Ultimately the Pinoynisation/Indianisation and Mainland Chinanisation of this red dot simply means we will become more and more like Manila, Delhi and Peking-all crammed into a small space with the negative effects multiplied 3 folds.

Things will continue to deteriorate until the day Silliporeans have the balls to kick out these people who discriminate against their own people in favour of foreigners with fake qualifications.

From 60% to 30% in the GE to the PE, there is still some hope yet-but hopefully it wil not be too late for our children.

WAKE UP SILLIPOREANS BEFORE ITS TOO LATE-.

Scoot is to pre-empt Qantas' ambitions to set up a domestic hub in Singapore. With the problems they have down under, it is now on hold but maybe they might go ahead, so expect it to happen.

Tiger Going Down in Flames

• Pilots required to undergo re-rating (Windsor, please explain complexity and importance)
Re-rating happens when you stopped flying for a certain time and lose currency of your license to fly either for reward or leisure. Every pilot has to undergo proficiency tests at stipulated intervals, it can be 6 months or a year depending on the license privileges.

If for some reason he lets the license lapse eg pilot did not take the test or did not fly for a long time due to illness or other reaosns then he has to undergo a test to be re-rated.

Another type of re-rating could be if for example he was flying B747 then converted to B777 and flew the B777 for 10 years, without flying the B747.....then although he was actively flying, but was not flying the B747 so if he wants to fly the B747 again he will need to go for a short recourse of the B747 and some flying recency training followed by flying tests in the simulator and on an actual flight to be re-rated.

The re-rating is required by law, for if no re-rating and he flies, then if there is an accident, insurance will not pay and the operator (airline may close down or suspended like Tiger Air), and the pilot sure to be jailed for the offence committed.

Thanks. One of the things that jolted the Mandarins was the re-rating that was called for the entire flying crew of Tiger. I heard that it was unprecedented and the implication was the competency of the flying crew were clearly questioned. It was obvious that this was downplayed locally but it is frightening thought. I am aware that are MNCs that will not allow their staff to fly Garuda for this very reason.
Re-rating happens when you stopped flying for a certain time and lose currency of your license to fly either for reward or leisure. Every pilot has to undergo proficiency tests at stipulated intervals, it can be 6 months or a year depending on the license privileges.The re-rating is required by law, for if no re-rating and he flies, then if there is an accident, insurance will not pay and the operator (airline may close down or suspended like Tiger Air), and the pilot sure to be jailed for the offence committed.

Thanks. One of the things that jolted the Mandarins was the re-rating that was called for the entire flying crew of Tiger. I heard that it was unprecedented and the implication was the competency of the flying crew were clearly questioned. It was obvious that this was downplayed locally but it is frightening thought. I am aware that are MNCs that will not allow their staff to fly Garuda for this very reason.

I forgot there is another type of re-rating.

At any time, even if you are current, the aviation authority can stop you from flying if they have reasons to believe you are not competent.

They will subsequently release you to fly only after they subject you to tests as required by them ...this also is a re-rating test.

As for Garuda and some other 3ed world airlines, the corruption is quite rampant that safety aspects can be thrown out of the window if enough money is given to close one eye. In the past, PAL too had flights suspended by FAA for non-compliance. Likewise Taiwan with kamikaze former military pilots.:D

Bro Borom,
please allow me to have a small share of whatever hope you think there is remaining, Thank You.

I remember that Tiger Airways was hastily set up back when AirAsia was denied the rights to fly to Singapore. And for no good reason too.

What goes around comes around.

If you look at who owns Tiger Airways, you'd be happy to see it go bust.

Also, I'm glad to have never flown Tiger Airways. You may think that the loss of one person's business may not amount to much, but the power of word of mouth will multiply that.

So, news of SIA hiring Ah neh pilots could mean SIA pilots maybe grounded due to dodgy qualification may not be that far fetched after all?

I forgot there is another type of re-rating.

At any time, even if you are current, the aviation authority can stop you from flying if they have reasons to believe you are not competent.

They will subsequently release you to fly only after they subject you to tests as required by them ...this also is a re-rating test.

As for Garuda and some other 3ed world airlines, the corruption is quite rampant that safety aspects can be thrown out of the window if enough money is given to close one eye. In the past, PAL too had flights suspended by FAA for non-compliance. Likewise Taiwan with kamikaze former military pilots.:D

So, news of SIA hiring Ah neh pilots could mean SIA pilots maybe grounded due to dodgy qualification may not be that far fetched after all?

If they are employed by Singapore entities, I have no doubt they undergo very stringent checks and under their auspices, these FT pilots will have all their papers up to date.

I cannot say for certain the airlines that operate in their countries follow the same rigid rules. Perhaps their local domestic airlines may not be strict, but international airline pilots definitely are qualified.

More important however, are the aircraft themselves. I won't delve too much on this aspect but aircraft. engines and components themselves need to be inspected and signed off as serviceable before the aircraft is allowed to fly. As we all know, there are hundreds of things that can go wrong in an aircraft and you will be surprised of how many aircraft do fly with unserviceable parts or components and some of them originally came from aircraft that had crashed in the past.

Within MNC, there are couple of Airlines that are no go zones for various reasons

- Korea and Taiwan for their military pilot antics and the US habit of using them to test Russian defences which brought down one airline. SIA also had one nutcase ex-RSAF who brought down an airline.

- Airlines using Indonesian and Indian trained pilots

- Ex-Soviet and East European Airlines for their safety issues, parts failure etc.

As we all know, there are hundreds of things that can go wrong in an aircraft and you will be surprised of how many aircraft do fly with unserviceable parts or components and some of them originally came from aircraft that had crashed in the past.

The work behind keeping the aircraft serviceable can be costly. I really wonder how our neighbouring countries budget airlines survive without compromising on maintenance and quality aspects. And some have been mushrooming and expanding like nobody business. Where did they get the money to stay afloat? I took Airasia before and the interior was shabby and there were lots of creaking noise as if some joints were on the verge of breaking apart. It was a scary experience. I still prefer SQ. Even the Japs prefer SQ.

If you check my past posting, I whinged about Tiger for the bad rep that it gave this country. His number 2 at one time was colourful lady from an advertising agency from London and she handled restuarants accounts. How she became a no. 2 in aviation was beyond me. These will not answer the phone. Real arseholes.

SQ had a close shave too. They brought in the white horse as No. 2 man. Although his background had something to do with aviation, it was after all a military outfit with no pressure to fight for survival as opposed to commercial aviation where stiff business competition and unpredictable external environment can end up breaking the ricebowls of hundreds and thousands of workers. FORTUNATELY he was not picked to take the top seat when Chew C S stepped down. Instead someone leapfrogged him to take that seat. It was a good move. If not SQ's future would be screwed up darn bad. Good for him and good for SQ. :)