'Thousands' of Singaporeans shopping in JB driving up food, rental prices: Johor chief minister

Nanodick

Stupidman

'Thousands' of Singaporeans shopping in JB driving up food, rental prices: Johor chief minister​

'Thousands' of Singaporeans shopping in JB driving up food, rental prices: Johor chief minister

Over 10 million foreign tourists visited Johor from January to May this year, with around 7.9 million from Singapore.
PHOTO: AsiaOne file
PUBLISHED ON July 15, 2025 1:22 PM
BY Ching Shi Jie

www.asiaone.com
The influx of Singaporeans flocking into Johor Bahru (JB) for grocery runs is pushing up the cost of living there, said Johor Chief Minister Onn Hafiz Ghazi.

Speaking at a business forum in JB on Sunday (July 13), The Star reported that he pledged to tackle inflation in Johor as the state moves towards achieving developed status by year 2030.

Onn Hafiz noted that living in JB is becoming more expensive than anywhere else in Malaysia.

"Thousands of Singaporeans cross the Causeway, especially on weekends, to do their grocery shopping here, and we are seeing food and rental prices going up," he said.

"A plate of nasi lemak with fried chicken here is around RM9 (S$3), while the same dish in Kuala Lumpur costs only RM7. That clearly shows Johor is becoming more expensive."

Addressing Malaysia's business community on Sunday, Onn Hafiz also pointed out that property prices in JB are "already higher than some in Singapore".

This is due to housing projects in the state selling "like hotcakes", he said, adding that more affordable housing needs to be developed for locals.

"The reason I am raising this is because I know I cannot do this alone. We must work together to make Johor, and Malaysia as a whole, more prosperous," said Onn Hafiz.

The Johor chief minister added that is administration is working on a mechanism to cool inflation without choking off growth, reported the Malay Mail.

More than 10 million foreign tourists visited Johor between January and May this year, with a bulk of them — about 7.9 million — coming from Singapore, according to figures from Tourism Johor.

That is 1.8 million more compared to the same period in 2024.

'Thousands' of Singaporeans shopping in JB driving up food, rental prices: Johor chief minister​

'Thousands' of Singaporeans shopping in JB driving up food, rental prices: Johor chief minister'Thousands' of Singaporeans shopping in JB driving up food, rental prices: Johor chief minister

Over 10 million foreign tourists visited Johor from January to May this year, with around 7.9 million from Singapore.
PHOTO: AsiaOne file
PUBLISHED ON July 15, 2025 1:22 PM
BY Ching Shi Jie

www.asiaone.com
The influx of Singaporeans flocking into Johor Bahru (JB) for grocery runs is pushing up the cost of living there, said Johor Chief Minister Onn Hafiz Ghazi.

Speaking at a business forum in JB on Sunday (July 13), The Star reported that he pledged to tackle inflation in Johor as the state moves towards achieving developed status by year 2030.

Onn Hafiz noted that living in JB is becoming more expensive than anywhere else in Malaysia.

"Thousands of Singaporeans cross the Causeway, especially on weekends, to do their grocery shopping here, and we are seeing food and rental prices going up," he said.

"A plate of nasi lemak with fried chicken here is around RM9 (S$3), while the same dish in Kuala Lumpur costs only RM7. That clearly shows Johor is becoming more expensive."

Addressing Malaysia's business community on Sunday, Onn Hafiz also pointed out that property prices in JB are "already higher than some in Singapore".

This is due to housing projects in the state selling "like hotcakes", he said, adding that more affordable housing needs to be developed for locals.

"The reason I am raising this is because I know I cannot do this alone. We must work together to make Johor, and Malaysia as a whole, more prosperous," said Onn Hafiz.

The Johor chief minister added that is administration is working on a mechanism to cool inflation without choking off growth, reported the Malay Mail.

More than 10 million foreign tourists visited Johor between January and May this year, with a bulk of them — about 7.9 million — coming from Singapore, according to figures from Tourism Johor.

That is 1.8 million more compared to the same period in 2024.
I'm going soon. But cannot announce which day. Otherwise, my ex-mentor will stalk me at Mid Valley Southpoint.

This CM anti business? I thought anything good for local economy is good for the state.

When their SG tourist numbers go down, they tried to use various ways to attract us to go there to boost their economy.

Now boost already blame us for causing inflation LOL.

PAP open leg to loads of foreigners to up cost of living for Singaporeans. Singaporeans hoot JB to up cost of living of jiuhukias. :biggrin:
Johoreans are not going to be grateful to S'poreans for stimulating their economy by spending our Sing dollars over there. They are only going to blame us for driving up their rental rates and cost of living. This is no different from how S'poreans feel about foreigners (especially CECAs) driving up our cost of living.

He is talking cock. If he doesn't want Sinkies to be shopping in JB, then why did Malaysia approved the RTS? Clearly this will make this situation even worse.
It is the oldest trick in the book for Malaysian politicians to make S'pore the bogeyman.

S'poreans should show more pride by shopping online instead of going over to JB to be blamed for causing traffic congestion, overcrowding, spike in prices of goods and services, rental hikes etc.

When u move there. Let me know. I buy 1 beside u.
I'm going to stay in Johor Bahru for 1 night. This time bring lao lang to stay in a 5-star hotel using my 躺平 secret code.

Now quite sianz Mid Valley Southkey liao. Must look for new shopping centres. :roflmao:

Any hokai siao ? Paradigm hosay boh ?

I'm going to stay in Johor Bahru for 1 night. This time bring lao lang to stay in a 5-star hotel using my 躺平 secret code.

Now quite sianz Mid Valley Southkey liao. Must look for new shopping centres. :roflmao:

Any hokai siao ? Paradigm hosay boh ?
Nice!

S'poreans should show more pride by shopping online instead of going over to JB to be blamed for causing traffic congestion, overcrowding, spike in prices of goods and services, rental hikes etc.
Malaysia good for buying medicine and food, electronics and other products buy from USA China, heavy home appliances that can't be delivered from overseas buy locally