This grad, 27, is the towkay

RonRon

alhawker.jpg

alhawker1.jpg

SHE is often mistaken for a helper who cleans the tables at Wei Wei Canteen.

What the customers don't realise is that 27-year-old Su Weiying is the boss of the canteen located at Bedok North St 5.

Said Miss Su with a laugh: "They often think the uncle who makes coffee is the boss, and I'm a helper he hired to serve coffee."

The National University of Singapore's real estate graduate started her venture into the business just five months ago.

As its sole owner, she also paid a five-figure sum to the previous owner to take over the canteen and everything in it including the fixtures and furniture.
alhawker2.jpg

5 figure sum for coffeeshop is damn cheap. coffeeshop owner are all millionair

just 5-figure sum only ???!!!

This looks like a factory canteen. With the asking rent for food stalls at just $500 a month, how good can biz be? She is already in biz for 5 months but still struggling to fill the stalls. I cannot comprehend why she want to spread her resources thin by going into another biz venture with an elderly couple to setup a fishball noodle stall in Toa Payoh. If the elderly couple is good, why would they need her $5k investment plus no reason for her to pay market rent for the new stall when she is sitting on vacant ones in her canteen. She seems to be totally clueless about how to run her biz and I am worry for her.

The five figure is to buy over the business. New owner walks in and old owner walks out and the price includes goodwill, fixtures and stock. What the report did not mention is the monthly rental that is paid to HDB/JTC etc and its about 5 figures as well. The bulk of the money comes from drinks which no coffeeshop owner will hand over as the margins are very high. The typical operating model now days is the get the individuals stall holders to fork out enough rentals to cover the overall rent and all outgoings. Drinks alone at an average HDB coffeeshop is close to $40K after costs.

The rental of coffeeshops in HDB is part of PAP politics and it is a closed game. Coffeeshop owners understand what is required of them by the PAP and nearly all are PAP members.

All this does not apply to coffeeshops in private property.

I won't be surprised if her family is already in the business as they can't sell openly. All have ti be screened at a very level.

5 figure sum for coffeeshop is damn cheap. coffeeshop owner are all millionair

This looks like a factory canteen. With the asking rent for food stalls at just $500 a month, how good can biz be? She is already in biz for 5 months but still struggling to fill the stalls. I cannot comprehend why she want to spread her resources thin by going into another biz venture with an elderly couple to setup a fishball noodle stall in Toa Payoh. If the elderly couple is good, why would they need her $5k investment plus no reason for her to pay market rent for the new stall when she is sitting on vacant ones in her canteen. She seems to be totally clueless about how to run her biz and I am worry for her.

If factory the furniture like table and chair is provided by the factory. Some even provide whole complete canteen free electricity and water . The operator just need to provide manpower, ingredient and in return will charge less for food

This lady boss will soon marry PPS to PM. Then become MP in GRC. Last PPS now PS. If current PPS is married, he will get a divorce to marry this lady boss.

$500 per month for renting her stall ? you mean 15years ago ? nowaday in singapore can find $500 for stall rental ?

Business is difficult in Sinkapore nowadays. Rent, labour, cost etc.

$500 per month for renting her stall ? you mean 15years ago ? nowaday in singapore can find $500 for stall rental ?
Maybe primary school canteen still can find? But then must sell food at fraction of the price outside.

At least she dare to do it and that will make it better than most sinkies especially those in this forum. If she makes a mistake, nvm, learn from it and become better. This kind of spirit makes it better than those trained from school to not make any mistake and think so much of the pro and cons till 100 years later and still deciding if she should go ahead.

What's the big deal? You can start any business at any age if you have the money. If someone gives you the money, you can blow it all and don't suffer any consequences.

She has more balls than most Sinkie men, that we can be sure of. :)

What's the big deal? You can start any business at any age if you have the money. If someone gives you the money, you can blow it all and don't suffer any consequences.

not true ..i have a friend who strike 4d first prize but end of the day he rather keep his winning in bank ...he afraid he lose everything in businesss venture .

The coffee shop business is a good business to get involved in

It's very very worthwhile to invest in a coffee shop, IF you can find one

WIth normal real estate rental yields, especially high end condos, you would be lucky to get 3.5 to 4% p.a. but with a coffee shop you could be looking at 25% p.a., that does not even include your own profit from operating the drinks stall yourself

It's a VERY good investment, just that people think it's a "dirty" business

not true ..i have a friend who strike 4d first prize but end of the day he rather keep his winning in bank ...he afraid he lose everything in businesss venture .

Maybe he like me, only bet $1 and win $2000 only? :o