• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The story of a (financially) poor Ang Moh in Singapore

Its the govt intention to driver sinkie PMET to jobs off limits from non sinkie....cabby

Vivian must call bluff on angmo fairy tale...recycling leftover food at hawker,free food at buddhist welfare lodge or sell backside, please show yourself in public.

All the pioneer bs, workfare bonus hs, have the ever take a stance on the Nsmen reservist call up?

Here was a guy coming from a completely different situation than mine. While I was dealing with a bad economy, he was dealing with a hyper-competitive homeland where top professionals are more or less forced to look elsewhere for employment that pays them more fairly.

HAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHAHAAHAHA

Ah neh land got too many talented people so he must come to sinkieland to work?? now I've heard everything!!!

Fucking chao ah neh... die die also want face.

Btw i can see the purpose of having an ang moh's perspective on being poor in sg. Notice how he mentioned that not all ang mohs are rich and fly in first class in some suit but let's face it compared to all other foreigners they are still richer and looked highly upon.

Trust me... with 2 more ang mor accounts of how expensive sinkieland life is, Pap will start to introduce welfare system here. Becos ang mors are the best!

Those backpacker hostels at Dunlop St, Mayo Rd are full of cheapskate foreign trash.. They're not tourists but coming here to find jobs..

Good what? Since stinkees like to get fuck by pappies and fts. Let it be lor.

Paiseh, limpeh prefer to fuck angmohs than let fts fuck.

Tonychat is right all along.

What is more unbelievable is that the indian chap gave angmo $100/-.. angmo could be hiding what the indian had done to give hm the Money....

That night when everyone asleep, Ang Moh put his head under the Ah Neh's blanket.. The blanket then mysteriously moved in a bobbing manner..

This is most definitely NOT written by an American.
For example:
Americans will use the phrase "ugly ass luggage" instead of "damn ugly luggage".

Americans don't use the phrase "secondhand". They call it "used". For example instead of "secondhand car" , they called it "used car"

This is not the first time I caught a singlish speaker masquerading as a foreigner in the forum.

Why he or she is doing this, I do not know.

Why are we getting these foreign trash into the country?

These people are obviously too fucked to get decent jobs in their own countries.

This white trash is a joke; he could not find a job in his homeland and thought SG is a paradise. Why did PAP allow such trash to compete for jobs in this country with the locals? Seriously, the locals should remember this story and the PAP when GE2016 comes around.

This is most definitely NOT written by an American.
For example:
Americans will use the phrase "ugly ass luggage" instead of "damn ugly luggage".

Americans don't use the phrase "secondhand". They call it "used". For example instead of "secondhand car" , they called it "used car"

This is not the first time I caught a singlish speaker masquerading as a foreigner in the forum.

Why he or she is doing this, I do not know.

The angmo in question did claim that he been here for couple of years...maybe singlish caught on to him liao

I am confused. Was this dude here in Singapore on tourist visa? How the heck did he manage to stay on for so long to search for jobs? If he was on tourist visa, did he not violate the terms of the tourist visa by seeking for employment?

How can this be happening....wat the hell is ICA doing?

Nothing surprising, mate. Any PR can stay in this country for donkey years without doing NS as long as does not get convicted in court for any offences. FTsh are indispensable to the PAP.

It has already come to a time that so many FTs can secured a job much more easily than local S'poreans, something is very wrong with our society.
We local S'poreans cannot even earn enough to survive, feed ourself and family members but yet all these job which can be done by the locals are given away to Fts.
We ended up driving taxis, security guards and hawker cleaners? What's the point of giving so much budget to education then? Might as well save it and give it out
to the poor.

Ang moh flew thousands of miles from california to end up like some starving refugee right here so what are we supposed to feel? It's like flying from singapore to say some african country or 3rd world shit hole and then living like some beggar. You know how far singapore is from the US. Suffice to say air fares will be more expensive. This nigger ang moh would have had it better if he decided to fly somewhere closer to home. He clearly dug his own grave.

It would have been better if it was about some local low income family in singapore that was born right here rather than some dumb foreigner from some far away land. They probably should go interview some sinkies that flew thousands of miles to a 3rd world shit hole far away. Maybe say in mexico and brazil trying to find a job there. You see how stupid that sounds.

SG is now the economic refugee camp of the world. All FTsh love SG, thanks to the PAP. Why do we have to fight for jobs in this country with foreigners?

Idiocy Kills

As the days went by, I got to know the people around me. Many were Filipinos looking for work just like me, but most of them ended up leaving within two-weeks empty-handed. I struck up a friendship with an Indian national named “Kumar,” who slept on the top bunk opposite mine.

Here was a guy coming from a completely different situation than mine. While I was dealing with a bad economy, he was dealing with a hyper-competitive homeland where top professionals are more or less forced to look elsewhere for employment that pays them more fairly.

While I was acting more like a tourist instead of a serious job-seeker, sending my resume and portfolio to only a few companies in the morning, and sightseeing the rest of the day, he was sending them out nonstop.

After about 3 weeks, that’s when I started to get worried. I had only received one email back and my wallet was getting much lighter. I had completely underestimated how difficult it would be find employment here.

If I could compare my idiocy to anything, it would be to how the British completely underestimated the Imperial Japanese Army during the Battle of Singapore (something I learned from a history-loving cab driver who was kind enough to enlighten me about Singapore history).

The only difference was that my ass was the one getting kicked – by the tough Singapore job market.

By then, I figured that I probably wasn’t going to get a job unless I started being more like Kumar. So I booked another month, leaving me with about $150. I panicked! But Kumar helped me get my act together so I could plan my spending with the money I had left and put my job search into overdrive.

1. You Will Suffer

At the time, I was a young, 25-year old in good shape. But making the switch from a lifetime of eating 2 or 3 meals a day to one meal a day at the Indian vegetarian stall downstairs ($2.50-$4.50) was pretty traumatic.

You never really get used to the stomach pains and constant growling that comes from not getting enough to eat.

I would actually buy bread to snack on if I wanted to quiet my stomach temporarily. If I ate particularly cheap one day, I would get myself a jar of jam or kaya to make snack time more flavorful. Kumar would also offer me some of the snacks he had (even though he was on a tight budget too), but I was too full of pride to accept more than half the time.

One thing is for sure, I was definitely was not getting the 2,000 calories nutritionists recommend for daily health.

I wouldn’t say I was starving, but I was losing weight. By time time my hard efforts finally landed the interview that got me my first job in Singapore, I had gone from about 72kg to 65kg.

2. You Will Need Support

That $150 dollars I had leftover barely lasted me the month. But by then I still had not landed a job, even though I was diligently searching for one.

I was broke. I was hungry. I was f****d.

My foolish hubris had put me in this situation. And I had to find a way to dig myself out of it. I was too far invested in my job search to turn back now. To borrow a line from my least favorite U.S. President, who got us involved in some unnecessary wars; I had to “stay the course.”

I had no choice but to pawn the only other thing of value besides my laptop, which I needed to continue my job search, my beloved Nikon D90 kit. To a designer, having to part from a high-quality camera is like having to eat your precious pet dog to keep from starving.

I guess I should put this under “suffering” too.

Unfortunately, I still had little money to pay for food after using the $500+ I got for my camera to pay for another month at the hostel. That’s when Kumar handed me $100, refusing to take it back because he felt I needed it more. At that moment, $100 had never meant so much to me in my entire life.

He just did what any decent human being would do – no, what any real friend would do.

-Steve

HAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHAHAAHAHA

Ah neh land got too many talented people so he must come to sinkieland to work?? now I've heard everything!!!

Fucking chao ah neh... die die also want face.

Not only that you go and read the part about the neh sharing his food and lending or giving him $100. Shits skins are snakes and so selfish that would never have happened in 1000000 years. Fake story.

I am curious to what job this fella finally landed. I sort of gathered he was some kind of web designer or something. Surely this kind of job Singaporeans can do easily. Why the fuck do we need to hire an angmoh to do web design?
Because ANG MO TUA KEE