The standard of service from the civil/government services

Jan 7, 2025, 01:53pm
smrtmain.jpg

Cherlynn Ng
Submitted by Stomper
Emmanuel
A man was caught on camera verbally abusing staff at Redhill MRT station.

He was upset that they did not tell him about an escalator not working, which apparently caused him to walk to and fro in vain.

Stomper Emmanuel shared a video of the incident that occurred on Dec 26, 2024, at around 3.35pm.

He recounted: "I witnessed the man verbally abusing and shouting vulgarities at the employee.

"He was fussing over the escalator being broken down and having to walk long distance. But I don't see this is how is the worker's fault."
In the video, the man can be seen raging at a female employee, with a male colleague standing behind her, at the passenger service counter.

The man is heard using the F-word and saying, "Give warning to people, you know? Tell people you are repairing the escalator. I don't have to walk back here, then walk back to the staircase. You understand what I'm saying?"

When the employee tried to explain, the man responded: "You only put (the) way out. You didn't say the escalator is under repair.

"If you are from the other end, the other end, the other, you know the other end? Go and have a look later. I didn't see, ok? I was walking, then walk until the escalator, escalator (under) repair, I got to walk back to the staircase."

The video ends with the man saying, "I said this is not the first time, ok? It's either stupid or you guys just can't be bothered, ok?"

Emmanuel told Stomp: "I am quite angry that he shouted and insulted the workers as they were already trying their best to help him. People should honestly learn to be more gracious and appreciative."

Stomp has contacted SMRT for more info.

U dare scold silver serpents or service providers, they all siao siao lan lan let U fuck shiok shiok. No consequences no law as long as U dare ... the zhenghu, service providers and silver serpents all will bend down let U f shiok shiok one. No believe ask the Malai Encik in the report lah :whistling:

Forum: Minimise construction noise for better HDB living​

Dec 20, 2024

Despite numerous complaints and regulatory efforts, excessive noise pollution from construction activities in densely populated HDB estates remains a significant and unresolved issue.

I’ve noticed this in areas like Choa Chu Kang/Teck Whye, where projects such as the construction of new electrical switch rooms, addition and alteration of drop-off porches, and improvement works to surface carparks continue to disrupt residents’ peace.

A primary culprit is the use of noisy excavator-mounted concrete breakers, without adequate consideration for quieter alternatives. While the National Environment Agency (NEA) has implemented noise regulations, enforcement and accountability remain inadequate, further exacerbating the situation, leaving residents to bear the brunt of the noise pollution.

I have repeatedly raised concerns about this issue through letters to The Straits Times Forum, and feel that more can be done.

To address this persistent problem, we must:

– Strengthen enforcement: The NEA should impose stricter penalties for noise violations and hold the employers, and consultants, besides the contractors, accountable for adhering to noise regulations.

– Promote quieter construction: Prioritise environmentally friendly construction methods and encourage the adoption of quieter technologies. Explore alternative tools and techniques such as stitch coring, low-noise hydraulic breakers or silenced models designed for urban or noise-sensitive areas, to reduce noise pollution without compromising efficiency.

– Leverage the Quieter Construction Innovation Fund: The NEA should actively promote the use of this fund to incentivise the adoption of quieter construction practices.

Government agencies, contractors and policymakers must work together to address this pressing issue.

Residents in HDB estates deserve a peaceful living environment, free from the relentless disruption caused by excessive construction noise.

Loong Chik Tong

as long as the construction is government projects .... then its called NATIONAL DEVELOPMENT ... then all the contractors in these projects are above NEA and Government LAWS ... be is noise or pollution or die people also nobody can touch or disturb them .... all the NEWS reports over the years have proved this .... so no point complaining something that your voted government had repeated show U they dont care. :whistling:

Forum: Improve signage at MRT stations to point to tourist attractions​

Jan 07, 2025

Recently, I was at Napier MRT station where I came across multiple instances of tourists who were heading to the Singapore Botanic Gardens but were lost at ground level after they came out of the station.

I helped a couple of them by showing the way.

I realised that the ground-level signage in and around the MRT station could be improved. There is a very subtle icon of some plants to indicate the way to the Botanic Gardens, but no accompanying text. In another instance, the sign was completely hidden behind a glass panel.

I also find that at many MRT stations – like Bayfront, Marina Bay and Promenade – printed papers are used to indicate directions to tourist attractions. While this is helpful, it does show poor planning.

Can we do better with directional signage for tourist attractions in and around MRT stations?

Rahul Gupta