• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The real reason why covid19 mortality is low in SG.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Sinkies are shorties!

https://calgarysun.com/health/talle...Social&utm_source=Facebook#Echobox=1596069883

COVID-19Local Marketing Grant ProgramLearn More >

Calgary SUN

Taller people at higher risk of contracting coronavirus: Survey
health-coronavirus-canada-education-e1594563464288-1.jpg

Christinne Muschi / REUTERS
Postmedia NewsMore from Postmedia News
Published: July 29, 2020
Updated: July 29, 2020 2:53 PM MDT
Filed Under:
Share this story
Taller people may be more likely to be diagnosed with the coronavirus, according to a new survey.

The survey involving 2,000 U.K. and U.S. residents looked at whether personal attributes, work and living practices might play a role in the virus’ transmission.
It found that people over six feet tall were more than twice as likely to be diagnosed with the coronavirus.
Researchers believe that this suggests that the virus is transmitted via “aerosol transmission,” rather than droplets alone.

“The results of this survey in terms of associations between height and diagnosis suggest downward droplet transmission is not the only transmission mechanism and aerosol transmission is possible,” professor Evan Kontopantelis, of the University of Manchester, told the Manchester Evening News.
TRENDING IN CANADA
1.gif

Navy commander addresses readmission of sailor with…
Commander Joseph Banke of HMCS Tecumseh Naval Reserve in southwest Calgary addresses sailors in an internal video related to the readmission of Boris Mihajlovic, who has known neo-Nazi ties.

STORY CONTINUES BELOW
This advertisement has not loaded yet,
but your article continues below.

Aerosols are smaller than droplets and can accumulate in poorly ventilated areas and are carried by air currents. They could travel farther than droplets which are typically transmitted through coughing, sneezing or talking.

“Though social distancing is still important because transmission by droplets is still likely to occur, it does suggest that mask wearing may be just as if not more effective in prevention,” Kontopantelis said.

CommentsShare your thoughts

RELATED POSTS
TOP STORIES

THIS WEEK'S FLYERS

COMMENTS

We encourage all readers to share their views on our articles and blog posts. We are committed to maintaining a lively but civil forum for discussion, so we ask you to avoid personal attacks, and please keep your comments relevant and respectful. If you encounter a comment that is abusive, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report spam or abuse. We are using Facebook commenting. Visit our FAQ page for more information.

Share this storyTaller people at higher risk of contracting coronavirus: Survey

CONNECT WITH CALGARY SUN
© 2020 Postmedia Network Inc. All rights reserved. Unauthorized distribution, transmission or republication strictly prohibited.

It's thanks to PAP Gan Kim Yong's leadership that most covid victims in Singapore survive. If you were living in Dotard or Borisland, you would likely be dead from covid. Majulah PAP!

Majority of our COVID patients are.... *drum roll*

Foreign Workers...
That is only because they are tested in large numbers.
Same test not done to local public so extent of infection among local population is unknown and maybe PAP prefer it that way. Divert blame from china to india.

I am amazed at how the media has been able to sustain this narrative and keep the panic porn going for 4 long months. I honestly underestimated them. I thought the story would die in less than 3 months after the world realised that it was actually no big deal.

nirvarq

MiWs managed to keep the fear off the peasants yet contained it by recycle the FW to keep up the numbers yet secretly donating their salaries to the people, such honorable & compassionate leaders. We should be eternally indebted, PAP Banzai ~~ !

tobelightlight

MiWs managed to keep the fear off the peasants yet contained it by recycle the FW to keep up the numbers yet secretly donating their salaries to the people, such honorable & compassionate leaders. We should be eternally indebted, PAP Banzai ~~ !
Fear is the key thing in this pandemic. The cabal media is doing their best to keep the fear going. However, more pple are waking up day after day on the fake fear the media is churning out.

nirvarq

QUOTE : It found that people over six feet tall were more than twice as likely to be diagnosed with the coronavirus.

Hallelujah, no fear ! Mai hum mai scared. We Boomers and old farts are all going to hide 6ft underground soon, forever. Going to book tickets nao... !

Pls PM @samleong for group bookings for discount knowing we kaisu Sinkies.... lol

Asterix

Conclusion:

Ah Loong more likely to get Covid than Wong Kan Seng, Khaw or Not my President.

tobelightlight

QUOTE : It found that people over six feet tall were more than twice as likely to be diagnosed with the coronavirus.

Hallelujah, no fear ! Mai hum mai scared. We Boomers and old farts are all going to hide 6ft underground soon, forever. Going to book tickets nao... !

Pls PM @samleong for group bookings for discount knowing we kaisu Sinkies.... lol
i wonder if you believe this tall pple get virus easier fake fear article. If you have a strong immune system, you don't have to worry much at all.

nirvarq

i wonder if you believe this tall pple get virus easier fake fear article. If you have a strong immune system, you don't have to worry much at all.

Honestly ?

I cbf about this entire covid thing i'm enjoying it actually because the fauna and flora is rejuvenating, a rare chance taking the existing situation of an over exploited earth.
When i sees the weak small sparrows chirping happily away i'll laff-die-me at the ignorance of the present conscious stage of awareness of humanity.

Secondly my business is not affected but increased. I also believe this covid thingy started in the US since Oct as they actually have the original first strains of molecular cells of Covid there and overwhelming 'seasonal flu' deaths were reported then.

There was no travel restriction then and the spread is already at large but only need a catalyst to start the fear mongering through Social Media ofc i also understand the 'agenda' to push the blame to China as it's rising too quickly + the ever ongoing 'USA/China rivalry' and also China is also trying to spread it worldwide they're not that 'innocent' too, in fact none of the authorities is lol............ Same as here at one hand they drum up the dangers hence to extend the LOCKDOWN/CB yet kept importing the infected.

I understand the balancing act of economy vs safety too, so it is what it is. If everyone act more responsibly and more enterprising, SG or any Cuntry would have the winning edge over others it's just the Nature of how things work. We have our strength being kiasi kiasu hence a peaceful 'Safe Havens' for investors and healthcare seekers but also we have the downside of it, nothing is perfect. Balance is key !

Then my family and i all have bad stubborn-to-heal sore throats/fever/flu symptoms during Nov/Dec timeline.
We went to few doctors still can't heal up they said it's a seasonal viral thingy. We and many are highly probably immune now.

Locals here are living in highly congested environment the actual spread is super fast but at early times we didn't have the fear factor and given our robust healthcare systems if you look at our infected and death rate of 27 (15 imported) and none in Critical since May, rate of infections in the community you'll have a rough idea how and why we're spared the 'slaughter' while other Cuntries suffers is it not ?

Yes ultimately it's all about immunity. Hence the saying 'The meek (the kiasi kiasu / prudent ones) will inherit the earth'. lol........ :P <3