• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The problem of conflating race & religion is a problem even in multi-racial & multi-religious Singapore, especially if you're mixed race-religion

UltimaOnline

This post is based on an article from a couple of years back, but either it was from a now-defunct website (eg. TRS), or the article has been taken down, or Google just can't find it.

The next closest article of relevance is : https://mothership.sg/2019/04/indian-muslim-in-singapore/

indian-muslim-stall.png

One of the problems facing such mixed race-religion, eg. Indian-Muslim, has to do with Mendaki and Sinda.

The now-defunct article featured a couple of such Singaporean mixed race-religion, including an Indian-Muslim Singaporean woman who complained that she has to donate to both Mendaki and Sinda, but when she applied for financial assistance from them, both rejected her :

Mendaki : You're not Malay, so we can't help you, you should go ask Sinda for help.

Sinda : You're Muslim, so we can't help you, you should go ask Mendaki for help.

When it comes to race and religion, being a mixed race-religion, isn't the best of both worlds, it's the worst of both worlds, being rejected by both communities.

All these organisation formed to create costs. Just one national organisation with economies of scale and help Singaporeans. Less costs, no need to have all these KPKB nonsense. Lol :biggrin:

KNN while she was donating to both she must be thinking can get help from both in future KNN but even a chinese donated to cdac might not be able to get help when the need arises KNN

fummy thing our dear inidian president has a govt. backed committee to legally qualify her as Malay.
How msny times must repeat and repeat. Anybody who practise malay customs and is a muslim is considered a malay as defined in the constitution. That includes thus ang moh below.

Now if the chinese had done the same, there would not be any problems.

nightsafari

How msny times must repeat and repeat. Anybody who practise malay customs and is a muslim is considered a malay as defined in the constitution. That includes thus ang moh below.

Now if the chinese had done the same, there would not be any problems.
roundabout definition no? Malays are genetically interesting as are their Islamic Arab counterparts. To conflate the two however is quite illogical despite the constitutionally accepted definiton.