• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The politics thread :)

DREAMorACTION

Re: Living in JB 3 (Johore)

Engineering is not dead. Manufacturing is still needed. Think bro funds transfer shared tis earlier on.
Singaporean engineers r jumping out of engineering becuz they get better package in other sector. Lots of my peers wif engineering qualification r now in finance, service n others ...

butadesu

Engineers are at the bottom of the food chain.
Fund management (financial management, investment consultant) are higher in food chain.

Lets take Hard disk for example. Hard disk capacity is getting bigger and bigger year after year and more and more complicated. But price is getting cheaper. So in engineering, it is always about cheaper, better, faster.
On the other hand, take any financial product that a financial adviser tries to sell you. The return is getting lesser and lesser, risk is getting higher and higher. But their bonus is getting more and more.

Singapore doesn't believe in using engineering to create value anymore. Innovation in engineering is not wanted in Singapore. What Singapore wants is financial innovation. Financial innovation like creating derivatives that no one understand. haha.

Singapore just want to import engineers from China, IT specialist from Indian to fill up the lower food chain so that they can keep the older blue collar workers employed. It is a noble cause by PAP.

arsenal

Wow.. You managed to write out what I am thinking...
Engineering schools in NUS and NTU are the dumping ground... With cheap foreign engineers filling up the entry level engineering jobs, firstly the pay is suppressed.. Secondly within 5-8 years, we will lose the skill edge to have any respectable local engineers... At the end all want to be bankers and traders, or financial engineers that create sub prime financial products..

Engineers are at the bottom of the food chain.
Fund management (financial management, investment consultant) are higher in food chain.

Lets take Hard disk for example. Hard disk capacity is getting bigger and bigger year after year and more and more complicated. But price is getting cheaper. So in engineering, it is always about cheaper, better, faster.
On the other hand, take any financial product that a financial adviser tries to sell you. The return is getting lesser and lesser, risk is getting higher and higher. But their bonus is getting more and more.

Singapore doesn't believe in using engineering to create value anymore. Innovation in engineering is not wanted in Singapore. What Singapore wants is financial innovation. Financial innovation like creating derivatives that no one understand. haha.

Singapore just want to import engineers from China, IT specialist from Indian to fill up the lower food chain so that they can keep the older blue collar workers employed. It is a noble cause by PAP.

butadesu

Wow.. You managed to write out what I am thinking...
Engineering schools in NUS and NTU are the dumping ground... With cheap foreign engineers filling up the entry level engineering jobs, firstly the pay is suppressed.. Secondly within 5-8 years, we will lose the skill edge to have any respectable local engineers... At the end all want to be bankers and traders, or financial engineers that create sub prime financial products..

Not all countries can be an engineering powerhouse. Not all countries can be like Germany which has long history of engineering achievement and even its language is so suitable for engineering.

Singapore built its economy from manufacturing. As we moved up in value chain, we invested heavily in electronic and semicon industry. We used to be a major player in semicon industry. We all know what Chartered Semicon has become and I think no one remembers how much it was bleeding every quarter. Singapore decided it cannot compete with taiwan in terms of efficiency, china in terms of cost, Germany in terms of innovation and so it followed UK and HK model. Therefore Singapore decide to strengthen its financial hub status. Singapore is in very good position because it can be the financial hub in the region by feeding on ASEAN countries. Just like HK is for China, UK is for Europe and US is for N.America.

The existing engineering sector is now just a legacy of our past. It still has to keep going because there still have many voters who couldn't switch to other sector in there. The pharma surgical industry although big in numbers in terms of value could not employ so much worker. Therefore, govt continues to keep some manufacturing companies on life-support package.

oil and gas industry is another story.

vincentck

Yes indeed.......Fantastic news for Adda, Austin, BDO, Molek, Permas Jaya, Setia Tropika/Cascadia owners. After reading the news, I told my wife to vote BN liao but she's non-committal.......... haha

Hi Red, I guess you're a Sg and ur wife is Msian. BN is just doing it to ensure they get the Johoreans vote. After 55 years, it's time for a change, even if we Msians do not know whether Pakatan Rakyat (DAP, PKR & PAS) can do a good job or not. But what's for sure is BN must go!

Mingchye

Hi Red, I guess you're a Sg and ur wife is Msian. BN is just doing it to ensure they get the Johoreans vote. After 55 years, it's time for a change, even if we Msians do not know whether PKR can do the job or not. But what's for sure is BN must go!

My sentiments too.

Me three. Please remember to register/update address to vote. Otherwise No Action talk only. I have registered and all set for GE13, have you? :smile:

RedsYNWA

Hi Red, I guess you're a Sg and ur wife is Msian. BN is just doing it to ensure they get the Johoreans vote. After 55 years, it's time for a change, even if we Msians do not know whether PKR can do the job or not. But what's for sure is BN must go!

Oh yes, I am SG n wife Malaysian. Actually DAP represents the best chance of progress but demographics is against the party unfortunately.......

vincentck

Me three. Please remember to register/update address to vote. Otherwise No Action talk only. I have registered and all set for GE13, have you? :smile:
Already registered 14 years ago... hahah... this will be my 3rd GE.

Oh yes, I am SG n wife Malaysian. Actually DAP represents the best chance of progress but demographics is against the party unfortunately.......
It's either DAP or PKR. My mistake, the opposition party is PR (Pakatan Rakyat)

kengheng23

Please vote wisely,for those who are vested in jb.IF BN wins my prediction is property price will keep on rising,but if lost then it might go the other direction because no investment will be coming in.

whoami

Please vote wisely,for those who are vested in jb.IF BN wins my prediction is property price will keep on rising,but if lost then it might go the other direction because no investment will be coming in.

Heard alot fm my relatives (residing at Perak, N Sembilan , Malacca and Johore), opinions on BN and Opp parties. Can only shake my head. But i am not going to comment much abt Msia politics. But recent news like Ananda selling some of his portfolio and AirAsia office relocating to Indon do tell us something. Good or bad, Msians will know after election results and the following 5 years....

Mingchye

Nope, dont agree. Penang and Selangor are doing well under Pakatan. BN beens making suckers out of the rakyat for so many years. Whos to say that Malaysia cannot soar under Pakatan. Dont try dont know. Enough is enough.

Newbie2012

This political thread has been sleeping until today.....let me join in the fun with this humble tribute below to Malaysia on its National Day. :p Happy National Day To all Malaysians in this Forum. :smile:

We the sinkies, young and old
Got no place in Sinkieland
To live a life that is humane
Set our foot here in Nusajaya.

It is here that we can afford landed housing
It is here that our young and old can afford
Nutrients from the milk powder sold here
Thanks to Malaysia, we sinkies can live in the pink and have a proper roof over our head.

We sinkies residents of the "Beautiful Hill" and "Broken Ring"
Are blessed with magnificent view atop Horizon Hills
And a balanced lifestyle in Leisure Farm
Thanks indeed to Malaysia.

We sinkies bring laughters to the property developers
Bring works to the renovation contractors.
Bring smiles to the eateries business
And also along with some kindness.

Disadvantaged people of JB caused by our extravagance presence in JB scene
Need not fear as help is on the way
Our "General" is gathering all sinkies whose investment had bear fruits here
To contribute whatever they can to help them all.

Peace to all, united we will be
It is here that we Sinkies and Malaysians can become united as one before.
Its One Malaysia and Kosong Singapore here.
Selamat Datang Malaysia, Goodbye Singapore.

sinkies vested in jb oso cannot vote ...

property prices in msia wil kip on rising ... but goot ting wif msia is dat msia haf much mor land ... even if prices kip go up, u can stil get chip properties ... but @ places slightly further away la ...

vincentck

Bro you sound like you're pro BN. Well, each to his own. I say let's give PR a chance because BN had 55 years to run the country with SGD1=RM1 more than 20 years ago and now SGD1=RM2.50.

BN has had 55 years to run a country filled with so much natural resources and zero natural disasters. We have wood, palm oil, land, agriculture, people, oil, natural minerals, water, humans, natural tourist locations, animal produce, etc. But why are Msian university graduates unable to speak proper English or Bahasa; why are there so many people staying in squatter houses, but unbelievably they have electricity and satellite TV? Enough is enough!!!

vincentck

This political thread has been sleeping until today.....let me join in the fun with this humble tribute below to Malaysia on its National Day. :p Happy National Day To all Malaysians in this Forum. :smile:

We the sinkies, young and old
Got no place in Sinkieland
To live a life that is humane
Set our foot here in Nusajaya.

Peace to all, united we will be
It is here that we Sinkies and Malaysians can become united as one before.
Its One Malaysia and Kosong Singapore here.
Selamat Datang Malaysia, Goodbye Singapore.

Wonderful tribute... Hahah, funny to read. Thanks.