• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

the must-haves for every chinese new year

lst and foremost, a pot of kumquat. then all the traditional kuehs - kuey bun cake, loveletters, kuey tart, kok chai.....

for home decor, there must be fresh flowers to liven up. maybe a nice dish of prosperity bamboo.

what other auspicious things u would buy for your home this chinese new year?

His picture:

leekuanyew.jpg

Countdown to By-Election at Tanjong Pagar GRC.

Last edited by a moderator:
Wear red underwear on your head to huat for the rest of the year.

lst and foremost, a pot of kumquat. then all the traditional kuehs - kuey bun cake, loveletters, kuey tart, kok chai.....

for home decor, there must be fresh flowers to liven up. maybe a nice dish of prosperity bamboo.

What is Kuey bun cake?? anything to do with Kothoey? a must have for Chinese New Year!! ? It is Kueh encik!, Kueh Bangkit, Egg roll, not love letters! who sent you those? the Kothoey, sent you?

What is needed is Tangerine, Kumquats, Melon Seeds, red & black, Groundnuts & a BBQ pork...those gold colored coin shaped chocolates & in the past, must have the small rectangle shape Van Houten Chocolates & Fruit flavored sugar coated jelly sweets & jelly beans..

That is the common stuff...and if you see Kueh Lapis...& other mouth stuff, like home made stuffs for example, Pineapple tarts..the family is doing well,

How about having some staLks of Pussy-wiLLows at home ?..:D:eek:

lianbeng must have kum, bak kwa, angpow, kueh bulu, kueh bangkit, kueh lapis, love letters, beehives, kueh chee, soft drinks, and 恭喜!恭喜!恭喜你!CNY songs lah! :D

I wonder what is the "market rates" for ang pows these days.

Does anyone still give or receive $4.00 ang pow ?

Firecrackers!!

Chinese invented gunpowder and in honor of this, limpei will be driving up north to Matland t practice my culture which is not allowed by the rulers of Peesai! See you in Batu Pahat!

How about buying Peh-tor fish aka Rabbit fish; & steaming them after the 7th day ?..
SymboLism being : Nian Nian You Yee..be fruitfuL & muLtipLy ! :)

Firecrackers!!

Chinese invented gunpowder and in honor of this, limpei will be driving up north to Matland t practice my culture which is not allowed by the rulers of Peesai! See you in Batu Pahat!

firecrackers...yes! it brought back happy times in kampong days where we blew up single red firecracker that looked like a mini dynamite. the boys would put a tin over it b4 lighting the fuse. it would explode with a loud bang and the tin would flew high up the sky!

For me a must have is to celebrate it with my mum again, she's really old, today was a scare, family doc sent her to A&E for heart palpitation, all is well but need to go heart centre next week. I live overseas which made me even more concern anyway will see her next weekend, and hope another year and another year

Bro, better spend more time with your mum.We can have many wives' of sorts, but onLy One mum.:cool: