• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The most famous lawyer in Singapore just died.

Of course you knew Ravi.

You attempted to rip him off by seeking free legal advice from him when you got into trouble with spats and brawls, both online and offline in real life.
Hello CAQ stalker, I know you're fascinated with me but: #1 I ain't gay and #2 your spamming in just about every thread I post in is higly inconsiderate to forum participants here. PM me if you have any issue.

Same advice: stick to Zoe and Bingbing. Don't wade out of your depth.

Hello CAQ stalker, I know you're fascinated with me but: #1 I ain't gay and #2 your spamming in just about every thread I post in is higly inconsiderate to forum participants here. PM me if you have any issue.

Same advice: stick to Zoe and Bingbing. Don't wade out of your depth.

I'm not gay and neither am I fascinated by you, you disgusting old pig.

Of course you conveniently omitted to mention your role in targeting and attacking me across various threads.

Stick to topics? Fuck you @superpower. I can post whatever I want and I WILL post whatever I want.

I will continue exposing you. Watch out.

Ooooooo... Very Kind Lady #2. Be very careful... @zhihau and Boss might just assign all your posts to a separate lunatic folder.:biggrin:

Hahahaha!! Feel very threatened, therefore running and crying to the moderator?
LOL, what a weak whiny ahkua you are! :roflmao:

:FU::FU::FU:

I believe Ravi lost an important friend and mentor in life last year - Violet Netto.

If we believe the press that he took drugs before his death, then I would think the demise of Violet was a major blow to him.

I have a question.if sg is so strict on drug. How come people can access it?
For this I had told you all already, that

ICA and custom claims loudly in their ads that they are protecting the borders, in actual they are protecting pap pockets by catching unpaid duty taxes.

Ironically many netizens thumbs up for them for allowing rapist, thiefs, chickens, drug lords etc to come in freely, while they gladly pay those fines.

Lol

In the days following M. Ravi’s passing, many tributes have been written celebrating his courage, his early work, and his role as a human-rights lawyer. Those tributes are understandable, and I do not begrudge them.

However, I feel compelled to write something more honest.

I do so because there are other victims like myself—people who were misled, hurt, or financially abused by Ravi—and our experiences matter too. I have never hidden my position. I have stated it publicly on multiple occasions, including my last post on this subject on 7 December 2025, after we served a Statutory Demand on Joseph Chen. Ravi has not denied my allegations when he was alive.

This reflection is therefore not written in anger, nor to diminish what Ravi once stood for. It is written to place on record a fuller truth, as I experienced it.

Ravi himself often said that God is our final judge. On this, he is right. I do not judge this man. Judgment belongs to God alone—who alone knows the heart and mind of every person. Whatever his failures, he is now free from the trappings of this world, and I leave his ultimate account to God, the supreme judge.

What follows is not condemnation, but testimony. I write this with mixed feelings about a man I cannot ignore.

------------------------------------------------------
M. Ravi (1969–2025):
A Cautionary Tale of Not Becoming the People We Hate

I once treated M. Ravi as a friend, a fellow Singaporean, and a fellow traveller in conscience. Toward the end, I came to despise him—not because of his beliefs, but because he lied to me, cheated me, and abused my trust. That betrayal has legal consequences that I am now pursuing against Joseph Chen.

Many tributes have understandably focused on M. Ravi’s courage and early contributions. This reflection records a fuller, more complicated truth, as I experienced it.

M. Ravi was a brilliant man. He was also a deeply troubled one.

He carried demons—some rooted in the death of his mother, others shaped by years of confronting death, injustice, and what he believed to be evil itself. On his better days, he would speak vividly about his work: the details of executions, his encounters with “the Old Man,” and his conviction that he was fighting Lucifer and his legion. These were his beliefs and his language, and they formed part of the inner world he inhabited.

Yet brilliance does not excuse dishonesty.

Toward the end of our relationship, Ravi lied to me about money. He told me that S$24,000 was required as a “security deposit” to the Attorney-General’s Chambers for the objecting to Tharman's Presidency lawsuit. This was untrue. The money was used to enrich himself and his friend and former lawyer, Joseph Chen.

At the same time, Ravi told others that his work for me was pro bono. That too was untrue. He repeatedly asked me for money whenever we met, and I paid him approximately S$8,000 for work done (in which he spent very little time personally drafting and I had to suffer from verbal abuses while he was at it). I have no issue paying a lawyer for work performed. I do, however, object to being treated like an ATM while false narratives of altruism were circulated. For the sake of the record, this must be stated plainly.

Our History

My history with Ravi goes back more than two decades.

Around 2003, after returning from my studies in Australia, I became acquainted with the late Violet Netto, Ravi’s then law partner. I visited Violet regularly to learn meditation. Ravi, at the time, was a serious young lawyer—his head buried in documents, always working.

One day, Violet handed me Hung at Dawn. I spoke to Ravi about the book and the death-penalty cases he was handling. Shortly after, I watched Dead Man Walking to better understand the cause he was fighting for. I respected his work then.

Over the years, Ravi appeared increasingly in the news. My personal interactions with him, when they occurred, left me with the impression of an intense, emotional, and at times volatile person—especially after his diagnosis of bipolar disorder. Our paths did not cross often, but I followed his trajectory from a distance.

In 2007, when Raymond and I got married, we invited Ravi to our wedding dinner. Violet Netto was our solemniser. After that, our interactions were sporadic and often unpleasant, marked by defensiveness and emotional volatility.

COVID and the Constitutional Challenge

In 2021, at the height of the COVID vaccine rollouts, I spoke to dozens of lawyers in Singapore. Many refused outright to take on any case challenging the Government.

One lawyer encouraged me to contact Ravi. I hesitated, knowing his reputation and fearing he might be difficult to work with. But I was at my wits’ end.

When I finally approached him, Ravi was animated and enthusiastic. He spoke about COVID as a monumental human-rights issue and said lawyers around the world were discussing it.

On 16 November 2021, we filed an Originating Summons against the Singapore Government alleging Crimes Against Humanity arising from COVID policies—specifically inducement, coercion, and lack of informed consent. Ravi cited:

Article 9(1) of the Singapore Constitution

Chapter 14 of the ASEAN Human Rights Declaration

The Universal Declaration of Human Rights

Singapore’s Geneva Conventions Act 1957

I remain grateful that, at that moment, there was at least one lawyer willing to file the case exactly as I understood it. I genuinely believed—and still believe—that the inducement and lack of informed consent surrounding COVID vaccines raised serious crimes-against-humanity concerns under the Nuremberg Code and violated our Constitutional Right to Life.

Incidentally, that same day—16 November 2021—Singapore hosted the Bloomberg New Economy Forum, attended by global elites, including Bill Gates, who publicly joked that those unwilling to be vaccinated should be caned. I remember that day vividly. It was one of the moments when Ravi’s darker worldview about power and impunity felt disturbingly plausible.

Aftermath

In the months following the filing, I was placed in remand for 15 days in January 2022. Ravi later faced disbarment.

While I do not believe the filing alone explains it, his conduct in court had deteriorated badly—likely a combination of bipolar disorder and his own desperation of his circumstances.

Intellectually, Ravi was a formidable constitutional lawyer. He believed deeply that no one is above the law—not even the Chief Justice. That belief animated him.

But conviction without integrity corrodes itself.

I know I am not the only one hurt by Ravi’s actions. Many who turned to him in desperation were left disappointed or damaged.

During my 15 days in remand, Ravi did not once reach out to Raymond despite being my lawyer. After my release, he never asked me about it. I can only conclude that by then, he was consumed by his own struggles and saw me less as a client or friend than as a convenient source of cash.

Forgiveness, Not Exoneration

I considered paying him a final visit. Instead, I will light a candle and say a prayer.

Ravi hurt me deeply. He hurt Raymond and others. I will not detail those harms here.

Death is a kind of report card. Ravi never apologised to me before he died. While I forgive him, he is sadly no longer a friend.

Still, I remain thankful for the constitutional challenge he filed. At that moment in history, it was the only glimmer of hope I could see.

What I see now, looking back, is not heroism—but a cautionary tale.

A warning about what happens when those who fight injustice slowly adopt the very traits they claim to oppose. When anger replaces integrity. When conscience is invoked but not practised.

That is why I choose to forgive Ravi.

Not because he deserves it—but because forgiveness is how I refuse to become the very people I hate.

Only love can heal the divide.

A Note for the Record

None of the mainstream media coverage—nor M. Ravi’s own Wikipedia entry—mentions that we filed this constitutional challenge together on 16 November 2021.

For completeness, I will leave in the comments the video recorded outside the Supreme Court on that day, immediately after the Originating Summons was filed. It captures, in real time, what was said, what was believed, and what was at stake.

This period—and the days leading up to the constitutional challenge—will be addressed in greater depth in future parts of The Silent Roar.

Despite his failings as a person, I do not know that he took or would take drugs as a person. I am not going to believe blindly the circumstances surrounding his death and I would urge everyone not to come to any fast conclusions regardless of how you feel about him.

Thank you.
Iris Koh.

Honestly, It doesn't appear to me that M Ravi is someone who took drugs. Weird leh. Cannabis is ok lah but other weird drugs, no leh.

SINGAPORE: The controversial former lawyer M Ravi has died. He was 56.

Friends of Mr Ravi confirmed the news to CNA on Wednesday (Dec 24). The cause of death has not been disclosed.

Mr Ravi, whose full name was Ravi Madasamy, was born in 1969 and was a lawyer for more than 25 years. He was widely known for representing inmates on death row and had also been in the news over his conduct.

ccording to the Encyclopedia of Singapore Tamils, an online resource, Mr Ravi was a graduate of the National University of Singapore and Cardiff University and was called to the Bar in 1996.

He founded his own law firm, M Ravi Law, in 2019.

Mr Ravi became known for taking on human rights cases and his pro bono work. He was also an advocate for the LGBTQ community and supported the abolition of the death penalty.

He had several brushes with the law, being fined for disorderly behaviour in 2004 and given a mandatory treatment order to address his bipolar disorder in 2018, before he was sentenced to 14 weeks' jail for a string of offences in 2024.

He was handed a five-year suspension from practising law in 2023 for making "grave and baseless accusations of improper conduct" against the attorney-general, officers from the Attorney-General's Chambers and the Law Society.

Mr Ravi was a one-time political candidate, running in the 2015 General Election as part of a Reform Party slate that contested Ang Mo Kio GRC.
Who and How many nex-of-kin, does late Ravi Have ?