• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Malik Affair - An Open Letter to Opposition Leaders

Why so blur. I am asking why the homeless was raised by the opposition as it involved a small tiny minority. Maybe 10 ikan bilis. How does that fit into your national issue criteria.

Obviously it was an opportunity for the opposition to show its concern and raise its profile.

I remember the homeless issue was raised by Sylvia Lim in Parliament. If I don't remember wrongly, GMS also wrote something.

Why then have opposition parties. Seems a duplication by your reasoning. If the PAP acted on its own misdeeds, then we don't need any opposition. If the PAP did not and the opposition did not, there are no double standards.

Seems quite bizarre.

Maybe you can explain why the opposition is needed?

Your cardinal assumption is that there are no good men in the PAP.

IR123 says that this is not true. I happen to agree with him.

I am hoping that these good men will stand up and do what is right. We should be encouraging these good men in the PAP to step forward rather than castigating the Opposition for doing nothing.

I was very intrigued when I read that you wrote many Cabinet members were unhappy with the police action. I hope that these Cabinent members will do more than put on a sour face at Cabinet meetings.

The conseqeunces for Singapore are truly frightening if the hardline faction hijacks the PAP and converts Singapore into a police state so as to stay in power "for the good of Singaporeans".

Typically judges and magistrates will find a sliver of evidence to convict is there is pressure so that they do not look like idiots or prostitutes in front of their families and their professional colleagues.

In this case, there is none. That is why they pressured his family as they had not other way out without looking like clowns.

I only cam to know this a day ago. It also explains why Viv B distanced himself by making the statement. People were asking questions and everyone was wondering who made the call or the complaint. The Police Force is also not happy for being used in this manner. That is why MHA had to reply.

The latest that I heard is that some members of the cabinet are not happy because they all look like dills. There is also lot of unhappiness amongst he Malay community for the role played by some of their clowns.

How they pressured Malik's family?

I am hoping that these good men will stand up and do what is right. We should be encouraging these good men in the PAP to step forward rather than castigating the Opposition for doing nothing.

I was very intrigued when I read that you wrote many Cabinet members were unhappy with the police action. I hope that these Cabinent members will do more than put on a sour face at Cabinet meetings.

The conseqeunces for Singapore are truly frightening if the hardline faction hijacks the PAP and converts Singapore into a police state so as to stay in power "for the good of Singaporeans".

There is no such thing as hardline or good PAP men. They are one. They belong to a political party that has not wavered from their acts throught these years.

You are a typical victim of the Stockholm Syndrome.

If there were unhappiness from within the PAPies it is only because they paiseh over what people may think of them from the incident rather than worry for the victim of PAP persecution.

Each and every one of them has ample opportunity to speak out their minds to the general public but not a single one throughout the years has done so. And yet you think they can change.

The police and ICA are under WKS and the army is under TCH. These are staunch PAPies and part of the close Leegime family. Even when old man kicks the bucket and is burnt in hell or purgatory, the country will still be run along the lines of typical PAPism.

Take a look at North Korea, after their founder passed on, the son took over and nothing has changed. If anything, once LKY kicks the bucket you can expect worse from the PAPies as their paranoia will get the better of them and even lesser attacks against them will be met with harsher reactions.

Once the body is weaker, the arm wields itself even more violently.

It will take one to two generations and even then it is a big IF if the PAPies can make good. Do you have that much time to wait? What do you owe that that you and the erst of the country's good people have to wait on them while they continue to push Singapoerans against the wall?

As long as the PAPies are in power, there will be no free media. Opposition will be stiffled. Good and well-meaning people will not run for office. Jobs, pensions, healthcare and education for the masses will deteriorate to a state much worse than it already is.

The best alternative for us is to vote out the PAP as soon as we have an opportunity. Then we will take a few years to rectify the damage done but at least we will have our country back from a small group of self-praising, greedy fascists.

So in one post, you claim to be able to

1) Read minds
2) Predict the future.

How fascinating. In addition, why not just quit your job, stay home, and buy 4D for a living. I'm sure you'll live comfortably.

The cardinal assumption is that one party rule does not provide a sufficient mechanism to allow proper checks and balances. It does not automatically assume that the one party system is evil or a failure.

IR123 before he changed his nick was always for PAP but has tried to put across the same argument that opposition was not needed as PAP was fine. He always struggled with simple arguments and struggled to grasp basic concepts. I can't help it if he is slow. That's why religion is his security blank.

If NSP led by GMS was running Singapore with 82 seats, I would still be calling for plural politics. All 1st world nations without exception have a plural political system with an entrenched and well established 2 major parties that can alternate and provide good governance. It is not by fluke that they are 1st world.

We send out kids to the best school to compete with the best to raise the overall standard. The PAP has jealousy guarded and crippled competition. The old man is in charge of one of 2 sovereign funds, the daughter in law the other and the son is in charge of the country. Must be the biggest fluke to have members of the same immediate family controlling a country or do we have more gullible people in Singapore compared to the rest.

NSP, WP and the rest of the Opposition can't be classified as hardcore. They are already dead scared to stand up for a Malay chap called Malik, I am sure they will die of fright if one was to suggest that they confront the Ministers on anything serious. They will probably wait for the Internet and the Press to make a fuss, before they join in.

Mah Bow Tan and HDB, the transport etc have been an issue for yonks. Its not something that appeared out of the dark.

Believe me you have nothing to fear about the opposition. Even SDP's highlight was to bring along canned food and stand in a public place.

My biggest fear is that the smart ones have left or leaving the country and those who are slow of mind are in the majority. That will be Singapore's biggest challenge. The fact that we have mega churches and mega charities that lead Singaporeans by the nose is telling.

Everything said has been based on historical precedence. People like you can continue to depend on incompetent persons within the PAP but others like me prefer to use our brains and knowledge.

Your homework for today is to go and read on fascism. Then find the similarities between fascists and the PAP. Then you will understand the PAP better. The PAP is not a group made up of people with differing views. They are who they are because of their beliefs. Their beliefs are entrenched in fascism.

Once you have understood fascism, you will realise that maintaining absolute power is one of their cornerstones.

You're not using your brains, but a crystal ball. Any O-level student can memorise facts and look for similarities and speculate. Analysis is an entirely different ball game, one that is obviously beyond you.

Just to add: people who like to unnecessarily use what they think are "Big Words" and "Impressive Names" usually have inferiority complexes. Perhaps trying to blow smoke and mask the inadequacies of what they say.

Everything said has been based on historical precedence. People like you can continue to depend on incompetent persons within the PAP but others like me prefer to use our brains and knowledge.

Your homework for today is to go and read on fascism. Then find the similarities between fascists and the PAP. Then you will understand the PAP better. The PAP is not a group made up of people with differing views. They are who they are because of their beliefs. Their beliefs are entrenched in fascism.

Once you have understood fascism, you will realise that maintaining absolute power is one of their cornerstones.

Why so blur. I am asking why the homeless was raised by the opposition as it involved a small tiny minority. Maybe 10 ikan bilis. How does that fit into your national issue criteria.

Obviously it was an opportunity for the opposition to show its concern and raise its profile.

I knew you would raise this. My response is, everyone has different benchmarks on the scale. Why the same people who didn't insist that other opposition speak for the SDP 18 who were arrested outside Funan wants it different for Malik.

The national issue aspect is not the number. Housing is a different issue. Homelessness is taken seriously because it is an essential and caused change of ruling parties. Also another aspect is potential for setting precedence. Nearly all issues can be defined as minority since there is no single issue that affects 3.5 million at one go. Nevertheless there is a difference between 1 and 10.

The tone reminds me of several activists who fight on a platform on selective fronts and that is fine until they insist they are righteous and start pointing fingers at others who didn't join them. At the end of the day you have your pet peeves but that doesn't make one right.

Dear Scroobal,

It is a matter of degree and that is why I would hold my fire now.

It is a personal judgment that in order to have bigger impact, the degree of damage done by PAP must be huge enough. Besides, as we can see, PAP has cut off any possible "sympathy" angle from the public by going into character assassination in raising his past criminal conviction. It is highly possible that PAP will spin the story very differently when it gets heated up.

Goh Meng Seng

There seems to be a double standard here.

Opposition politicans are expected to publicly take action.

PAP politicians on the order hand can keep quiet and do "behind-the-scenes" action.

since when have forummers refrain from taking the PAP to task when the PAP takes the soft route out?

You're not using your brains, but a crystal ball. Any O-level student can memorise facts and look for similarities and speculate. Analysis is an entirely different ball game, one that is obviously beyond you.

Just to add: people who like to unnecessarily use what they think are "Big Words" and "Impressive Names" usually have inferiority complexes. Perhaps trying to blow smoke and mask the inadequacies of what they say.

How is fascism a big word? Only to an imbecile I suppose! :oIo:

If you don't know words that are too big for you then go somewhere else where they talk at your level. BODOH!

I knew you would raise this. My response is, everyone has different benchmarks on the scale. Why the same people who didn't insist that other opposition speak for the SDP 18 who were arrested outside Funan wants it different for Malik.

It is in fact the PAP that is supposed to speak up for the under privileged. Since when was this an opposition role? In fact, if it wasn't for the PAP's poor record, we may not even have such an issue to talk about.

You must be so ingrained with PAPism, also known as fascism, that the under privileged are not part of society and hence shouldn't be cared for by the government.

When the PAP attacks laypersons and even politicians for voicing their angst against the regime, you can always count on Stockholm Syndrome sufferers to attack the APs for either not doing enough or doing too much.

You only have 24 hours in a day. Spend your time wisely trying to pry the grip of the facist PAP instead of spending precious time writing about what the APs should or should not do. Our political and police-like state climates do not allow for the type of acts or reactions that you may want.

These are facts. So why bark up at the tree while allowing the weeds to grow and the rot to pile?

My biggest fear is that the smart ones have left or leaving the country and those who are slow of mind are in the majority. That will be Singapore's biggest challenge. The fact that we have mega churches and mega charities that lead Singaporeans by the nose is telling.

That has already happened. We are going the path of America.

Dear Scroobal,

It is a matter of degree and that is why I would hold my fire now.

It is a personal judgment that in order to have bigger impact, the degree of damage done by PAP must be huge enough. Besides, as we can see, PAP has cut off any possible "sympathy" angle from the public by going into character assassination in raising his past criminal conviction. It is highly possible that PAP will spin the story very differently when it gets heated up.

Goh Meng Seng

Your post gives me the impression that the opposition will back down if the PAP happens to play its cards right.

I hope that is not the case.

Don't think you have provided a convincing excuse yet why Malik is different from past cases of abuse of power. Note that the whole discussion has been centered around degree -- 1 man versus 10 men, or around the issue -- homelessness for instance, but no one has talked about blatant abuse of power. Why? Is it not important to recognize that fact?

Aren't we one of the most educated people in the world? Don't we hover around the top of world rankings for test scores every year? Matriculation is no bulwark against stupidity. Forget the pro-education rhetoric from the gahmen. They are actually anti-intellectualism.

Your post gives me the impression that the opposition will back down if the PAP happens to play its cards right.

I hope that is not the case.

Don't think you have provided a convincing excuse yet why Malik is different from past cases of abuse of power. Note that the whole discussion has been centered around degree -- 1 man versus 10 men, or around the issue -- homelessness for instance, but no one has talked about blatant abuse of power. Why? Is it not important to recognize that fact?

I tend to agree with GMS and think that it is natural not to jump in when PAP plays the cards right. No opposition around the world has done otherwise - and ours have already done many times.

If you do not mention degree, then cat culling is also an abuse of power. Perhaps we could define/redefine "abuse of power" before carrying on. Surely your definition can't be same as "using power for enforcement or prevention".