The local food thread...

Our local F&B scene is pathetic! Be it in the kopitiams or food courts or hawker centers, the damage is threatening our culture and our hungry stomachs!

1. Quality of food

It had been declining as the Malaysian "tao chiu" gets displaced by PRC cooks. I'm not saying PRCs can't cook, but the PRCs' taste buds are accustomed to their culinary influence which is subtly different from our South East Asian flavors. Notwithstanding the change of cooks, the cooking methods and ingredients are changed as well, soup broth getting diluted, corners cut during the cooking process and the list goes on.

2. Quantity of food

As a result of the rising costs in raw materials, you need to pay more for the same quantity of food. I do believe the overhead is crushing a lot of the stall owners every where. Food portions either become smaller for the stall owners to increase their income, or they simply pass on the buck.

3. Operating hours

F&B services are usually long hours but the usual 24hr stalls have to cut back on operating hours to cut back on overhead. Who will suffer in the end?

My hungry stomach.

so far the best laksa in my opinion can be found at yum yum in tampines. it's prepared by a macik donning a tudung at the yong tau fu and laksa stall. very generous with hum, and you can always have a laksa yong tau fu combo.

image.jpg

sometimes, the "best" food or dish or cuisine is not in its purist "authentic" form - "best" in quotes because it's subjective and based on personal experience and desire, not necessarily a universal chorus of an opinion. for example, the traditional, original and authentic tapas in seville is now overshadowed and outclassed by the evolving and ever-inspiring tapas culinary scene in northern california where some of the best chefs from all over spain have opened their restaurants. unfettered from tradition and isolation in their hometowns where localized authenticity is paramount over anything else, these chefs find creativity and inspiration in other regions' and chefs' quirkiness plus specialties and blend or fuse them to their own creations. the reliance on local organic produce and california's unique and native crops adds to the variety and dynamism of an otherwise predictable "traditional" (a.k.a. boring) dish.

case in point. in sg, the future can only be brighter with the infusion of fusion cooking from great creative imports. without immigration in centuries past, this sinkie uncle would not have met and married a macik and produce our beloved chinkie-malay nasi padang (plus mee rebus, lotong, nasi lemak) of siglap.

image.jpg

not just the quality of hawker food has declined,even the quality of fast food has declined.nowadays the chicken from kfc taste like,dry,stringy,hardened pieces of rock.i remember years ago when u bite into the hot and crispy chicken be it the drumstick or tight,the juicy succulent white meat will tear off in thick slivers and the juices and reddish hot oil will flow out.truly finger licking good.god knows where kfc SG source their chicken from nowadays.and the zinger and popcorn chicken from ten years ago.when u took it out from the black box and bite into it,the loud and satisfying crunch from the crispy crunchy coating and the thick juicy chicken,the sharp spear of flaming heat that shoots thru ur mouth and makes ur tastebuds burn.thats when u want to thank the maker of the universe and colonel sanders for inventing the zinger.

where do u get fast food like that in the world again?if i ever get hold of the time machine from back to the future,it would be to go back and stop by a KFC,buy a whole truckload of chicken and zinger and crispy strips and duplicate them with the atomic replicator from star trek.

This is why we should try to patronize the good stalls as much as possible as long as they are still around. Many hawkers find it difficult to get people to take over them too. Be smart with your choices, don't waste time, money and stomach space eating bad food. There is a limit to the existence of good food stalls and our own existence, so make the most of both while they exist, because as I keep reminding everyone: "The concept of perpetuity is a myth". :p

Why food thread no food pictures?

Foodwise, that is true. Katong, Joo Chiat, Geylang, are all Eastern Singapore.

My favorite hokkien mee is the geylang lorong 29 friend hokkien mee located at east coast road.
Theirs is the "wet type" of hokkien mee.

Fried hokkien mee at east coast road - you referring the the food court at Upper East Coast Road where it becomes Bedok Road? If it is that place, I certainly agree. Usually a long line, and I think it absurd to wait 25 minutes for a packet of hokkien mee, but people willingly stand in line and wait that period!

My favorite hokkien mee is the geylang lorong 29 friend hokkien mee located at east coast road.,
Theirs is the "wet type" of hokkien mee.

Sinkies and their neighbours have disgusting eating habits ..............

[video=youtube;CmqzEEqZ5aQ]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CmqzEEqZ5aQ[/video]

Fried hokkien mee at east coast road - you referring the the food court at Upper East Coast Road where it becomes Bedok Road? If it is that place, I certainly agree. Usually a long line, and I think it absurd to wait 25 minutes for a packet of hokkien mee, but people willingly stand in line and wait that period!

alamak got such food court meh?
the Lor 29 is operated by Alex at junction with Telok Kurau X East Coast Rd
His bro runs a stall at left side coffee shop at junction Lor 29 X Geylang Rd

Sinkies and their neighbours have disgusting eating habits ..............

tell me about it. hawker centers are strewn with disgusting trash and leftovers every time i'm there to have a simple bowl of mee pok. :rolleyes:

image.jpg

Where else in the world does one share the dining space with birds like wild mynahs and city pigeons? It is perfectly acceptable, and normal to unload bones of fish and other animals by spitting from one's mouth onto the table top in the presence of other dining companions. Its not considered disgusting here in Singapore, it it part of local table manners and social etiquette. Thanks to our Ah Tiong ancestry and heritage.

Sinkies and their neighbours have disgusting eating habits ...........................

Where else in the world does one share the dining space with birds like wild mynahs and city pigeons? It is perfectly acceptable, and normal to unload bones of fish and other animals by spitting from one's mouth onto the table top in the presence of other dining companions. Its not considered disgusting here in Singapore, it it part of local table manners and social etiquette. Thanks to our Ah Tiong ancestry and heritage.

no thanks. and leave puke and guck on the table for someone else to clean up. sinkies are truly disgusting diners.

image.jpg

This place is popularly known as Bedok Corner, and used to serve lots of soldiers from 3 & 4 SIR, don't know what the camps there are called now. It was also famous for it Kangkong (run by Ah Boy) cuttlefish and Cheng Tng (run by his brother Ah Aun, who sadly passed on two years ago.)

alamak got such food court meh?............

This is why I readily eat lunch/dinner at fast food outlets, where at least some of he customers clear the table after their meal. This is a practice that every city dweller should be taught by parents from the time they are able to feed themselves (but Sinkies wish to load this task to the gahmen!

no thanks. and leave puke and guck on the table for someone else to clean up. sinkies are truly disgusting diners............