The Little India Riots: A missed opportunity by the PAP and the people of Singapore.

I have not posted here for a while and if old timer members will remember, I am no fan of the PAP. I watched the riots and anticipated the response by the PAP to be a weak one, and I was not wrong. So, now that the dust has settled a little, I decided to weigh in with my 2 cents.

1) I predicted that the PAP will brush all this under the carpet as soon as possible and proceed to tell the world that it was a once in 50 years problem and business is back to usual now. Well, business is not back to usual. This is a dramatic event on the national conscience. It has been simmering for quite a while now. It’s not so much the riot but what it means to the ordinary Singaporean. This means simply that in Singapore, there are now some places that are not safe for a Chinese or a non Indian race to be in, especially on certain nights of the week. Let’s just think about this statement. When we were growing up, Singapore was so safe that you could go to any part of the island at any day or time and not feel threatened in any way shape or form. Can you say that you dare to go to Little India now on a weekend night? I made that mistake a few months ago of doing that, and I can tell you, you feel like you are in Mumbai and that you are the only Chinese on the whole block. The place is so crowded with Indians, (and not Singapore born Indians, mind you) and you can see and feel that these people all around DO NOT CONSIDER that they are foreigners in a foreign land. They feel that Little India is their turf and they act accordingly. They are not afraid of any Chinese coloured skin or even of the police because there is so many of them and they act and do like it was their home. This, I feel is the issue.

Some of my friends say that they have been oppressed by their employers and the accident was just the spark to ignite their frustration, I say that this is bullshit. There is no excuse for this level of lawlessness, and violence. No matter how badly you have been treated by your employer. If they don’t like it, they can go home and join the legions of unemployed in their home country. They have become emboldened because they see that there was lenient punishment by the PAP towards other groups of foreign workers, like bus drivers and other demonstrators and even to foreigners who can perform vehicular manslaughter and then be allowed to leave the country. They are so confident that the PAP has no guts to stand up to India and China, that they can get away with anything. And in reality, they have gotten away with it. Imagine if Singaporeans rioted, injured policemen, and destroyed police cars, there will be Singaporeans arrested that will not suffer caning or a lengthy jail term. However, guilty Indians have been send home because they were “undesirable”.

I can assure you that if 400 Indian workers rioted in Saudi Arabia or any of the Gulf States, the police there would take swift and decisive action, and perhaps use deadly force on them. Those countries expect their foreign workers to KNOW THEIR PLACE in their society and act like they should have a lot of gratitude for being allow to work in a Middle East country. Foreigners in these countries actually fear the security police, because they know these countries do not tolerate any of this nonsense. They would happily arrest 400 rioting Indians, shoot a few and throw the rest of them in jail after a long sentence passed by the Sharia court. Unlike the PAP, these countries would tell India, Bangladesh and Pakistan to take their diplomatic protests and shove it up their arse.

Instead, we have Minister Shanmugam going around to worker’s dormitory the next day “reassuring” the workers that nothing will happen to them if they do nothing wrong. Is this some kind of a joke? Should not his job be to reassure Singaporeans that these riots will not happen again, instead of reassuring foreign workers?

2) The PAP’s response to what they will do bordered on the comical. I read somewhere that they will ban liquor at Little India establishments so that they cannot serve alcohol to drunk people. I also read that they will look into increasing the levy on employers so they will reduce the number of foreign workers they employ. Well, the latter method does not work as we can see by the ever increasing number of foreign workers here and it is no more than a money grab by the PAP to increase revenues from worker levies.

So, what response did I want to see from the PAP? A strong one. I wanted a heavy police presence in Little India every night. And double on the weekends. I want to see armed police at every corner in Little India, and I want to see riot police in full gear waiting in the lanes for any sign of trouble. I want to see our police intimidate and stare down any drunk or yahya India bastard with an attitude problem. I want our police to harass and beat down anyone who stares back at them like a gangster. In other words, I want our authorities to intimidate and send a clear message about who is the boss in this country and who is the guest. I want liquor to continue to be served, because that is how you identify the trouble makers. If I ever see another riot where 10 police officers were injured, I want to see correspondingly that 400 rioters were injured. That would prove to me that the police responded with overwhelming and merciless force.

My friends tell me that this is too drastic a response and not one of a civilized society like ours. I pointed out to them that instead of 400 Indian rioters, let’s say for example there were instead 400 opposition party members demonstrating in an unlicensed gathering. What would be the speed and response of the police? And what would be the reaction of the police? I assured them that the police will show up in large numbers, probably outnumber the protesters 3 to 1, and not 53 people will be arrested but all 400. I also assured them that all 400 oppo protesters will face fines, maybe jail time, and lost of jobs if they were with the govt. or a GLC.

3) I could not help but wonder how lucky we were this time. Usually, riots of this nature are also accompanied by looting. After all, these are supposed to be disenfranchised members of society, and there are many examples of what started out as rioting going into full blown looting of shops, hotels, and businesses in the affected areas. The destruction of the 2 police cars was already bad, and it does appear that the taxpayers will have to foot the bill to replace these cars. Dare the PAP send the bill to the Indian and Bangladesh high commission and ask them to pay for it, since it was their citizens that destroyed it? Rhetorical question. Also lucky was the fact that no sex crimes occurred. Perhaps there were no Chinese women walking around when the riots started or no Caucasian women around. But this race is notorious for gang rapes and as the police took a few hours to get things under control, they could have easily gang raped several women in any of those business premises. Maybe the next time, we will not be so lucky, and someone will actually die.

4) I also could not help but wonder, despite decades of PAP propaganda about the poisoned shrimp defence strategy, and despite almost 500,000 men under arms, a $10 billion a year defence budget, the best and most expensive shining new weapons we can buy (F-15s, stealth frigates, submarines, etc), the most consistent proven threat has been domestic and from within Singapore. This goes back to JI and now the riots. Let’s be very clear about this. For sheer luck no one was killed in this riot. Easily, Singapore citizens could have been killed, instead of 10 injured cops, you might have 10 dead cops. This would mean that for the first time since WW2, a foreign force entirely made up of one nationality murdered Singaporeans in the streets of Singapore. But the PAP does not see it as this. I say to you that this is a very real threat to the security of SIngapore. Already, these foreigners bring diseases that were never known in Singapore (eg. Hand, food and mouth disease, an agricultural disease of which Singapore has no agriculture to speak off), or resurgences of other diseases like Malaria, TB, Hepatitis, etc. These already present a threat to Singapore and as if that is not enough we have to add the threat of mob violence and riots. Internally and domestically, the PAP considers its biggest threats to be the opposition parties. Its whole security apparatus is geared towards monitoring, and surveillance of dissension and of the oppo. The PAP would have been better off spending some money to infiltrate and monitor some workers dorms instead. Who knows, maybe they will find out that some Indians plan to get shit faced in Little India on the weekend and start a bonfire with SBS buses.

5) The whole response of the SPF and their riot police component was in my opinion utterly incompetent. The response time was slow and it took them way too long to control the riot. I did not see the use of tear gas, rubber bullets, water canons, etc. What were they using to control the rioters? Hokkien harsh words? That part of little India is full of small lanes. I don’t understand why they couldn’t send units to seal of the affected lanes and box in all the rioters. Than instead of arresting 27 people, they could have arrested 300. I am sure there were many hand phones filming the riots or even surveillance cameras at businesses. Could they not ask the public to send them the footage and post a reward for those actually filmed rioting? Could they not use facial recognition software to identify people? After all, everyone of them went through Immigration and must have had their passport photo scanned in the system somewhere. And what is with all these dropped charges by the courts? A 22 year old man was charged with using a wooden stick to smash bus windows and throwing metal objects, but the charges were withdrawn against him? Why? Do all Indians look alike, and they could not identify this one? Did his govt. lean on the PAP, and to avoid a diplomatic row, they let him walk? Is this sort of treatment expected to discourage further riots from happening? How many masters does the PAP answer to? I know they answer to Uncle Sam, and the Jews in Israel? Maybe China, but now India too? I know they don’t answer to Malaysia, and certainly not to their own citizens.

I do apologize that this dissertation has gone on longer than I expected, but I just wanted to comment on the situation and to just check that I am not the only and last sane person in Singapore to ask all these questions and have these opinions.

Re: The Little India Riots: A missed opportunity by the PAP and the people of Singapo

As one of the forum's devil's advocates for the pappies, here's my retort. 2 of your main points are out of whack. 1st, there's no racial underpinings in the riot. they were not out for blood on those who were not indians. they didn't single out non-indians to whack for some ethnic-cleansing spontaneity or impulsion. they were a lynch mob out for street justice after seeing a fellow worker crushed to death, and the original targets of wrath were the bus driver and attendant. if the bus driver and attendant were to be indian, they would be mobbed too. the spf were protecting the duo from the lynching, and their mistake was that they stayed there too long with the duo on site to try to conduct an investigation and assisting scdf with body extraction. one lousy police car could have spirited the duo to a police station or medical center for questioning (since they got walloped) but instead they hanged around for too long surrounded by an angry mob. and the mob went after anything or anybody who tried to protect the duo. and if you're a lone chinese in the middle of serangoon road anytime anyday, you should feel safe. not feeling safe is your mental problem. it's not a problem in little india. 2nd, the sg authorities are doing the right thing by holding back on force and violence in public or more appropriately global view (they can whack all they want in the privacy of their cold isd chambers) and reaching out to the rioters to sue for peace. this has never been tried anywhere in the world, including liberal western europe, and it's innovative and ground-breaking for sg to do the "very soft" approach. it may be a start of something new to world governance: sinkapore spring. and universal utopia may follow thereafter. hiding a bunch in an ambulance is unheard of and nothing short of a once in a lifetime miracle since only the dead is a drunk. nobel peace prize candidate for 2014 - the spf. :p

Re: The Little India Riots: A missed opportunity by the PAP and the people of Singapo

As one of the forum's devil's advocates for the pappies, here's my retort. 2 of your main points are out of whack. 1st, there's no racial underpinings in the riot. they were not out for blood on those who were not indians. they didn't single out non-indians to whack for some ethnic-cleansing spontaneity or impulsion. they were a lynch mob out for street justice after seeing a fellow worker crushed to death, and the original targets of wrath were the bus driver and attendant. if the bus driver and attendant were to be indian, they would be mobbed too. the spf were protecting the duo from the lynching, and their mistake was that they stayed there too long with the duo on site to try to conduct an investigation and assisting scdf with body extraction. one lousy police car could have spirited the duo to a police station or medical center for questioning (since they got walloped) but instead they hanged around for too long surrounded by an angry mob. and the mob went after anything or anybody who tried to protect the duo. and if you're a lone chinese in the middle of serangoon road anytime anyday, you should feel safe. not feeling safe is your mental problem. it's not a problem in little india. 2nd, the sg authorities are doing the right thing by holding back on force and violence in public or more appropriately global view (they can whack all they want in the privacy of their cold isd chambers) and reaching out to the rioters to sue for peace. this has never been tried anywhere in the world, including liberal western europe, and it's innovative and ground-breaking for sg to do the "very soft" approach. it may be a start of something new to world governance: sinkapore spring. and universal utopia may follow thereafter. hiding a bunch in an ambulance is unheard of and nothing short of a once in a lifetime miracle since only the dead is a drunk. nobel peace prize candidate for 2014 - the spf. :p

Devil advocating for the PAP is an oxymoron. They are already devils, and everyone knows what they are about. You don't need to advocate for them. There will always be people like you that will still love and support the PAP even while their mother/sister/wife is being gangraped by a mob in Little India.

Regarding racial underpinnings, you need to ask yourself one thing. What was the racial composition of the rioters? Were they a cross section of singapore society? Or were they entirely composed of one race? When members of only 1 race start a violent riot and NO OTHER RACES join in, in cosmopolitan SIngapore, than it has racial underpinnings for sure. Only a fool cannot see that. Lets face it, many other nationalities and ethnicity gather all over SIngapore. The Filipinos have their own sites, PRCs have their own sites, and if the Filipinos were to run amok and riot in Lucky Plaza one day, it would be called a Filipino riot too. This particular race of people are drawn to riot and violence at the scene of fatal accidents. It happens in their home country all the time, they have a mob justice mentality. They are Indians, and its their race. So, get off your high horse.

Regarding your so call "soft approach", only you will see it as that. The soft approach does not work when dealing with rioters, and your "soft approach" really is interpreted by everyone else in the world, including fellow singaporeans as weakness, incompetence, and fear of repurcussions from a large country.

In my opinion, the police simply haven't had enough practice dealing with riots because NONE of those who responded have ever seen a riot in their lives and that includes the commanders.

It takes a while to get used to being able to aim a gun at a fellow human being and pull the trigger even if it's rubber bullets.

The only way the police can get better at it is for Singapore to have more riots on a regular basis. The response will get better each time a riot occurs and the riot police will be able to calibrate their actions appropriately.

The problem with the Pappy government is that they think we're all idiots. "Police responded with maximum constraint" my ass. The whole world could see that the police response was more comical than an episode of the keystone cops. If the pappies simply admitted that the police were overwhelmed and did not know what to do, it would have salvaged the last bit of credibility they might have.

Trying to spin a positive story out of catastrophic fail simply does not work in this day and age when they no longer control the media.

In my opinion, the police simply haven't had enough practice dealing with riots because NONE of those who responded have ever seen a riot in their lives and that includes the commanders

i sincerely believe that the SAF paper generals haven't had any enough battle experience too :D:D:D

In my opinion, the police simply haven't had enough practice dealing with riots because NONE of those who responded have ever seen a riot in their lives and that includes the commanders.

It takes a while to get used to being able to aim a gun at a fellow human being and pull the trigger even if it's rubber bullets.

The only way the police can get better at it is for Singapore to have more riots on a regular basis. The response will get better each time a riot occurs and the riot police will be able to calibrate their actions appropriately.

The problem with the Pappy government is that they think we're all idiots. "Police responded with maximum constraint" my ass. The whole world could see that the police response was more comical than an episode of the keystone cops. If the pappies simply admitted that the police were overwhelmed and did not know what to do, it would have salvaged the last bit of credibility they might have.

Trying to spin a positive story out of catastrophic fail simply does not work in this day and age when they no longer control the media.

Bestest post ever from u!. My heartiest congratulations! I agree with every word u said and I am sure most forumers do too. Guess what, I am beginning to like u. Haha.

That shows what a shallow person you are. Liking someone just because you happen to agree with them is the response of a simpleton.

I have far more admiration for those who disagree with me and respond with gusto.

Yes, you are right. But I maintain that the writing was on the wall. If you look at the whole incident over the SBS bus drivers or other incidents of factory workers showing up en masse at MOM, these incidents could have easily turned into rioting too. Only the PAP can be so blind and stupid as not to see that many of these workers are not happy here, and they feel they have been cheated and exploited by employers/agents, and what not. They feel there is no recourse for them, and they are not educated and prone to these sort of behaviours in their home country. Its easy for them to vent in this manner, although there is no excuse for it. The PAP just consider them as cash cow, collecting woirker levies every month from them, and making the GLCs more money by keeping the labour costs down. But there is no such thing as a free lunch. There are always consequences. But to not even have the basic riot weaponry available at hand like tear gas and rubber bullets is ridiculous. This goes way beyond lack of experience. Has something changed that I am not aware of? If I recall, the riot police used to be based at Bartley Road Mount Vernon camp and they were conmprised of Gurhkas with water canon vehicles and what not. I used to see them train constantly when I when to school nearby. What happened to them? These Gurkhas were tough mothers, I don't think they would have had any problems putting down these 400 rioters. All I will say is that its by sheer luck no one was killed by the rioters. It could have easily gone from a bad to a worse situation. But, you will always have PAP apologists and balls lickers here. They need a job too.

That shows what a shallow person you are. Liking someone just because you happen to agree with them is the response of a simpleton.

I have far more admiration for those who disagree with me and respond with gusto.

To: Samy Leong
And disliking someone just because you happen to disagree with them is the response of a deluded, overbearing manipulative pieceofshit. There are 2 examples I could cite of such people, but you wouldn't like it.

To: Papsmearer
My comments on your post are as follows:

1. Thanks for the effort, good points, too long and wordy.

2. If this was written 10 to 15 years ago, it would be an eye-opener. Now? I'm afraid most of us know all that already.
The only things to do now are to criticise and mock them as much as possible, reduce their domination in parliament via the vote and give trouble to the porlumpars, without doing anything illegal.

3. The riot had nothing to do with race, jiasaiandsee is rite on that count I'm afraid.

4. Sinkies are easy pickings for them, all other countries and their citizens, they have to consider many factors, including their type of "diplomacy", how they appear to the first world, and their gdp-linked-cash-registers. This most of us also know, the key question is "Do you know who started this mentality?"

5. There will only be tough action when one of the elites or their family members are affected.
Till then, there will be all sorts of wayang and shenanigans, but all that is going on in their minds is "kah ch$ng!!!!".
Again, ask you the same question as in point number 4. Who is responsible for this?

i sincerely believe that the SAF paper generals haven't had any enough battle experience too :D:D:D

The stinkapore paper generals should start a war with any of our neighbours.
That will be a real eye opener for them and the fucking PAP as singaporeans will know which end of the gun they will point to.

I like your style and the ability of a chameleon. Your art of insults is second to none and you are also capable of rising from your coffin when a situation called for.

Cheers & Merry Christmas!

To: Samy Leong
And disliking someone just because you happen to disagree with them is the response of a deluded, overbearing manipulative pieceofshit. There are 2 examples I could cite of such people, but you wouldn't like it.

To: Papsmearer
My comments on your post are as follows:

1. Thanks for the effort, good points, too long and wordy.

2. If this was written 10 to 15 years ago, it would be an eye-opener. Now? I'm afraid most of us know all that already.
The only things to do now are to criticise and mock them as much as possible, reduce their domination in parliament via the vote and give trouble to the porlumpars, without doing anything illegal.

3. The riot had nothing to do with race, jiasaiandsee is rite on that count I'm afraid.

4. Sinkies are easy pickings for them, all other countries and their citizens, they have to consider many factors, including their type of "diplomacy", how they appear to the first world, and their gdp-linked-cash-registers. This most of us also know, the key question is "Do you know who started this mentality?"

5. There will only be tough action when one of the elites or their family members are affected.
Till then, there will be all sorts of wayang and shenanigans, but all that is going on in their minds is "kah ch$ng!!!!".
Again, ask you the same question as in point number 4. Who is responsible for this?

Yes, I knew it was wordy, and that is why I pre-apologize in the last paragraph. My target audience was more the thinking person, who would find the read interesting. If people are looking for a 2 sentence impact statement, they will not get it from me. Regarding your comments that most people already know this, well, I beg to differ. As recently as a couple of years ago, 60.1% of the population obviously did not know this, because they still voted for the PAP. And even those that did not vote for the PAP are unaware of the HDB and CPF scams run by the PAP to cheat $billions from the citizens. Singaporeans by and large are not able to reason it out, or put 2 and 2 together, or really sit down and try and figure what is really going on. Even educated ones. They are just not mentally trained that way. Either that, or the reality of the situation is so bad that they prefer to live in disillusionment rather than admit their lifes and futures under the PAP are really as pathetic as what we say here in the Forum.

As recently as a couple of years ago, 60.1% of the population obviously did not know this, because they still voted for the PAP. And even those that did not vote for the PAP are unaware of the HDB and CPF scams run by the PAP to cheat $billions from the citizens.

Out of the 60.1% a large number of them are enjoying the good life here in Singapore and see no reason to rock the boat. I do not see much effort by the oppo to win over some of these 60.1%.

I do not see much effort by the oppo to win over some of these 60.1%.

why? the PAP is already doing a great job pissing a good portion of their supporters off :p:p:p

That's correct that it is for the PAP to lose their votes rather than the opps' efforts to win. They are the vultures to pick up the spoils, which is not saying much about their abilities to lead and manage the country. I voted the opp in the last elections and probably will vote them in again for I know they will not win enough seats to topple the PAP, not this coming elections.

... "Police responded with maximum constraint" ...
where u got tis from? ...

u shud + constraint vs restraint 2 ur sig ... :rolleyes:

Out of the 60.1% a large number of them are enjoying the good life here in Singapore and see no reason to rock the boat. I do not see much effort by the oppo to win over some of these 60.1%.

This is a myth. You should really talk to these so call people enjoying the good life. I know a dentist, he is doing very well in singapore. He owns a few dental offices (in a partnership with other dentists), and even opened a branch in JB. He is really loaded, rich as hell, and family is related to one of Temasek Holding's director. This guy is not only wealthy and politically connected, he is easily the top 5% of elites in SIngapore. Well, guess what, he has moved to Canada now. Just got his landed immigrant visa, and opened a dental clinic there. He still comes back to singapore very often because he still owns the clinics here. He will not talk bad about the PAP in front of you, but he will tell you there are so many constraints in SIngapore. Imagine some one like this who is really enjoying the good life, and he is gone. I know many other elites or children of elites that are not in SIngapore anymore. Even you know this. If Wooden's daughter decided to return to live in SIngapore, she will no doubt enjoy the good life.

The very large majority of people who voted for the PAP can be categorized in the following:

a) Older people who remembered the good days, and are too kiasu to risk their miserable existence on a new party.
b) people who have been so brainwashed by the PAP, maybe all the way back to the PAP kindergarten days that they are incapable of any other choice.
c) Civil servants (like teachers and what not) who are so kiasu to lose their rice bowl if another govt, takes charge.
d) Just plain stupid people without the ability t0 reason.

The above people are largely not living the good life. They are overworked, stressed, and pack like sardines into their HDB rented flats.

Yeah, u have a good point. Just give the PAP enough rope to hang themselves. During elections, all the Oppo has to do is to remind the people of the past PAP cockups, get their blood boiling before they go to the polls.

... If you look at the whole incident over the SBS bus drivers or other incidents of factory workers showing up en masse at MOM, these incidents could have easily turned into rioting too. Only the PAP can be so blind and stupid as not to see that many of these workers are not happy here, and they feel they have been cheated and exploited by employers/agents, and what not. They feel there is no recourse for them, and they are not educated and prone to these sort of behaviours in their home country. Its easy for them to vent in this manner, although there is no excuse for it. .......

Some think it is the PAPs intention to convert enough foreigners into Sporeans to win future elections. With the PAP alienating just about everyone, this strategy may backfire on them.

Its not possible to do this. Firstly, only a citizen can vote. Even PRs cannot vote. Many who get PRs are not going to convert to citizens due to the fact they are supposed to give up their original citizenship, plus they have to face NS commitments for their sons and what not. Many of those that do take singapore citizenship are just using it to apply to western countries like UK, US, Canada, etc. Its alot easier to get into these countries if you are a SIngapore citizens versus a citizen of China or India. Finally, of all the PRs that convert to citizens and stay, its not certain that all will vote for the PAP. There is some level of dissatisfaction there too. So, in the end, I am really doubtful of the net votes they can get from new citizens..