• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The 13th month so-called "Bonus"

bushtucker

http://asingaporeanson.blogspot.com/2011/10/coveted-13th-month-bonus-in-singapore.html?spref=fb

QUOTE:

There is only 12 months in a year. When you get paid a '13th month' of wages, you will feel delighted, no? No. Why do you think footballers in the English Premier League are paid weekly?

Ponder over these points.

Unless you are on commission or special bonus wage schemes, chances are you are paid a fixed amount of money monthly in Singapore.

Is there a possibility you get paid $10/hour on some days and $12/hour on some days in your course of work over the year? Of course not. You get paid the same rate year in year out, until you get a raise. If that's the case,

"Why are you paid the some amount of money in January and February?"

If you still don't get it. There are 31 days in January and there are 28 (normally) days in February. The question now - are you overpaid for February or underpaid in January? You choose what you want to believe in.

To me, February is the only month you get paid correctly in the whole year in Singapore. Employers in Singapore will never overpay you in February. Fat hope and you know it. There are four weeks in a month and we get paid for 28 days in a month. that's it. Straightforward.

In short we are underpaid in every other month other than February.

January - 3 days
March - 3 days
April - 2 days
May - 3 days
June - 2 days
July - 3 days
August - 3 days
September - 2 days
October - 3 days
November - 2 days
December - 3 days

3 + 3 + 2 + 3 + 2 + 3 + 3 + 2 + 3 + 2 + 3 = 29 days.

The shorter way to calculate this would be:

1 month 4 weeks.
You get paid 12 times a year = 12 x 4 = 48 weeks.
There are 52 weeks in a year. 52 - 48 = 4 weeks unpaid

The fact is that Singapore employers hold 29 days of your pay over the year and could refuse to pay you your rightful money if you did not 'perform'. Even if they do it, that meant many employees in Singapore did not get any bonuses from their companies at all. The 13th month is your pay. It is Not a bonus!

In reality, if they pay us back the '13th month bonus', they employer still owe us 1 day's wages (29 - 28) and get away with it year after year, decade after decade. If you leave the company before the year is up your '13th month bonus' is forfeited instead of pro-rated. That's robbery.

This is ridiculous. The manpower laws in Singapore are not stopping the businesses against such unfair practices and the NTUC is not doing their job fighting for the rights of workers.

The next time you receive your "13th month bonus", ask yourself why are you feeling so happy getting back what you deserve in the first place?

UNQUOTE

Everytime Govt give handouts sioux sinkies also happy like fuck....they dun realize that's our money to begin with.

The shady practises is not only limited to the so called 13 month "bonus".
We are also forced to give the gov't a low interest loan called the CPF.:rolleyes:

If we have a maid, we have to pay the gov't more than the maid:eek:
We are also paying water conservation fee, high electricity prices, TV license(now shifted elsewhere), COE, ERP,....

With so many hidden taxes in Spore it's really surprising some people go around claiming that Spore is cheep, cheep:eek:

Only those working in Gahment guarantees with 13 month... Those in private sector, boss will want his profits first and the remains are shared among the staff. Anything extra, his will give you in red packet during Chinese new year.

Everytime Govt give handouts sioux sinkies also happy like fuck....they dun realize that's our money to begin with.

"Government is the great fiction through which everybody endeavors to live at the expense of everybody else." - Frédéric Bastiat

Yah. Private sector not guranteed got 13th month. Can complain to MOM since it is our salary in the 1st place?

Only those working in Gahment guarantees with 13 month... Those in private sector, boss will want his profits first and the remains are shared among the staff. Anything extra, his will give you in red packet during Chinese new year.

Yah. Private sector not guranteed got 13th month. Can complain to MOM since it is our salary in the 1st place?

Singapore workers no voice in MOM, if you are, ah tiongs, ah nehs, bangla dun, pinoys, they scared like shits, they even have what that's migrant workers whatever to draw 'blood' for them; if not their respective embassies with raise 'hell'.

You go compalin to your so-called locale union...they will tell you, it is National policy & for the good of the nation. You can't pay PUB, HDB...etc, these will tell, you no good!:mad:

Adolf would be proud if he were still alive today. :)

That's why in Aussie, the wages goes by week instead of month. Paid weekly, fortnightly...

Never ever join those useless Unions.. These fucktard Union reps are plain useless.. MOM and NTUC are the same.. Preaching so much to workers to Upgrade, Upgrade, Upgrade... KNN, you can't expect a 75 year old Ah Pek kopitiam cleaner to upgrade his skills till he up the lorry..

NTUC ==>>> Never Trust Union Cunts..!!!

And we were taught in Mathematics that while one month is made up of four weeks, one month is also made up of 30 days.

At least for you useless workers you still get something which is better than nothing. Some companies I heard don't even give a damn about the 13th month pay at all. They just pay per se like every other month.

And we were taught in Mathematics that while one month is made up of four weeks, one month is also made up of 30 days.

At least for useless workers like me i still get something which is better than nothing. Some companies I heard don't even give a damn about the 13th month pay at all. They just pay per se like every other month. :)

I think this is very much in a chinese company only. All the private sector I've worked in, 13 months is also in my employment contract (I insist on it) and bonus is additional.