• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Thank you Goh Chok Tong for this one good act

My heritage is Peranakan....... Mandarin is not my mother tongue. Hanyu Pinyin is alien to my Malayan Chinese culture..... It was forced upon me by the Ministry of Education.

Your chinese culture may be closer to the PRC..... mine certainly isn't.

China is not my Motherland.

And I certainly resent the way my Peranakan culture had been destroyed by the PAP, although LKY was himself a Peranakan......

As long as you have chinese genes in your blood, you are forever a chinese, no matter how you deny it.

Ask yourself, what language would you take as 2nd language during that time? Bahasa? Tamil?

As much as I hate China now, but I will fight for China if SG licked the Westerner's butt IF there's a war

LEE KUAN YEW destroyed Peranakan culture including our dialect names, but he himself did not use Pinyin in his name. He kept his "Lee" instead of "Li"

But he was ashamed of his Western name "Harry". Peranakans were the earliest Chinese to use Western names although they may not be Christians. Peranakans are open to adopt the culture of the land which they settled in..... to us Dialect names and Western names ARE part of this Peranakan culture.....

Peranakans must stand up for their rights and make known to others we are different from the other later arrivals from China, and we have as much rights to our culture as any other Singaporean..... so please do not assume that we are the same as other Chinese Singaporeans..... in fact, I see myself as Malayan Chinese in ethnicity ( not your typical "Chinese"), and Singaporean only in my citizenship.

So long we keep to our culture and traditions, that matters.

Whether one speak Teochew, Hokkien, Cantonese, Hakka etc etc, they are all Chinese.

Can anyone say i am a lesser Chinese just cos i dont have hanyu pinyin name in my IC?

Or I am a lesser Chinese or I am embarrass to be a Chinese just cos I dont adopt hanyu pinyin name?

This episode also reminded me luckily i did not heed their call to restrict my family to 2 child policy!:mad:

Oh yes. I am proud to be fm the Teochew clan. And i love to watch Teochew opera.

Peranakans were forced to take Chinese as their Second Language in schools..... we were given no choice.

There was no Peranakan Language classes in schools, although we comprised a significant percentage of the Chinese population.... and we were not allowed to take Malay, unlike earlier generations of Peranakans who were allowed to choose between Chinese or Malay as their second language.

My heritage is Peranakan....... Mandarin is not my mother tongue. Hanyu Pinyin is alien to my Malayan Chinese culture..... It was forced upon me by the Ministry of Education.

Your chinese culture may be closer to the PRC..... mine certainly isn't.

China is not my Motherland.

And I certainly resent the way my Peranakan culture had been destroyed by the PAP, although LKY was himself a Peranakan......
Vast majority of sinkie Chinese are not peranakan, and we are happy to return to the right and proper way to pronounce our Chinese names. Don't force your love of colonial days on us, thank you very much.

The DNA of the Perakans are different from the other local Chinese..... our Y-chromosome originated from China, but our X-chromosome and mitochrondia bits and pieces were south east Asian.....Malay, Batak, Thai, etc.....

Means our Chinese forefathers migated to the Malay Peninsular and screwed the local women shiok shiok.......
:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Vast majority of sinkie Chinese are not peranakan, and we are happy to return to the right and proper way to pronounce our Chinese names. Don't force your love of colonial days on us, thank you very much.

Neither should you force your Cheena ways on us Perankan Chinese.... we have our rights too.....

Peranakan is Mother = chinese, Father = Malay or the other way round? And why Peranakan cultures always associated with those Portuguese decendants har? Sorry ahh, I a bit blur, LOL

You yearn to become a colonial servant with no knowledge or pride in your own heritage. The old dialect English spelling is a joke and slaughtered the Chinese language, yet you want to preserve this colonial "tradition" that pop up only in the last two centuries?

Perhaps you like to regrow your pigs tail so that you can retain the hair style of your great grandfather? Or bind your feet like your great grandmother?

do you only respond to your name being called in Mandarin?

I am a Hokkien and I like the way my name is pronounced in the Hokkien way (spelled in the "dialect English" way), if we follow your argument and use pinyin, then all will be pronounced in Mandarin which is not my true heritage. BTW, pigtails were only used in the Qing Dynasty (ie from the 1600's to 1911), I believe the Chinese traditons and heritage goes back much further.

Peranakans were forced to take Chinese as their Second Language in schools..... we were given no choice.

There was no Peranakan Language classes in schools, although we comprised a significant percentage of the Chinese population.... and we were not allowed to take Malay, unlike earlier generations of Peranakans who were allowed to choose between Chinese or Malay as their second language.
Dude, take a DNA test, you will be surprised that your ancestors came from china, not Malaya. The peranakan culture is an assimilation of Chinese migrants with the aboriginal Malays, and people do not consider peranakan as a distinct race. Should peranakan insist on maintain this relatively new culture that pop up only in the last five centuries? Note that many "peranakan" are marrying Chinese nowadays, so what should these kids associate with?

Peranakan is Mother = chinese, Father = Malay or the other way round? And why Peranakan cultures always associated with those Portuguese decendants har? Sorry ahh, I a bit blur, LOL

I believe that for those with Chinese surnames, their forefathers are Chinese, whereas one of their grandmothers or mothers was non-Chinese

You want to know more about their personal life? I let you know ok? both dunno how to use chopsticks, and 1 dun wear underwear, you believe or not? :D:D:D

i believe ... erection dun wear underwear , :D

I believe that for those with Chinese surnames, their forefathers are Chinese, whereas one of their grandmothers or mothers was non-Chinese
never fully answer my questions leh, that last question leh? :D:D:D

According to Wikipedia:

Notable Perankans of Singapore

Goh Keng Swee - First Deputy Prime Minister of Singapore
Lee Kuan Yew - First Prime Minister of Singapore
Lee Hsien Loong - Third Prime Minister of Singapore, son of Lee Kuan Yew
Wee Kim Wee - Fourth President of Singapore
Dick Lee - Celebrity pop singer, composer and playwright
Pierre Png - Mediacorp artiste
Tony Tan Keng Yam - 7th President of Singapore

Most Peranakans are of Hokkien ancestry, although a sizable number are of Teochew or Cantonese descent.

Originally, the Peranakan were mixed-race descendants, part Chinese, part Malay/Indonesian.
Baba Nyonya are a subgroup within Chinese communities, are the descendants of Sino-indigenous unions in Melaka, Penang, and Indonesia. It was not uncommon for early Chinese traders to take Malay/Indonesian women of Peninsular Malay/Sumatera/Javanese as wives or concubines Consequently the Baba Nyonya possessed a mix of cultural traits.
Written records from the 19th and early 20th centuries show that Peranakan men usually took brides from within the local Peranakan community. Peranakan families occasionally imported brides from China and sent their daughters to China to find husbands.

do you only respond to your name being called in Mandarin?

I am a Hokkien and I like the way my name is pronounced in the Hokkien way (spelled in the "dialect English" way), if we follow your argument and use pinyin, then all will be pronounced in Mandarin which is not my true heritage. BTW, pigtails were only used in the Qing Dynasty (ie from the 1600's to 1911), I believe the Chinese traditons and heritage goes back much further.
I use the pigtail as example to illustrate that the English dialect names is a relic of colonial past, just like pigtail is a relic of Qing dynasty.

These English dialect names are not standardized and many are mispronunciation of the original dialect name too. That's why for the same Chinese family name, you get so many versions of the English dialect spelling. It was the lack of understanding and respect of chinese culture that resulted in the colonial masters imposing these weird english names on chinese.

I take great pride in my name written in Chinese character, and I passed it down to my kids. I use hanyu pinyin for my kids names, so that other Chinese around the world will know that they are of Chinese race.

Is it that important to keep the dialect identity? Probably not because of so many inter-dialect marriages. My dad is teochew, mum is hainanese. My wife Mum is hainanese, dad is cantonese. Now tell me, which dialect group should my kids associate with? I think easier to keep a single Chinese identity under the universally recognized hanyu pinyin.

......... I use hanyu pinyin for my kids names, so that other Chinese around the world will know that they are of Chinese race. .... I think easier to keep a single Chinese identity under the universally recognized hanyu pinyin.

Your kids will be seen by other non-Pinyin kids as children of PRC immigrants........not true Singaporeans....not loyal...no NS liabilities......:D