• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Terrible Terrible JAM @ Marina Ctr! WELL DONE, PAPEE!

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>Sep 23, 2009
</TR><!-- headline one : start --><TR>Caught in F1 road closures <!--10 min-->
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Yeo Ghim Lay
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
caught-ALPHONSUSCHERN.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

The junction at Nicoll Highway and Middle Road became gridlocked by early afternoon, with Traffic Police directing traffic from the centre. --ST PHOTO: ALPHONSUS CHERN
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"-->THE blaring of car horns filled the downtown area near Marina Centre on Wednesday, with motorists caught in the road closures for this weekend's Formula One race.
Despite the Land Transport Authority (LTA) advising motorists about the closures earlier this month, traffic was backed up for more than 1km along the city-bound Nicoll Highway, part of which is closed from Wednesday till next Tuesday.
Most of the motorists looking to turn left onto Raffles Boulevard, which was closed as well, were not able to and had to take a right into Middle Road instead.
As a result, the junction at Nicoll Highway and Middle Road became gridlocked by early afternoon, with Traffic Police directing traffic from the centre.
Drivers impatient with the wait blared their horns repeatedly to no avail.
Those heading to Suntec City said the journey took four to five times longer Wednesday.
Both usually take only five minutes for their journeys.
At Bras Basah Road, motorists were also caught in the crawl. The five-lane road was reduced to 11/2 lanes outside Raffles Hotel, as motorists could only turn left into Beach Road.
Despite the congestion, the LTA said there were no accidents reported in the area.
Read the full report in Thursday's edition of The Straits Times.

chuckchan888

these basterds only care about making $$$ at the expense of public welfare.

the tickets for f1 and concerts are so bloody expensive, beyond the reach of the ordinary sporean anyway, so whose benefit is is for....

>Despite the congestion, the LTA said there were no accidents reported in the area.

Well!, pat themselves on the back for a job well done..of course no accident, nothing is moving...unless a vehicle catches fire..then that's an unnatural occurance :biggrin:

takcheksian

Is there anything PAP does which is for the benefit of the non-elite, non-PAP, Lesser Mortal public?

Please lah, right from the start F1 was for the rich bastards. One ticket cost more than the average (median) income of Sinkies per month.

these basterds only care about making $$$ at the expense of public welfare.

the tickets for f1 and concerts are so bloody expensive, beyond the reach of the ordinary sporean anyway, so whose benefit is is for....

these basterds only care about making $$$ at the expense of public welfare.....

Public welfare :confused: Isn't that something like charity for the masses using tax money?

Spore Inc is all about $$$ lah, for the familee that is.

The quicker more people realise that, the sooner they'll realise they don't need the PAP. :rolleyes:

you have no culture if you complain about some traffic jam.

dun you know what is F1?

dun you know about monaco and F1 there, their citizen also have traffic jam.
did they complain like sinkies.
what a useless people, lucky sinkies going to the way of dodo, because FT going to replace them.

TeeKee

i dun think there's anything cultural about F1...

it's for men with small penises who wanted to show their masculinity..

i dun think there's anything cultural about F1...

it's for men with small penises who wanted to show their masculinity..

there is more culture in F1 than your sing along session in your church in cantonese. really low class. in fact no class.

besotted

F1 kelong should be held in Tuas

Anyway what is so shiok about modified cars going round and round and makeing lots of noise

Only benefit from F1 are the hot babes

Instead of F1 racing we should just have F1 babes, no need to close roads

hillary888

Do Singaporeans really enjoy F1 race? I see it as a motor sport for the Rich. We are simply too small for such sport, so much inconvenience at the expense of normal citizens.

of course sinkies do not enjoy sport like F1 race. they have no culture, they only eat eat eat, eat this eat that, go to that rest, go to that hawker. then shop shop shop, go to that new shopping complex, a new one open, never see a shopping complex before, all crowd there to look see look see.
that all sinkies do, of course, sinkies do not enjoy F1. you have no culture.

cass888

Is there anything PAP does which is for the benefit of the non-elite, non-PAP, Lesser Mortal public?

Please lah, right from the start F1 was for the rich bastards. One ticket cost more than the average (median) income of Sinkies per month.

That is so untrue.

i_am_belle

ever the survivor in a place that is getting harder & harder to live in by the day -- i avoid that area like the plague ...

bet those angmo FTs/expats are so excited abt this weekend they could shit in their pants ...

so many of my colleagues late for work ... the average HDB heartlander couldnt give a rat's arse abt F1 ...

ever the survivor in a place that is getting harder & harder to live in by the day -- i avoid that area like the plague ...

Traffic jams are all too common in Spore :(

Other than the normal rush hour traffic jams, theres all those created by the construction projects .

It gets worst with those special events in the months of August(National Day), Sept(F1), Oct(Obamas visit),..

Its no wonder Sporeans take the oppurtunity to visit JB, Batam, LOS,... whenever they hace a break :rolleyes: