Temasek review is back.

Just as expected so many bad new about YOG.

Dear readers,

We have received feedback from readers that some were unable to access our site during random period of the day since 3 days ago.

gwe94867193Our in-house technical have consulted with our host and the issue is attributed to a massive increase in our daily traffic by almost 5 times (500+ request per sec) causing increase load and demand on our present server cluster. As it stands now, our 2 server’s capabilities are almost maxed.

We have since instructed our host to deploy another server adding to the present cluster to handle the additional traffic and would like to urge our readers to avoid visiting our site during peak hours ( lunch and dinner time ) till the new server is deployed. Otherwise, we will have no choice but to firewall a certain chunk of connections from the respective ISPs to keep the site up and running.

Should “rationing” be required due to high load, the following chunk of IPs will be blocked respectively:

1. 220.255.0.0/18 : 8 am to 9 am, 7 pm to 10 pm ( SingNet )

2. 218.186.0.0/18 : 9 am to 10 am, 12 pm to 3 pm ( StarHub )

3. All known Proxy & VPN servers from Woodstock Fdcservers, (USA) netblocks.

* Other direct allocation netblocks will also be restricted depending on the number of connections originating from them on a need-to basis.

Our present servers are 2 x Xeon 3240 HT c/w 8gb RAM and we will be adding another CoreI7 920 with 16gb RAM to the cluster.

Presently, our site is 100% sustained by our advertising revenues and we have not been soliciting for donations. However, advertising can only help so much and with the new server, it will be added cost for us.

As such, we would like to urge readers who genuinely believe in our cause to make a token donation to help us sustain our site by using the “Support Our Site” form on the widget bar, below right.

Donations received will be used solely for the initial setup and configuration of the new server while the leases will still be covered by our advertising revenues.

Non-recurring donation can be made with Debit or Credit card through MoneyBookers (www.moneybookers.com) and all information provided will remain STRICTLY CONFIDENTIAL with our processor.

Please note that we DO NOT accept PayPal and our previous PayPal account is no longer in use.

Thank you.

Molina Han,

Managing Editor, Temasek Review

Cestbon, you should refrain from going TR lah, it will damage your brain, LOL :p:p

Can still ask for donations? knn.... need so powerful server to host website meh? LOL :D:D

Seldom visit the TR. Because yesterday someone post that TR been block. Just curious.
More PAP block more curious to know. Human nature mah.