• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Teacher accompanies students for contest abroad as wife was dying from cancer

The 52-year-old wanted out, but his wife insisted that he go. 'She said it was not on, and that I had to go because I couldn't let the children down. It was their dream to take part in the competition.

i respect that man ...hes not selfish . he love his job and have responsiblity in his work ( i think thats why his wife love him for that ) . his wife is also very understanding supported him all the way . amazing couple . most sinkie only know how to take MC if got chance ...;)

ps: im sure the school's management did ask him to take leave ...

alot of you out there always think why work so hard for company . those who said that obviously dont like their own job . if you love what you do , you dont even feel tired at all ...its passion .

the teacher dont want to dissapoint those kids ..great teacher . this is one thing sinkies will never learn ...;)

I have ever looked into the eyes of a person about to die from cancer.. and all I can see is fear, no matter how well the person is mentally and spiritually (religiously) prepared to meet the maker..

if the husband is as understanding and supportive as the wife, nothing is more important than just staying by her side.. that is the least he should do..

:)

I have ever looked into the eyes of a person about to die from cancer.. and all I can see is fear, no matter how well the person is mentally and spiritually (religiously) prepared to meet the maker..

if the husband is as understanding and supportive as the wife, nothing is more important than just staying by her side.. that is the least he should do..

:)

staying by her side will not make her feel better ...what about those living childrens ? they do need that teacher for his support .

for your information . i have seen alot of ppl die infront of me . and i know alot of ppl who lost their love ones in japan tsunami and phuket tsunami . remember life still goes on for others .

if one day im in my death bed , i want my love ones to contiue what they are doing and they must have responsiblity in whatever they do . if they cant see me for the last time due to some work or problem ...i will be understanding .

staying by her side will not make her feel better ...what about those living childrens ? they do need that teacher for his support .

for your information . i have seen alot of ppl die infront of me . and i know alot of ppl who lost their love ones in japan tsunami and phuket tsunami . remember life still goes on for others .

if one day im in my death bed , i want my love ones to contiue what they are doing and they must have responsiblity in whatever they do . if they cant see me for the last time due to some work or problem ...i will be understanding .

there are other ways to make up for the living children, right? and if they know that their teacher is a caring husband, they would learn one precious lesson...

seeing ppl dying is one thing... look straight into the eyes of those who are facing death, you will see a different thing.. I have seen husband walked away when the wife was dying, because he dared not see straight into her eyes.. the feeling is really terrible..

everyone dies one day.. the living should continue living... just make the passing a little more comfortable for the ones you love... that is the very last thing you can give her..

cheers

there are other ways to make up for the living children, right? and if they know that their teacher is a caring husband, they would learn one precious lesson...

seeing ppl dying is one thing... look straight into the eyes of those who are facing death, you will see a different thing.. I have seen husband walked away when the wife was dying, because he dared not see straight into her eyes.. the feeling is really terrible..

everyone dies one day.. the living should continue living... just make the passing a little more comfortable for the ones you love... that is the very last thing you can give her..

cheers

i think the children needed their fav teacher for support . yes , those children might learn one " precious " lesson . but let us put it this way , if those children can understand what their teacher is going through now , they might become a better person because their beloved teacher has given them support even his own wife is in the death bed .

I have seen husband walked away when the wife was dying, because he dared not see straight into her eyes.. the feeling is really terrible..

i understand what you are saying , because my aunt husband passed away 3 years ago ..and she also dare not look into her eyes ...because he is feeling pain . she does not want to see her own husband in pain ...its really sad .

I am sure if he did something noble or important, it would make sense. For a band competition, this seems really silly. It reflects badly on the Principal and the Ministry of Education. I am sure if a call for help was made to other schools or even to organisations like the Police and the Arny which have marching and pipe bands, qualified people would have stepped forward. Lets face it is very unlikely that his students play instruments in a different way.

Sometime people are in a spot and cannot think rationally. This is when their superiors and colleagues must step in.

This is not operation Operation Overland where he is has been assigned to lead the invasion of Europe and the weather provides a small window to execute and the lives of many are in his hand.

The press editor is also another idiot to allow the running of such a story. This is a classic case of a story turning a supposed or intended hero into an idiot. This is not about not being with his dying wife but about for a silly reason and I am sure if he had taught his students well, they would still have done very well.

Priest lah.

If one trains the trainees well, and equip them with the skills and confidence, the trainer do not need to be around for the final execution. And please bear in mind that he had to fly back on the day of the competition..........

The execution of committment and loyalty in this case is misplaced with wrong objectives.

alot of you out there always think why work so hard for company . those who said that obviously dont like their own job . if you love what you do , you dont even feel tired at all ...its passion .

the teacher dont want to dissapoint those kids ..great teacher . this is one thing sinkies will never learn ...;)

I always thought you are a sensible poster, but now I can see u are truly FUCKED up. U obviously do not know what your priorities are. That is sad and pathetic. Your first and by far highest priority is to your family. If your wife is dying, you owe it to her to stay by her side. There are so many things to discuss, so many dreams to share, so many things to tell her in the hours before her death. Most of us do not know when we will die, it could be very sudden, and than we wish we could have said things to the deceased before they departed the world. He has an opportunity to do that and he did not. I don't know if this teacher has children, but if I were his child, I will hate him for choosing a bunch of students over my own mother. How well does he know these students, will they ever see him again after they leave school? Was he trying to impress the principal with his dedication?

This teacher is a poster boy for what is wrong with SIngapore. Everyone has their priorities wrong. That is why they keep voting the PAP. That is why they have the education system that they have, and the stresses that they have. Sad.

Priest lah.

If one trains the trainees well, and equip them with the skills and confidence, the trainer do not need to be around for the final execution. And please bear in mind that he had to fly back on the day of the competition..........

The execution of committment and loyalty in this case is misplaced with wrong objectives.

of course if one trains the trainee well , the trainer do not have to be around ...but we are talking about small group of school kids who needed support from their fav teacher .

he fly back on the day of the competition ? sorry if i did left that out when reading the news . my mistake .

My advice to ppl is don't even wait. Tell them even if they are currently healthy and well.

.....................There are so many things to discuss, so many dreams to share, so many things to tell her in the hours before her death. Most of us do not know when we will die, it could be very sudden, and than we wish we could have said things to the deceased before they departed the world...............

I always thought you are a sensible poster, but now I can see u are truly FUCKED up. U obviously do not know what your priorities are. That is sad and pathetic. Your first and by far highest priority is to your family. If your wife is dying, you owe it to her to stay by her side. There are so many things to discuss, so many dreams to share, so many things to tell her in the hours before her death. Most of us do not know when we will die, it could be very sudden, and than we wish we could have said things to the deceased before they departed the world. He has an opportunity to do that and he did not. I don't know if this teacher has children, but if I were his child, I will hate him for choosing a bunch of students over my own mother. How well does he know these students, will they ever see him again after they leave school? Was he trying to impress the principal with his dedication?

This teacher is a poster boy for what is wrong with SIngapore. Everyone has their priorities wrong. That is why they keep voting the PAP. That is why they have the education system that they have, and the stresses that they have. Sad.

passion in your work is not for everyone ...especially sinkies . what for stay by her side if theres work to be done ? im not sure who he is trying to impress ...but if he really love his job to that extend we should respect his choice and his wife choice .

How well does he know these students, will they ever see him again after they leave school?

again ...rewards ? you mean when one do good must expect certain kind of rewards ? thats fuckup mentality .

My advice to ppl is don't even wait. Tell them even if they are currently healthy and well.

yes..that i 100% agree with you ..dont have to wait until love ones is on death bed and kpkb saying how they love them or miss them ....

Yes. Please read again.

And school kids can be confidence trained and organised among themselves. And I leave you with this for your thoughts;

When one leads his/her team to success and the team praises his/her leadership that they could not have done it without him.......he is a good leader.

When one leads his/her team to success and the leader takes all the credit to him/herself.......he is a bad leader

When one leads his/her team to success and the team said they did it!..............the best leader

of course if one trains the trainee well , the trainer do not have to be around ...but we are talking about small group of school kids who needed support from their fav teacher .

he fly back on the day of the competition ? sorry if i did left that out when reading the news . my mistake .

Yes. Please read again.

And school kids can be confidence trained and organised among themselves. And I leave you with this for your thoughts;

When one leads his/her team to success and the team praises his/her leadership that they could not have done it without him.......he is a good leader.

When one leads his/her team to success and the leader takes all the credit to him/herself.......he is a bad leader

When one leads his/her team to success and the team said they did it!..............the best leader

i dont know if i stay here for around 10 years that my brain also kenna infacted . i believe a good leader is a leader who lead all the way and wont be distracted by any incident ...of course we have feeling and emotion but dont let feeling and emotion control your action .

I am sure if he did something noble or important, it would make sense. For a band competition, this seems really silly. It reflects badly on the Principal and the Ministry of Education. I am sure if a call for help was made to other schools or even to organisations like the Police and the Arny which have marching and pipe bands, qualified people would have stepped forward. Lets face it is very unlikely that his students play instruments in a different way.

Sometime people are in a spot and cannot think rationally. This is when their superiors and colleagues must step in.

This is not operation Operation Overland where he is has been assigned to lead the invasion of Europe and the weather provides a small window to execute and the lives of many are in his hand.

The press editor is also another idiot to allow the running of such a story. This is a classic case of a story turning a supposed or intended hero into an idiot. This is not about not being with his dying wife but about for a silly reason and I am sure if he had taught his students well, they would still have done very well.

errrrr..........Its Operation Overlord hor

You are talking about focus and professional disposition. Leadership is much wider.

i dont know if i stay here for around 10 years that my brain also kenna infacted . i believe a good leader is a leader who lead all the way and wont be distracted by any incident ...of course we have feeling and emotion but dont let feeling and emotion control your action .

You are talking about focus and professional disposition. Leadership is much wider.

yes leadership is much wider but do you agree we should never let emotion to control our thoughts and stop us from doing things ? and everyone have different priorities in life ..and we cant say what is right or what is wrong . we cant judge a person character base on their priorities different then yours .

Yes, I agree 100%. In dying, there are only 3 luxuries. U die painlessly and quickly, you die in your own bed with your family around you, and you know when u will die (within hours timing). This bugger's wife got the 3rd luxury, don't even know it.

passion in your work is not for everyone ...especially sinkies . what for stay by her side if theres work to be done ? im not sure who he is trying to impress ...but if he really love his job to that extend we should respect his choice and his wife choice .

How well does he know these students, will they ever see him again after they leave school?

again ...rewards ? you mean when one do good must expect certain kind of rewards ? thats fuckup mentality .

Why are we still debating this? U are pathetic excuse for a human being. Do you have a wife? If you do, turn to her right now, and explain to her that if she was on her deathbed, your job will still come first over her. See what she says to you.

Let me explain something to you. Most people that have a disease and are dying already feel very bad that they put thier family through all the stress, medical expenses, inconveniences, and soon to be funeral expense, lost of income, etc, from their disease. When she tells the husband to go with the school band, that is her guilt speaking. She is feeling so down on herself that she does not want to inconvenience him anymore. What she is really hoping for in her heart is that he will prove himself to her one last time by saying, "No, I will not go, and I will spend every available moment with you". This would have made her incredibly happy and proud that she has such a husband. Instead, Its too bad she did not hear these words, and even worse, she realised she married an asshole. She tested him before she died and he failed. She knows as well as anyone with half a brain that there will be other band competitions, other children who want to play instruments, and other overseas trips for band contests, BUT there is only one wife, and there is no more time for her.

Judging by your comments, I suggest u see a psychiatrist. I think you are sociopathic.