TB - Who Brought in This 3rd World Disease Again?

[h=2]S’pore TB rates rise for 5th straight year[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
March 26th, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

tuberculosis-300x225.jpg

The Ministry of Health (MOH) released a statement yesterday (25 Mar) revealing that there were 1,560 new tuberculosis (TB) cases among residents last year.

TB has been on the rise for five consecutive years in Singapore. There were 1,533 TB cases among residents in 2011 and 1,478 in 2010.

The number of TB cases involving non-residents (foreigners on longer-term stay for work, study or visit) was 643 cases last year compared to 593 in 2011 and 550 in 2010. This represents an increase of 8.4% for foreign cases last year compared to 7.8% the previous year.

MOH said the upward trend is due to global travel coupled with continued transmission in the community.

It also said the threat of a multi-drug resistant form of TB (MDR-TB) “remains a serious public health challenge”. MDR-TB is resistant to the two most powerful anti-TB drugs – isoniazid and rifampicin, and is more complicated to treat. 8 cases (2 were foreigners) were reported last year compared to 6 (3 were foreigners) in 2011. In 2010, there were only 3 such cases.

Normal TB takes about 6 months to be cured but MDR-TB may take years.

As can be seen from the graph below, the number of TB cases actually fell in the decade from 1998 to 2007. After 2007, the number started to increase and has been increasing for the last five years:
tbgraph.jpg

Interestingly, this increase in the number of new TB cases reported is in tandem with the rise in number of non-residents (foreigners on longer-term stay for work, study or visit) entering Singapore over the same period in the last five years after 2007:
FTpop.jpg

In a report last year, Professor Sonny Wang, director of the TB Control Unit at Tan Tock Seng Hospital said that the surge in TB cases locally might stem from foreigners spreading it here. The MOH is currently reviewing the situation.
Join our TRE facebook page here: http://www.facebook.com/TREmeritus

See? FTs create jobs. This time, in the medical industry. :D

Only Ah nehs got TB meh? I think pinoys and prcs and indons should also be screened carefully.

FT create jobs? Most of the nurses in hospitals are pinoys.. woah.. is this a link??

ah nehs help sglians by increasing our immune system.

doctors in singapore destroyed our immune system by callously prescribing antibiotics for every single damn illnesses.

why? because we have to recover quickly to get back to work and earn less than min wages.

and then MIWs could pay themselves millions because of honey worker bees contributed to our nations gdp.

this is again another cold hard truth.

super TB to singapore, we will die cock stand, we dun have NHS to save us.

We do not need super TB or SARS or Dengue or, we already have NS is killing SINgapore plus the blanc rattus with the pappynovirus, had slowly decimated SINgaporeans..we do not need diseases..

This is sad turn of events. Not sure if people are aware that TB was so prevalent then that Singapore pored lots resources that it became a World expert in it and the UN's WHO began looking towards Singapore for expert help. Now it is back.

lianbeng says: TB is coming back for more bite! so is SARS! :D all those plagues are back for revenge!

I thought all FT have to undergo Health Screening before they are allowed to work here? & medical checks when they renew their WP?? what happened?? the doctors are just putting "ticks" on the forms without actually checking??

DPMTEO_1_0.jpg

This is sad turn of events. Not sure if people are aware that TB was so prevalent then that Singapore pored lots resources that it became a World expert in it and the UN's WHO began looking towards Singapore for expert help. Now it is back.

This is sad turn of events. Not sure if people are aware that badly brought up scroobal's children are so spoilt that they are a pain to anybody who comes into contact with them and people started to wonder who their fucked up parents were. Now the spoilt brats are back.

lianbeng replies: maybe somewhere cock-up liao? :D

Only Ah nehs got TB meh? I think pinoys and prcs and indons should also be screened carefully.

FT create jobs? Most of the nurses in hospitals are pinoys.. woah.. is this a link??
Ah nehs massively abused antibiotics by over prescription and not finishing the drug course, hence the explosion in drug resistant diseases originated from ah neh hospitals.

lianbeng replies: maybe somewhere cock-up liao? :D

There were isolated reports of doctors being fined or suspended because they just put their names and signatures against the FTrash medical reports without actually examining them. The actual number of doctors doing such misdeeds must be higher as a lot of other cases go unreported (in the media) or undetected. :mad::mad: You just need to visit any neighbourhood clinics popular with lots of Ftrash going for medical examinations and you can see the speed at which they are examined, something like 5 minutes a case.... How to detect diseases or illnesses of Ftrash like that???

MOH said the upward trend is due to global travel coupled with continued transmission in the community. ...
ze root coz is overwhelming influx of ft, juz say so! ...

... As can be seen from the graph below, the number of TB cases actually fell in the decade from 1998 to 2007. After 2007, the number started to increase and has been increasing for the last five years: ...

Interestingly, this increase in the number of new TB cases reported is in tandem with the rise in number of non-residents (foreigners on longer-term stay for work, study or visit) entering Singapore over the same period in the last five years after 2007: ...
2007 ... wat happened in 2007? ... ah loon won erections as pm ... emboldened n created mor probs ...

There were isolated reports of doctors being fined or suspended because they just put their names and signatures against the FTrash medical reports without actually examining them. The actual number of doctors doing such misdeeds must be higher as a lot of other cases go unreported (in the media) or undetected. :mad::mad: You just need to visit any neighbourhood clinics popular with lots of Ftrash going for medical examinations and you can see the speed at which they are examined, something like 5 minutes a case.... How to detect diseases or illnesses of Ftrash like that???

lianbeng says: that's the problem with mass production! :D when u slowly use ur hands to mix ingredients to make a cake u r very careful to make sure everything is done according to ur standard but when u put everything into a machine to make many cakes at 1 go, u can expect substandard results of the final product!

They cock-up, we get TB, we die...just like WKS & MSK case...just like the SMRT breakdowns...

lianbeng remembers a case of serious cock-up! :D some doctor injected the semen of another man into the womb of another woman who is not his wife and she became pregnant with his child! how to solve this problem?