• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Tan Kin Lian to withdraw from PE?

Tan Kin Lian hints at withdrawing from election

20110813.145350_20110813-tankinlian.jpg

subtitle_bg_line.gif

AsiaOne
Saturday, Aug 13, 2011

Former NTUC Income Chief Tan Kin Lian said on Friday that he was 'thinking through conditions' he may set for another candidate to gain his support and for himself to withdraw from the race.

Campaign insiders told The Straits Times that Mr Tan might exit the Presidential Election, but has yet to make a final decision.
Mr Tan declined to elaborate.

However, he indicated in his blog that he is keeping his options open.

"Some friends suggested that I consider stepping down to avoid splitting the votes of Singaporeans who prefer to elect a person who is truly independent of the PAP Government.

They suggested that I would gain 'political capital' for making this sacrifice. Having thought over this matter, I am making full preparation for a four-cornered contest," he wrote.

In an email to his team, he said: "I am using the words 'making full preparation' which means the final decision will be made on Aug 17."

This comes a day after the 'four Tans' were cleared for contest in the election. The candidates - Dr Tan Cheng Bock, Dr Tony Tan, Mr Tan Jee Say and Mr Tan Kin Lian - turned up at the Elections Department on Friday to collect their certificates of eligibility.

Calls have mounted for 'non-establishment' candidates to unite behind one Tan.

The arguement is that the 'anti-government' vote may be split among the three - Mr Tan Kin Lian, Dr Tan Cheng Bock and Mr Tan Jee Say - thus clearing the path for former deputy prime minister Tony Tan to the Istana.

However, Dr Tan Cheng Bock and Mr Tan Jee Say told reporters that they were staying put.

Former National Solidarity Party secretary-general Goh Meng Seng told The Straits Times that he would be disappointed if Mr Tan Kin Lian pulled out.

"I think everyone knows a four-cornered fight will benefit Tony Tan. I feel that there should be a politically neutral person in the position of the president and I think Kin Lian is the most neutral among the four. He is the only one who has never contested in a general election," he said.

Mr Anthony Chia, campaign manager for Mr Tan, remains adamant that the team was in the contest to win and that there was 'no Plan B'.

Political observer Alex Au told The Straits Times that he believes that Nomination Day will see just three candidates entering the arena.

Who's that Indian? His bodyguard? His wife looks lau chio except too many wrinkles. Should get some facelift or botox.

F%#@#K another koyok seller, insurance salesman never changes their habits...just like the koyok seller of all, with the props, noise & talk....No Action, Talk Only..he is there for the publicity...what nonsense is he mouthing!!

Imagine this clown was the second best student of his entire cohort at the O levels back then. That should tell you all you need to know about how retarded who grew up prior to the 60s are.

In the picture, he seems to be saying to himself, "Is this a joke or what?"

If you are going to lose anyway,might as well do the correct thing and do your fellow Rafflesians (TCB and TJS) and fellow locals a favour .

Auspicium Melioris Aevi

CCB! He is the one who talk the most then do many actions and stunt for publicity. Now that he know he is very likely to come out last from the PE and likely to lose his deposit now want to withdraw! FUck born loser!!:oIo::oIo::oIo:

COWARD of THE CENTURY!!!! COWARD!!! COWARD!!!!:oIo::oIo:

Stupid #154 non-credible local media is trying to mislead his prospective voters.
Dont worry, TKL is going for nomination next Wednesday and to run for next presidency!

Tan Kin Lian hints at withdrawing from election

subtitle_bg_line.gif

AsiaOne
Saturday, Aug 13, 2011

Former NTUC Income Chief Tan Kin Lian said on Friday that he was 'thinking through conditions' he may set for another candidate to gain his support and for himself to withdraw from the race.

Campaign insiders told The Straits Times that Mr Tan might exit the Presidential Election, but has yet to make a final decision.
Mr Tan declined to elaborate.

However, he indicated in his blog that he is keeping his options open.

"Some friends suggested that I consider stepping down to avoid splitting the votes of Singaporeans who prefer to elect a person who is truly independent of the PAP Government.

They suggested that I would gain 'political capital' for making this sacrifice. Having thought over this matter, I am making full preparation for a four-cornered contest," he wrote.

In an email to his team, he said: "I am using the words 'making full preparation' which means the final decision will be made on Aug 17."

This comes a day after the 'four Tans' were cleared for contest in the election. The candidates - Dr Tan Cheng Bock, Dr Tony Tan, Mr Tan Jee Say and Mr Tan Kin Lian - turned up at the Elections Department on Friday to collect their certificates of eligibility.

Calls have mounted for 'non-establishment' candidates to unite behind one Tan.

The arguement is that the 'anti-government' vote may be split among the three - Mr Tan Kin Lian, Dr Tan Cheng Bock and Mr Tan Jee Say - thus clearing the path for former deputy prime minister Tony Tan to the Istana.

However, Dr Tan Cheng Bock and Mr Tan Jee Say told reporters that they were staying put.

Former National Solidarity Party secretary-general Goh Meng Seng told The Straits Times that he would be disappointed if Mr Tan Kin Lian pulled out.

"I think everyone knows a four-cornered fight will benefit Tony Tan. I feel that there should be a politically neutral person in the position of the president and I think Kin Lian is the most neutral among the four. He is the only one who has never contested in a general election," he said.

Mr Anthony Chia, campaign manager for Mr Tan, remains adamant that the team was in the contest to win and that there was 'no Plan B'.

Political observer Alex Au told The Straits Times that he believes that Nomination Day will see just three candidates entering the arena.

Is he the one who wanted to buy people's vote by declaring that he will donating half his salary to people? That's vote buying according to another Tan. See liao lor - the Chinese say WAN TAN!

Wasn't it one of the Lee who declared he would donate part of his millions to people also.

TT was just trying to debate using phrases and words. The smarter ones shall know how to get around his rebuttals. Fear not!
Some folks will say "ai zai" (maintaining the stead).