• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Taiwanese actor 'Ah Chen' wanted to become a Singaporean

†††††

I want to emigrate here
Actor Aaron Chen planned to become a Singapore citizen six years ago but he is putting it off for now for his children
By rachael boon +
3a.jpg

Popular Taiwanese actor Aaron Chen Chao-jung says he wants to emigrate to Singapore.

He is not just saying that because he is speaking to Singapore media to promote a Chinese New Year concert he is taking part in at Resorts World Sentosa.

The star of popular TV soaps Taiwan Ah Seng (2001) and Taiwan Tornado (2004) was so serious about it, he took concrete steps towards the move.

In 2005, he signed a contract with MediaCorp to work here for two years.

'I was eventually unable to come here because of work commitments in Taiwan. I was all ready to become a Singapore citizen at the time,' he says.

Now, because of his children, he is postponing his relocation plans. Chen intends to make Singapore his home when his son, 11, and daughter, eight, are in their mid-teens.

'In the past few years, Taiwan's development has been stagnant. But each time I come to Singapore, I feel that it is more vibrant,' he says.

Last month, he came here to film The Ultimate Winner, a film about gamblers helmed by local actor Li Nanxing, who is making his directorial debut.

Next month, he will be performing at Resorts World Sentosa's All Star Lunar New Year Concert 2011. Humble and humorous, Chen has no qualms about performing badly onstage because he knows all his fans care about is a glimpse of their idol.

The 42-year-old says: 'I always get teased for appearing confident at concerts. But I never get nervous because when I sing badly, fans don't care. What they care about is that I'm there in person.'

But he is thankful for their devotion because 'the fans have made me who I am today'.

1 Why did you change your name from Jeff to Aaron?

When I went to Brazil in 2008 to film the Chinese thriller Plastic City (2008), the crew wanted my English name but they said Jeff was too 'American' and didn't take to it. I asked for suggestions and 'Aaron' came up. I liked it because I feel that it sounds smarter than Jeff and the name's stuck since.

2 Having begun your career in independent movies such as Lee Ang's Eat Drink Man Woman (1994), did you imagine at the time that you would become a television star?

Never. My love for films has remained unchanged through the years, but back then, being in films didn't allow you to break out and become a superstar because all superstars were from TV stations.

Even though the films I acted in won awards, people in the street would walk past me and not recognise me. With that epiphany, I thought that it was time for me to walk the path of a TV actor in 2000.

3 What's the difference between working in films and television dramas?

Being on a TV show is like drinking a can of Coke, it's a very rushed feeling. Being in a film is like drinking a cup of coffee, it's all about the moment. The two are very different and I particularly love films, because they define life.

4 Do you prefer watching television or going to the movies?

After work, I will sneak into cinemas and watch midnight shows by myself. I love watching movies. In one month, I have to watch four to five films and I will watch all movies except horror films, because I think they are rather nonsensical.

5 How much do you know about Singapore?

In the beginning, I couldn't get used to the way Singaporeans speak, which is a mix of English, Hokkien and other languages. But I realised that it was part of the culture. One day, I had an NG (no-good take) while filming The Ultimate Winner and I said, 'I'm sorry, lah.'

6 Being an auntie favourite like Taiwan Ah Seng, what are your fans like?

Once, I went to the market and a fish-monger recognised me. She was so happy that she stuck her hand out. It was full of fish guts and blood, and she insisted on a handshake. (Laughs) But she felt bad and wiped it on her apron before asking to shake my hand again.

7 Why do you think your fans love you so much?

Maybe it's because when they wave to me, I immediately wave back. But little do they know, I do that because I'm short-sighted and can't wear contact lenses. I don't want them to think I'm aloof, so whenever I think someone is looking in my direction, I will smile or wave, but sometimes I realise they are not looking at me.

8 How would you like to be remembered?

I do not wish for people to remember me. As long as people like me, it's not necessary that they remember me. Instead, I hope they remember the things I've done.

[email protected]

He should read the list of sinkie behavior before he make such dangerous plan.

Sinkies hate Taiwanese . Please no one from Aiwan come .

He obviously thinks Singapore is a bad environment to raise kids.

When FTs don't wanna settle down in Singapore, some forummers here all laugh and say "see I told you...."

When FTs want to come here, the same forummers here say is a mistake!!

So talk like that, you all win liao lor!!! Simi lanjiao also you all kong!!

This forum is moving towards the direction of 3 in 1 and TR!!!

Well done

:(

He should read the list of sinkie behavior before he make such dangerous plan.

Read from you correct?

Maybe he should migrate to Thailand instead?

How about you, you have not migrated there yet?

:D

mmmm...
come let him...
find out he will...
shitty mediacorpse movie production it is like..
:eek: