• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Support Mr. Tan Jee Say to become Singapore's President / Politician / Reformer! No.1

Sperminator

This confidential article summary is written by Mr. Tan Jee Say, he has pinpointed the problems of Singapore, and created a Masterplan to Reform Singapore. It's worth your time to read it. Please support Mr. Tan Jee Say as the President of Singapore! He have the makings of a Great Prime Minister!:cool:

tanjeesay-tessawong.jpg

(1) The Singapore economy has become more volatile in recent years, with business cycle fluctuations becoming more pronounced, and Singapore experiencing three recessions (1998, 2001 and 2009) in the past 15 years, in contrast to only one recession (1985) in the 30 years between 1965 and 1995. The greater volatility led to more job losses that lasted for longer periods. Volatility has resulted in lower growth.

(2) Singapore's low labour productivity growth in recent years is a statistical phenomenon and is the result, not the cause, of our poor economic performance. To focus on raising productivity as a key economic strategy, an old and discredited strategy adopted by the government since the early 1980's, is like putting the cart before the horse - can we expect it to succeed when it has failed to do so in the last 30 years with productivity continuing to be stuck in the lows to this very day in spite of all the high-sounding campaigns by highlevel productivity councils? It will be more helpful if we focus our minds on
economic policy because it is bad economic policy that has resulted in
Singapore's heavy dependence on foreign unskilled and low-skilled workers that in turn pulls down labour productivity.

(3) A major contributor to the increased economic volatility was
manufacturing which has been promoted by the government in the past 5 decades as a key pillar of its economic growth strategy. The strategy was successful in the first 2 decades but by the early 1980's, it was running into bottlenecks as Singapore's constraints manifested themselves. Singapore has little comparative or competitive advantage for manufacturing to flourish as land, labour and skills are in short supply. The manufacturing sector can only remain viable in Singapore through more subsidized factory land and space,
uninterrupted inflow of cheap foreign labour, and generous tax holidays and other giveaways. Such economic distortions in the last thirty years have delayed Singapore's economic restructuring. We cannot afford and should not tolerate further wastage, not even for another year. Two additional factors weigh against manufacturing - firstly, most top students are not opting to read engineering as their first choice in the local universities and polytechnics, a trend that does not augur well for the innovative potential of nor the prospect
for 'complex manufacturing' , a niche that the ESC wants to promote; and secondly, Singaporeans are happier working in the services sector than in manufacturing industry. Without a happy and talented workforce, can complex manufacturing succeed in a sustainable way?
(4) Singapore's future lies in services. We can thrive as a dedicated services hub for the region as we had done so in the past as a vibrant commercial metropolis even before Singapore went into manufacturing in a big way in the 1960's.The rest of the region has also progressed as we have. To continue to be relevant to them, we have to develop into a full-fledged integrated services hub with the best offerings available in the field. It should be knowledge-based
that will capitalise on Singaporeans' high level of education and experience of the world's best practices. It must be the right kind of services that do not exploit or offend the sensitivities of the region. The two huge casinos are the wrong kind of services activities to have. Economic development is more than just about generating jobs and income growth. There is a moral purpose as well, otherwise we might as well turn Singapore into a prostitution hub or a distribution centre for drugs which will bring us untold riches. Economic development is about developing and using human capital to produce decent
and worthwhile goods and services in a sustained way. On the other hand, casinos are a soft option that preys on human weakness to generate profits. They destroy the work ethic and lead to broken families and other social problems. The casinos should be closed down so that Singapore can part company with those who choose to prosper through vices such as gambling, prostitution or drugs; only then can Singaporeans once again walk tall and proud on the high and honourable path to economic development and prosperity. To make up for the economic loss from closing down the casinos, we need to move aggressively to develop those services we are currently good
at providing so as to yield quick returns such as services involving the port, transport connectivity, financial institutions, education and healthcare. While we can be proud of having good basic infrastructure, there are still serious gaps to be filled particularly in education and healthcare. Once these holes are plugged, Singapore will have a fully developed infrastructure that will enable it not only to uplift the well-being and standard of living of its own citizens but also have additional capacity to serve the needs of the region.

(5) It is proposed that a massive $60 billion National Regeneration Plan be rolled out with 6 Regeneration Funds of $10 billion each in the following sectors -

1. Industry Regeneration - to provide funds to assist existing manufacturing companies to shift out into services or to relocate their manufacturing operations to neighbouring countries particularly Malaysia and Indonesia so that they can be near home and family and use the services of Singaporebased firms in accounting, law and finance, thus contributing to the development of Singapore as a services hub. Existing manufacturing firms should not be forced out. They should be allowed to remain in Singapore if they can continue to survive and be profitable like any other business enterprises without depending on special favours from any state agency such as rent subsidy, tax incentives or special allocation of foreign worker quotas.
Existing incentives already granted should be allowed to run their course but no new incentives should be given.

2. Enterprise Regeneration - targetted largely at young Singaporeans whowant to start up their own business ventures particularly in the creative industries; concerned with the generation and exploitation of knowledge and information, they are a key component of the knowledge-based economy. Individual creativity, skill and talent drive these activities which have great potential to create wealth and jobs by generating and exploiting intellectual property. They are the industries of the twenty-first century in which our welleducated and well-travelled young Singaporeans can find traction, do well and
excel. We should use our resources to support and propel them onto the world stage. By providing grants of up to $1 million to each start-up, the $10 billion fund will create 10,000 enterprises who will hire at least 20,000 to 30,000 Singaporean staff and generate business for hundreds if not thousands of firms providing services such as accounting, corporate secretarial, banking and finance, legal and public relations advice.

3. Schools Regeneration - the key to educating the young lies in giving
personal attention to the child. No two children are the same. Each child is unique. Only personal attention can bring out the best in them. This requires smaller class size so that the teacher has fewer pupils to handle and thus can know his or her pupils intimately, identify their weaknesses and strengths correctly and help them accordingly. Unfortunately, the average class size in the schools has remained about the same as it was 30 to 40 years ago. We should reduce the class size by half, to 15 to 20 pupils per class with smaller
class size for weaker pupils. This means doubling the existing resources, that is, training another 30,000 teachers and building another 300 or so schools.

4. Hospitals Regeneration - Singapore is lagging far behind other First
World countries in key indicators of healthcare; we have only 32 hospital beds per 10,000 population, slightly more than half the average number of 58 beds in high income countries, 17 doctors per 10,000 population compared to an average of 28 doctors in other high income countries, and 53 nurses and midwives versus their 81. The $10 billion fund will be used over the next 5 years to add another 8,500 beds in public hospitals and to double the number of healthcare personnel so as to achieve First World norms.

5. Community Regeneration - to rebuild every housing estate into a
multiple-use community with new-generation business parks and offices that integrate with schools, hospitals, polyclinics, day-care centres for kids and the elderly, and other public agencies so as to bring jobs and services closer to the people. Under-employed housewives and healthy senior citizens can then avail themselves of the job opportunities including part-time work while still having
time for taking care of their children. This will help reduce the need for foreign workers. Travel time to workplaces will also be cut, saving transport costs and valuable time for the family. Local communities will be revitalised and rejuvenated, becoming hives of activity again.

6. Family Regeneration - to tackle the root cause of declining birth rate and shrinking family size by taking away the stress and a significant portion of the costs of bringing up children for families. Such costs are not confined to bringing up children in their early years but throughout their life as dependents right up to tertiary institutions. Measures shall include cash grants of $100-300 per month, waiver of all school fees up to university level, free medical and health benefits for mother and children, improved maternity leave terms for
working mothers, introduction of paternity leave and more day- care centres for children and the elderly in nearby precincts of housing estates.

(6) The 6 Regeneration Funds costing a total of $60 billion over 5 years are well within the means of the Government which has accumulated huge surpluses from annual budgets. In the recent 5 years from 2005 to 2009, the surpluses totalled $106 billion, well in excess of the size of the National Regeneration Plan, and there will be a healthy balance left to finance future needs if necessary. There is no need to increase taxes to fund the Regeneration Plan.

(7) Temasek Investment Holdings can also provide funds for the
Regeneration as they would take up less than a third of Temasek's portfolio market value of $186 billion. This can be done through outright sale of nonstrategic investments and companies, or gradual sale of shares in publicly listed companies which are considered strategic investments. Government’s withdrawal from the commercial sector will have positive effect on the development of an enterprise culture in Singapore. We will then move towards a level playing field for private companies as befitting a mature society. Only
when competition is fair and robust can true talent emerge.

(8) Financial Centre - the sale of shares by Temasek companies will improve the depth and breadth of Singapore's equity capital market, a key component of a financial centre's development. To promote the debt capital market, the Government should issue more long dated bonds offering yields in excess of 4 to 5 per cent for Singaporeans to invest with their CPF funds and private savings. To create a more vibrant and competitive banking sector, the
Monetary Authority of Singapore can issue licences for 5 more commercial banks to operate and compete to serve local enterprises who have long complained about being at the mercy of the big 3 banks with their stiff terms ever since consolidation narrowed their choice of banks.

(9) Minimum Wage and Workfare - Our workers deserve a decent and dignified living that is made possible with a minimum wage. The alleged negative effects of a minimum wage are alarmist in nature and do not stand up to practical experience in countries that have implemented a regime of minimum wage; more than 90% of countries in the world have some form of a minimum wage. It will ensure that Singaporean workers are not short-changed and under-cut by foreign workers. A minimum wage is more superior than a levy in reducing the flow of foreign workers. A higher levy raises the cost to an
employer of hiring a foreign worker but the increase in cost goes to
government coffers not to the worker, so the employer ends up coughing out more money for the same quality of worker. On the other hand, a higher wage attracts a higher quality worker as it goes directly to him, so the employer benefits from a higher output, thus contributing to raising the overall productivity level. The Workfare Income Supplement (WIS) is a poor substitute of a minimum wage as it represents only a meagre amount (about $83 a month) and is paid by Government using taxpayers' money and hence does not
hurt the employer who can merrily continue to hire cheap foreign workers. Coming from the taxpayer rather than the employer, the transfer payment protects and enhances the profitability of employers and widens the gap between the rich and the poor. In the 10-year period from 1998-2008, the average incomes of the poorest 20 per cent of households fell by -2.7 per cent, from $1,309 to $1,274 whereas the richest 20 per cent of households saw their
average incomes rose by 53 per cent, from $12,091 to $18,472.

(10) Income Inequality - when growth stops trickling down - The problem of income inequality has become much worse in recent years. Singapore's Gini coefficient (a measure of income inequality from 0 to 1.0 with 0 representing complete equality) has risen from 0.428 in 2002 to 0.471 in 2007 even after accounting for government benefits and taxes [26]. These numbers put Singapore "in league" with poor developing countries of the Third World such as " the Philippines (0.461) and Guatemala (0.483) and worse than China (0.447). Other wealthy Asian nations such as Japan, Korea and Taiwan have more European-style Gini's of 0.249, 0.316 and 0.326." [28] Hasn't Singapore "graduated" from Third World to First World a long while ago and if so, shouldn't Singapore be "in league" with other rich First World societies rather than with poor developing countries?
The conventional wisdom of development economists is that economic growth will "trickle down" and benefit the poor. This was true in the earlier stages of Singapore's economic development but has not been so in recent years as more and more Singaporeans particularly the older ones lost their jobs while those with jobs experienced falls in their real earnings. Yes the GDP has grown and it has trickled down but it flowed through Singaporean workers and bypassed them to benefit cheaper foreign workers at even lower levels. It is hardly surprising that more than half, perhaps more than two thirds of the
112,500 new jobs created in 2010, had gone to and benefitted foreigners. A minimum wage will stem the trickle of jobs downwards to cheaper foreign workers. As for foreigners on "S" and "E" passes which do not require employers to make CPF payment on their behalf (although a small levy is imposed on the "S" passes), an equalisation charge should be imposed on their employers in order to level the field for equivalent Singaporean professionals.

(11) Cost of Living and Government Budget Surpluses - cost of living has crept up sharply in recent years, eating into real earnings; as import prices have been declining, the increase in consumer prices was caused principally by domestic factors where Government policies on labour, land, housing, transport, public utilities, GST (goods and services tax), education and a host of others, have a dominating effect. Instead of using the price mechanism to regulate the supply and demand of public services, the Government should
implement administrative measures. We should undertake a comprehensive review of all Government fees and charges to ensure that the pricing mechanism has not been abused for revenue-raising purposes that have contributed to the accumulation of huge budgetary surpluses. Where abuses have occurred, they should be put right straightaway. We can start by waiving the GST for basic food items, reducing it for others and doing away with it eventually. This will help arrest the decline in the real earnings of Singaporeans and raise their living standards. The huge Government budget surpluses
provide sufficient buffer for Government to reduce or remove unnecessary taxes, fees and charges without the fear that it would result in budget deficits. In fact, the persistently huge budget surpluses recorded year after year imply that the Government has over-taxed the people by raising revenue from them
far in excess of what it needs to provide and keep public services going.

(12) Sustainable Future - The 6 Regeneration Funds and the resulting regional integrated services hub will ensure abundant sustainable jobs and entrepreneurial opportunities for Singaporeans in the next 5 years and well
beyond.

A confidential document belonging to Tan Jee Say
([email protected]) 2010/2011

Char_Azn

Re: Support Mr. Tan Jee Say to become Singapore's President / Politician / Reformer!

Did anyone actually bother reading the whole damn thing and think about the implications of what it brings

I'll not talk too deep into it. Just talk about the one where he wants to move manufacturing away

To summarize. He wants manufacturing out and let it slowly disappear entirely coz it is costing the government money and it depends a lot on FT workforce. Instead he wants to move them out the country and use SG to provide higher level of services e.g. auditing to these factories who have moved overseas

My problem with this stupid plan
1)Have he ever consider the fact that for every freaking factory job in SG, there are a lot of other products and services running that supports these company. Supply chain, Finance services, cleaners, IT, etc. When U shut down 1 factory in SG, you don't just take away the jobs of the pple working in that factory, you also take away the business of other companies that are supporting that factory. Sure you may have a disproportion of Foreigners working in that factory but that same factory is keeping a lot of other Business whom have locals working for them, running. Taking manufacturing totally out of the picture = losing all these businesses and jobs

2)Yes the government is throwing money into manufacturing to keep some of them afloat, this same money is also spent keeping thousands of pple in their job(see pt 1). Once you lose the jobs, they are not going to come back. Just look at the US, they lose tons of manufacturing to China, in their attempt to get some of these jobs back, they try to force China to push up the RMB? U think these will bring manufacturing back to US? Of coz not. It will only push up inflation and plant owners would move the business to cheaper locations like Vietnam or Indon. Once you lose them, it's too late to get them back

3)TJS's plan depends a lot on these businesses who have moved out making use of services back in SG essentially making us a service hub. I have 1 very simple question. Why in the world of F would a company who have moved out of SG come all the way back to make use of it's services when it can probably find the same service in their respective country and more likely then not at a cheaper rate????

4)He wants us to become a service hub = jobs which requires higher level skillsets. What happens to the poor and uneducated. Staff working at Production lines are mostly lesser educated. U take that away from them, where do U expect them to work at? Not everyone can be trained to do desk jobs. If someone can be a white collar worker working in an aircon office with fairly decent pay, you think they would want to work at a factory job for half the pay meh? In an ideal world, we can provide training and education for the lower level of society and try to push them up. In reality, it's not possible to help everyone. His stupid plan in essence is going to ditch the poor and support the elites.

He used the example of Australia and Japan where manufacturing have been reduced over the years, well here is some news for him, Australia and Japan still have a very strong manufacturing industry up till today and not to mention industry like Mining and agriculture where the population can fall back to if they are unable to find a job in the city. In SG, if you don't have the skills to get a high level job and no low level jobs left for U coz some joker moved them all out, you can really go jiak sai.

Wait now that I think about it, making him president may be a good thing. That way we at least ensure he is never elected MP and never getting the chance to implement his stupid plan. I think I know who I am going to vote for

Everyone please vote TJS!!!!!

dankos

Re: Support Mr. Tan Jee Say to become Singapore's President / Politician / Reformer!

fat ass char_azn ccb,

u r a certified, confirmed and chopped pap dog. your words cannot be trusted. no need talk so much. with a fugly face like yours, tonnnes of body fats hanging loosely, lancheow face/cheebye mouth combo, u simply cannot be trusted or even looked at for long without vomitting. pls don't go about scaring babies. wear a mask when u go out, or only go out after 12 midnight. :oIo::oIo:

btw, u can go work as a mascot in uni studios. they can save a lot on the amount of cotton used to stuff the mascots. u have the natural flair for this. :eek:

cooleo

Fat fuck has a point. Although i don't like his pig face, it is true that it is very dangerous to have a country that is 100% without manufacturing.

Where is master economist GMS? We need his learned views on this subject matter.

Sperminator

Mr. Tan Jee Say is an Economist by profession, a graduate from London School of Economics.

Insofar, I have not read any well pointed out situation analysis of Singapore, and Singaporeans' predicament. In fact, no other minister in Singapore even have the balls to come up with their own proposals to challenge the status quo. And the most funny thing is that Singapore Government have to rely on foreign consultants to tell you what is wrong with your country?! WTF!!!

There are so many Singaporeans who travel to different countries, don't tell me our own Singaporeans don't know what is the problem with our country?

Mr Tan Jee Say is a very talented Singaporean that deserve to be a President, no matter whether it is ceremonials or not, at least he would have the power to rally for change within the parliament, and challenges the incompetent Prime Minister, and the senile MP LKY.

First, the citizens of Singapore must unite, and give Mr. Tan Jee Say moral cause, and moral support. as long as 60% of electorates believe that Mr. Tan Jee Say is the man for the job, there is hope for Singapore to have a revolutionary reform... turning Singapore into a truly first world country, regional hub.

I do agree with Mr. Tan Jee Say's proposals, and it is clear that he has researched fully on what is going on with Singapore for the last few decades, while most Singaporeans are still sleeping, depending on the defuncted political party PAP (People's Action Party, but now, it's more like a self serving elitist croonies)

I know each and everyone have their differences, and may not see eye to eye on many issues, however, I do believe that Mr. Tan Jee Say's proposal is sound, and if you read the entire article, you can will know that Mr. Tan Jee Say can be a JFK potential! The change is positive! Please support Mr. Tan Jee Say! If you don't please propose another plan better than his, if not, just shut the fuck up, and support him!

Char_Azn

U agree with his stupid proposal coz U never bother to use your brains and think. And Yes I read the entire article and found fault with just about everything he had to say. His proposal is so full of holes that even someone like me can find plenty of problems with it. If it really gets implemented, it will spell doom for us all. I support you in 1 thing, push him up for presidency, reduce the damage he can do for the country. Better he be elected to a position with no power then one that can coz me and all my fellow countrymen our future

Sperminator

Dear Mr. Char_Azn,

I challenge you to come up with a proposal to solve the current situation Singapore is facing, especially Singaporeans are facing. Please come up with your proposal, and state your credentials. If you have none, then you are just one of the people who don't come up with constructive answers, just want to stay in status quo.

Look around you! See the problem in Singapore! Are you one of the 60% idiots?

Char_Azn

Dear Mr. Char_Azn,

I challenge you to come up with a proposal to solve the current situation Singapore is facing, especially Singaporeans are facing. Please come up with your proposal, and state your credentials. If you have none, then you are just one of the people who don't come up with constructive answers, just want to stay in status quo.

Look around you! See the problem in Singapore! Are you one of the 60% idiots?

Now U are talking like PAP

Sperminator

Empty vessels make the most noise... seems like there is no good solution from Char_Azn, another PAP dog.

Sperminator

bump up to 1st page... please share your views about which who would you like to be President for Singapore, and why?

dankos

bump up to 1st page... please share your views about which who would you like to be President for Singapore, and why?

bro sperminator,

from face can already tell the intelligence level of a person. does fat ass char_azn look like a smart person to u?? see my avatar n signature for this cb face disgusting looks.

doesn't seem like a smart person to me. look just like an excellent impersonation of a piece of lard. :biggrin:

no need try reasoning with these type of pap dog. just fuck him up straight.

da dick

i find myself agreeing with charchar. i must be turning evil. i feel we need to keep manufacturing from moving out and spending more on it. but i disagree with idiot fatass that office jobs are better than factory jobs. banks, telemarketing, admin offices are now full of FTs. that usually mean lower pay all around. all jobs in singpi are getting dominated by FTs. not just the lower end ones. i think that's obvious and had been discussed many times before. i only wished those millionaire MPs were replaced by cheap indians who are just as cock up anyway.

da dick

oh yea... and never trust an economist or an accountant. remember wall street. better to listen to the man on the street or at least the middle management.

Sperminator

Here is my opinion, and I am just a man on the street, and not even close to middle management... sigh... okay, I'm one of the sinkie losers... i'm suffering.

I'm not an accountant, and neither am I an economist...

this is what I do know... Singapore is a strategically located for Logitistic Hub, making it the most convenient site for Shipping Repairs (most of the world's cargo are shipped via SEA, about 90% if didn't remember wrongly).

The shipping lines of goods from China/Korea/Japan to West (South Asia / Africa / Europe) and ASEAN have to route to Singapore.

Another thing that I know is that Manufacturing is a sunset industry... in all segments... Singapore should be moving towards High Tech R&D, where the technology could be upgraded, and later be translated into consumer products.

If Singapore compare to other nations in ASEAN & China on Production Cost, Singapore Cost of manufacturing is too high, and although quality is good, we are living in a real world, where cost matters!

If Manufacturing Sector is to continue, we cannot slash on land cost, we cannot slash on materials cost (as most materials would have been bought from overseas anyways), we cannot slash on equipments costs (as most of production machineries are not made in Singapore, have to be imported), and worst, we cannot slash on RENTAL cost, as properties are rising in price! So, the only way to reduce cost is to use alot of CHEAP S-PASS FTs to run the show.

See the predicament? If Manufacturing Sector is to continue, and if Singapore Manufactured Goods are to remain competitive in the Global Competitive Arena, more cheap labours FTs have to be imported to run the show... creating an endless cycle of having more and more FTs to remain in SGP...

Since Singapore by itself is already ideally suited to be a Trading Hub, we can turn the Manufacturing Hub into a R&D Hub, and convert the existing manufacturing Singapore Engineers, Management to focus on R&D... and when our technology increases, we can always leverage on Johor Bahru on manufacturing (since there are no land cost, rental cost, labour cost issues, just have to employ more people to cater for the inefficiencies)

Owning Factories is always a depreciating asset, there is nothing good owning a factory, once you built one, your value of your factory is depreciated... if the economic situation is not vibrant, you have to feed alot of production workers for doing nothing...

Move the Manufacturing Part to JB, keep the high value, high paying jobs in SGP to maintain balance, and also cut off the cycle of importing more and more FTs!

I urge all readers of this thread to read what Mr. Tan Jee Say is saying, this time in a Holistic View Point, and Pretend that you're playing SIM CITY, only this time you are the SINGAPORE MAYOR.

da dick

your comparision to sim city is quite scary, actually. it's the same mistake from people who listened to their accountants and economists in wall street. they thought they could predict everything. they thought it was just a numbers game. economics like life or anything human-centric is quite organic. the way those people try to predict the future makes it look like they were studying astronomy in school. it's reckless. you can't even call it a soft-science.

in a way , the early pappies did the same thing with their social engineering. they were successful at first but later on... just look at all these sheep who constantly get mocked by sammy leong.

in any case, i can't say i care about who's going to be the pressy of singpie. it's the most useless and overpaid job in s'pore. period. ...unless the pappies change the law again. doubt it. no way they'll give the pres more power unless they elect a president lee.

Sperminator

bro da dick,

sounds like you are in Australia, when you say Pressy of Singpie, haha.

anyways, if Singapore maintains on manufacturing, it has to gear towards high tech - high value products, like the Semi-Conductor Wafer Fabs we have, these high value high tech, must keep... the low techs must move... to give room for R&D, and High Tech High Value.

When we look at high tech high value, the requirement of highly educated staffs is higher... and Singaporeans are the pool of highly educated ones.

Singapore simply cannot rely on manufacturing (low-mid end segments), we are not competitive in manufacturing, this is a fact, no horse run. If we insist on maintaining it... there will be a cycle of FT importation.

da dick

trying to get rid of manufacturing just reminds me of detriot USA. increase crime rates to due unemployment, and hardly helped their government save any money 'cause they had to build more prisons to lock up more criminals. probably just helped japanese cars become more popular in US.

btw , not in aussie. i'm too cowardly to find a job there when my knowledge isn't useful for anything on their embassy's skilled worker's list, and i don't have a few 100k to throw around.