• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

summon for PAN PACIFIC HOTELwedding dinner

how much to put into the red packet summon?

a self-employed insurance agent cousin just sent me summon to his daugher's wedding which is to be held in pan pacific hotel. doesn't he know that some of his younger siblings are presently either out of jobs or have their pays drastically cut? why holding in such expensive place is still a bewilderment. is it for the vanity or show-off at the expenses of inducing the relatives and friends to bear for his glamour?

weddings nowardays are just full of redundant gimmicks that are totally wasteful and foolish. what is the matter with the newly wed couple having to enter the ballroom with lights off and enhanced to pyrotechnic and lasers special effects? oh, they wanted to portray themselves as lead characters from STAR WARS?

then the serving of the cold dish which is usually the lst course all camouflaged with fumes from bubbling dry ice. if u were to look closely at the quantity of food serve, it's really pathetic! at times, u can even forget about the quality - just as pathetic as simple dishes being camouflaged to appear "elegant".

the most ludricrous would have to be the cake cutting ceremony and the champagne pouring. the cake is fake and the wedding couple must slot in the knife exactly into certain gap of the hard plastic cake. if they miss that, it look stupidly awkard! next the champagne pouring from the top of the pyramid arranged glasses. just imagine those who would be drinking from the bottom layer of the glass. good luck to them! they shall be getting all the accumulated dirt and slime.

the good old traditional wedding would be more for the food which is top priority, then for the camaderie of friends yelling their heads off in unison to YAM SENG!! or a longer version of yam...yam..yamyamyam.....SENG!! there wasn't the ridiculous cake cutting stunt. wonder how did that start off in the first place?

cousin was very generous to me. he allocated an entire table for me which mean i would have to bring beside the wifey, the 2 kids, my parents, her parents and probably the maid along to fill up the excessive seats :(. wait a minute!! only 9 occupied seats if including the maid. wonder would it be possible to bring the golden retriever along too. LOL! that would make a perfect 10!!

after the whole thing ends, a little memorabila would be given to every guests. usually it's a piece of chocolate or a small piece of fruitcake meticulously wrapped. or something that's totally useful such as a pair of colored chopsticks, a small packet of potpourri, a small glass and etc.

gosh! this very expensive summon is gonna cost me a 4-figure ang pow. ouch!!

Pan Pacific is a "such expensive place"? Omigawd, which planet are you born on? Sympathise with you for having to pack for 9 (if it were 2-4 probably won't hurt so much) but don't expect him to hold his wedding in hawker centre just coz of you.

how much to put into the red packet summon?

a self-employed insurance agent cousin just sent me summon to his daugher's wedding which is to be held in pan pacific hotel. doesn't he know that some of his younger siblings are presently either out of jobs or have their pays drastically cut? why holding in such expensive place is still a bewilderment. is it for the vanity or show-off at the expenses of inducing the relatives and friends to bear for his glamour?

1. caveman, wake up and smell the kopi leh!
2. if you cannot afford the entire table, just rspv for 2 paxs, you & wifey.
3. you don't need to foot the entire 10 paxs mah.
4. are you living in some hole or what?
5. btw, pan pacific is just another hotel, nothing so fantastic leh.

cousin already sat through with me this entire morning. he kept stressing "bring everyone cum, ok". already reserved ONE BIG TABLE FOR YOU. sigh! sometime, it such a sin to be rich. everyone thinks u r printing money!! LOL.

You can just give Ang Pow without name on it. Many also didn't write name.

half a dozen of big sweep tickets...........technically you are giving million dollars in angpao

i m going through the menu which comes with invitation card. can u imagine that? what?? NO SHARKSFIN WOULD BE SERVED!! now can u really imagine that?!!

half a dozen of big sweep tickets...........technically you are giving million dollars in angpao

that's the trouble here. it's a real pesky contradictory headache. someone ( actually quite a few) had already done that to a close friend's wedding years back. he actually got angpows containing $20. u think that's cheapo, wait until he opened another nameless one which only had $8. probably because he held his wedding in RED STAR RESTAURANT which the set menu was much cheaper but it was money for the well-deserving food value. some cheapskate guests probably thought since the food wasn't that expensive, the size of the angpow should be proportional.

anyway, that was the well-intention from my close pal who was mindful not to induce unnecessary financial hardship on his guests. his aim was to celebrate the occasion and not to be a vain showoff which at the end of the day only benefit the vendors. in fact, what many of the guests didn't know was all their angpows went to charity. since his wedding was held in an "economical" restaurant, there wasn't any burden for him to bear the entire cost which was not even half of his monthly salary. wise chap! :)

Bob Sim Kheng Hwee! Just for that night please control your temper and not bash up your father or call your mother "a lau cheebye!" And don't steal the stainless steel fork and spoons. A restaurant is not a temple! And restrain yourself when the Iphones, Blackberrys and Samsungs laying on the tables wave at you! Fucking Changi Village carpark pondan hiao cheebye!

the same stupid persistent loser stalker who doesn't know how to use the IGNORE KEY. what a poor soul!! u wanna cum? there's a vacant seat by the way;)

Cum into your arsehole? No thanks. I don't dip into other people's juices!

something is quite definitely amiss when cousin came to give the invitation card. where was my box of cakes?? usually in the past, the elders would visit and along with them, they would pass a box of assorted cakes to the recipient of the invitation card.

now such tradition seems to be lost. such expensive modern day wedding that's gonna hurt many pockets and no cakes. :(

the invitation card looks so intricately designed and expensive. what's the use? it's going to end up as another piece of trash.

where's the wedding cakes??

can not la, like that one _ sekalee really come out first prize then bang head liow

even give ToTo must also buy exact duplicate number to keep .... just in case, at least can share half half

TS: My Advcie, cannot afford, then don't go. The fact is that you want to go to save face so got to pay the summons. Not good to eat? Quality of food no good? It is all very subjective. You dun like it, walk away, dun eat.MUAHAHAHA

cannot afford then don't go lor. you are already treating it as a "summon"!

If you have to ask how much, you probably shouldn't go.

There is no one definitive 'market rate'. Certainly, the quality of the place/food plays a role in determining the ang pow money, but you should always first judge by how much you are willing and able to give. You call the shots. Don't compare with others.

Besides, at most wedding dinners these days you'll deposit your ang pow into a collection box after you have signed the guest book. You don't have to write your name on the ang pow.

The organizers of the wedding dinner are not expecting to turn a profit from ang pow money collection, neither are they really interested in finding out who are the generous/stingy ones. They're more concerned with ensuring that there are no last-minute screw ups in the logistics and planning, and with everyone having a good time.